We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from Hell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #833 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel from Hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked the hotel through a late room website, thinking i was booking The Cavendish and ended up at Hotel Cavendish.
To get to the room it was like going up and down four stairs, got to the room, no hair dryer, TV don't work, Shower tray got flooded as the water was not draining, room was hot and some smell in the room.
OMG won't mention the breakfast, one two inch sausage, twenty six baked beans (definetly now Heinz Bean.....) and some scamble egg, weakest tea, staff speaking in their language no greeting or service, i got up and left no good bye...
I didn't have one good thing to say about the hotel
I was advised this was a 4star hotel, more like minus 4 star.

Room Tip: I really can't give you any tips on rooms, its very poor for the money i was charged. I feel its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    67
    68
    62
    92
See reviews for
41
73
48
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms are an ok size but are quite shabby and in need of a redecorate. The skirting boards, walls and ceilings are all covered in scuffs and marks. However the bed linen and bathrooms are spotless. The full English breakfasts are very small although you could always ask for more. My room was at the bottom of the stairs near the breakfast room. One morning I was woken by someone falling from the top to the bottom of the stairs as at the top there is a door of which there is no sign saying that there are steps right on the other side so PLEASE be aware of this if you stay here. The stairs are quite narrow too. The staff were all friendly. This hotel has a good location and is not too bad for the price. It's not a too bad place to stay if you are spending most of your time exploring London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Yes, the rooms are small but the price is excellent for such a wonderful location. As a single woman traveling alone, I loved it! I stayed in one of the cabin rooms where the bed actually had a window seat next to it. While is was a little drafty and cold to actually sit in the window (I'm only 5'3"), I simply stacked my reading materials and purchases there to keep them out of the way since there is only one small closet.

The bathroom was small but not any smaller than some I've encountered. The shower was hot and there was a big built in counter with mirror to hold my make-up and other toiletries.

The (free) breakfast was excellent with offerings of cereals, yogurt, fruit, toast, and tea and French press coffee. I'm a big coffee drinker and to be served that pot all for me almost brought tears to my eyes. :) The servers were very attentive.

It was very cold in London during my stay (and I'm from Michigan!) but upon my arrival and every day after, a thermos of hot water, tea and shortbread cookies were in my room, which hit the spot after my early morning outings. Gotta love that tea.

The friendly staff was outstanding in offering assistance with whatever I needed.

I'm returning in the spring and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: My room was up one flight, the only room on the landing, and it was extremely quiet. I didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The only reason I picked the Hotel Cavendish (not to be confused with the far superior Cavendish Hotel) was the location - just 100 yards from University College, London, where I was attending a seminar on Ethics. The price, £75, was average for the area so I booked. Even so, given the size and state of the room htis was a rip-off any decent sea=side landlady would be ashamed at.
The room I got was in the basement, down a narrow staircase and close to the breakfast room.
Laughingly described as a double, the 4ft wide bed took up almost half the space in the room. Apart from the passage from the door past the en-suite bathroom, the main part of the room measured 7ft by 8ft. Prisoners in solitary get bigger cells than this.
Plasterwork was patched, paintwork and furnishings scratched and well past their best.

Breakfast was adequate and the only redeeming feature were the cheery waitresses.
Never again, I would rather spend the extra to get a 6am train down from Yorkshire than try to save money travelling down beforehand and staying at a place like this.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed at The Cavendish Hotel in February for 3 nights with my husband as we were celebrating my 60th birthday. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. Although the staff were friendly enough, the hotel is extremely shabby and our room was very small. The bathroom was tiny with no shelves or hooks to put anything, and there was no storage space in the room other than the wardrobe with a shelf in it. Also, the room was unbelievably hot (it was minus 5 outside) even with the radiator turned off. We found out later it was because we were right on top of Goodge St subway. We were on the ground floor, but to get there we had to go upstairs (very narrow) through the breakfast room, then downstairs again (also narrow stairs). The only good things about our room were the curtains!, they looked as if they belonged in a 5-star hotel, not the Cavendish; and the fact the room was very quiet. The breakfasts were average. Location was good - 10 mins from Euston, 5 mins from Goodge St. British Museum was just 10 mins walk too. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: My advice is don't think you will get a room looking like the one on their website. This is a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the staff. They were pleasant and helpful. However there are a number of things beyond their control. There is no lift and our room was on the third floor. Narrow halls and five doors between the lobby and the room made it difficult to move our luggage. The bathroom in our room smelled lke a sewer. The water constantly dripped from the shower splashing out onto the bathroom floor. There was a flat screen television screen mounted to the wall but the mount didn't move so you couldn't face it toward the bed. You literally watched the telly from the side. Both lamps next to the bed needed light bulbs. The breakfast was typical English and was quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Don't stay here! We went to London for 2 nights and had to check out of this hotel after the first night due to there being no water in our en suite. The staff were beyond rude and just didn't care. Guy on reception put his hand in my face and said he was on his own and too busy to deal with us having no water! Absolutely disgusting service. He just couldn't have cared less. He laughed and said none of the other guests cared about having no water and were going to shower elsewhere! Also, rooms are extremely tiny, cold and noisy. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place!!! There are plenty of other hotels in London.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury

Address: 75 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#367 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.