We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 months” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glenlyn Hotel to your Saves list
Glenlyn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #196 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 months”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife & I stayed in one of their apartments for 3 months due to an insurance claim in our own property.

All I can say is the apartment was large, clean fully equipped inc wine bottle cooler.

The bed was huge & in this weather a nice thick duvet was well used.

all the staff were friendly & helpful.

Any mechanical problems were sorted out immediately by Pauls dad.

Breakfast was a good selection & wholesome & really set you up for the day.

Hotel is well positioned for public transport & its easy to get into town.

Variety of restaurants & pubs within walking distance so well catered for in evenings

Off road parking is an advantage due to yellow lines.

Cannot praise enough

Room Tip: ground floor apartment has large garden for your use alone & No stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    170
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
100
178
30
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My parents stayed here for about 10 days for my wedding. They were very happy with the room size, breakfast and service. The hotel has a very good location. It locates in a safe area. 10 minutes walk to the tube station. 15 seconds to the high street where you can find big supermarket, different restaurants and bars around. Very convenient.

If anyone come to north London to visit me, I will strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The guest house is situated within walking distance of the tube and buses and if you have driven then the added HUGE benefit is the free parking! You can leave your car safely and pop off to explore without the nasty congestion charges or hideous parking fee's one comes across in London.
Charming gentleman on the front desk who offered to carry my bag to my room and was informative when quizzed regarding local eateries and transport links. In fact he really couldn't be faulted!
My room which overlooked the garden, was initially quite chilly, however once the radiator had been turned up a couple of notches, it quickly warmed up and became very nice indeed. I do hate a cold room!
Comfy bed, lovely fresh crisp white sheets, fluffy towels and basic toiletries in the en-suite.
Breakfast next day was typically 'full English' with juices, cereals, then bacon mushrooms, tomato, beans, sausage etc etc.
Toast was brought with the tea/coffee and maybe that could have been delayed till we had our cooked food but other to that, there was plenty including continental and muffins should you wish not to overload on the full English!
If I needed to stay just on the cusp of the capital again, I would look no further than this guest house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was the first time I had stayed in the Glenlyn Guest House and I left more than satisfied. In looking for a base to visit London I found this hotel, located in the heart of Finchley, to be friendly and welcoming, particularly the gentleman on reception (unfortunately I didn't think to get his name) who ensured my and my friends every needs were attended to. Upon returning to the hotel in the evening, he went out of his way to make me a lovely jug of hot chocolate - yes a jug - not a mug - and I really couldn't say that about many hotels I have stayed in!

The hotel is set in four large original Victorian terraced houses and the rooms are located throughout. Whilst retaining many of the architectural features it offers high standards of comfort. My private en suite room had an outlook to the rear over the sizeable private gardens. A flat-screen remote control TV, tea & coffee making facilities, a hairdryer, telephone & free broadband wireless facility are provided. The decor in places is surprisingly contemporary for a Victorian building and I appreciated the obvious improvements that have been made. You can relax in the modern private lounge bar area before or after an evening out with friends, or unwind in the garden which I am sure must provide a delightful setting on a sunny day. Breakfast is served in the lovely light and airy conservatory which overlooks the garden - great for enjoying the hearty full English breakfast included in the room rate!

Of importance to me, particularly in London, was the front of Hotel free private parking. You can leave your car at the Hotel & avoid paying to get into the London Congestion Zone.The hotel is surrounded by many excellent bars and restaurants and being in walking distance to the Woodside Park underground station it's a great location for getting to and visiting London, giving you a direct line straight into the centre. Offering overall what I felt was tremendous value for money, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the apartment and i gotta say, it's money well spent. It has very spacious living room and the kitchen is really large. It would be perfect if you intend to spend most your time just chilling out in the apartment, which we did. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the English style breakfast also. I'm sure it would've been a good place to meet new people and chat, had it been full. The downside, the location quite far from the Heathrow airport. It took us almost an hour by train to get there. But it's only few minutes away from Woodside Park station, so you just need to know your priority. Overall, we're very happy during our stay and would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed at this 3-star hotel a couple of times, 4 years apart, and enjoyed it every time. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. This is a family-run business and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is what you would expect from a 3-star but includes full English breakfast and is serve in a lovely bright room, which I think is the hotel's big advantage, especially in summer. I would love to stay there again. There are plenty of restaurants around and the Tube is a 3-minute walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Found this place on trip advisor and booked on the strength of the reviews. The room was a little small, but clean and comfortable, the breakfast was the usual buffet style with reasonable choices. It was a 30 min train ride into the centre of London but only a few minutes walk from the station. There were also plenty of places to eat nearby before going into the city centre. A good place for the price. Would definintely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in London
#158 Family Hotel in London
#225 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenlyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.