We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not perfect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Commerce Road | Brentford, London TW8 8JZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #306 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I should start by saying the hotel is well situated and has very comfortable rooms. Parking was straightforward (if a bit expensive at £12) and it's not in the middle of nowhere as there is a pleasant lockside walk.

Food in the restaurant was of a good standard and service was initially good, though towards the end of our meal we were waiting quite a long time for service, despite the restaurant not being busy (there was a wedding in the function suite which possibly impacted us)

So far so good - until 2.30am when said wedding was disbanding and the DJs were unloading all their equipment - not particularly quietly!) Not a huge deal though.

Then 7.40am - despite a very clear "do not disturb" sign being on the door, I hear a knock. I ignore it. 2 mins later, another knock. I go to the door and look through the spy glass to see a member of staff. I turned around to put my dressing gown on and then the phone rings - I answer and nobody is there and the person had gone from the door too. The phone call woke my 5 year old daughter. Not impressed.

Guy on reception didn't do anything other than take my email address so he could investigate and email me back - nothing yet.

It's a shame, as otherwise it was a good stay. Fundamentally though, you stay in a hotel to get a good and undisturbed night's sleep so I've had to mark the hotel at 3 stars instead of 4.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Tony H,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that although we have fallen short to some of your expectations, you still had a good stay and that you found our rooms comfortable. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with our hotel management and will be used to consider improvements where necessary. Your satisfaction is of utmost concern to us as we always strive to make your experience a great one.

Once again, thank you for staying and I hope you still give us a chance to host you again.

Best Regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    182
    46
    20
    13
See reviews for
111
102
33
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed saturday night and although we got an upgrade, we asked for a quiet room.

Sadly we were above a wedding bash which went on into early hrs. Also the glazing was poor as the planes were very clearly heard sunday morning. Not a great start for a full day at Kew.

Bed was awful for a higher grade hotel and price.

Lady on front desk very helpful though and breakfast was decent.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Darren P,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased that you found our front desk personnel commendable.

We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room assigned to you because of noise levels. I have shared your feedback with our hotel management for appropriate action and avoid the same incident from happening in the future.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The service at the hotel was really great, the staff takes care of the guests. Breakfast was wonderful and traveling to and from London was not bad, it went smooth.
Next time we travel to London we will concider staying at this hotel again.
Because of the good price and also the great Hospitality of the staf..

Room Tip: Rooms With dobble beds is a great option, very spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerlainFonseca, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Vendela Akua E,

Thank you for the kind words. I am glad you liked the hotel and enjoyed our breakfast selection. I am particularly pleased to know the team we attentive your needs and I will pass on your great feedback to them.

We look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Brentford Lock the next time you are in London.

Kind regards,

Verlain Fonseca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with family. Booked two family rooms which had two double beds and cost £66 plus £10 for breakfast per room which means six of us had a hearty breakfast for £20. Also underground parking cost £12. Great location for shopping in Southall and Wembley stadium. Value for money by booking through Booking.com. although I also found the same price offered on the hotel website. Thoroughly recommend Booking.com for simply reserving the rooms and you pay when you check out. No doubt would be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerlainFonseca, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Shaukat H,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you liked the hotel, the parking facilities, location and enjoyed our breakfast selection. We do pride ourselves in delivering value for money and I am pleased to know you felt we delivered on that.

We look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Brentford Lock the next time you are in London.

Kind regards,

Verlain Fonseca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Have stayed at a lot go hotels over the years but this hotel would be the best ever value for $ with superb executive accommodation - hard to best. Staff were super friendly send efficient. The food was fantastic, worth the wait for the roast chicken. Perfect. Parking easy to get into and reasonable charge

The fun bar and meriting area is a great concept and should be embraced by other hotels, very nice all round

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra for the huge executive rooms overlooking the river with huge outside individual ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerlainFonseca, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear kiwiguests,

Dear Denis K,

Thank you for your detailed review of your experiences with us and for the kind comments about the hotel staff. I will certainly pass on your comments to the various team members across departments so that they are aware of your appreciation.

You review is one of a true advocate of our hotel and thank you so much for acknowledging all the great positives of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Verlain Fonseca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Love this hotel. Stay here a.couple of times a week usually and I can't say enough good things about it. The staff are all fantastic,.the rooms are always clean and tidy and being on the Lock is great. Only downside is there is no tubestation nearby but the overground is only a 10 minute walk away. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerlainFonseca, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Will H,

Thank you for the 5* feedback. I am glad we meet every expectation of yours. I will pass on your feedback to the staff and the housekeeping team who will be glad to see your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Verlain Fonseca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed with 2 children for 1 night and ate in the restaurant. Food and service was good and the open plan area was nice to sit in with the children and use the internet facilities. We enjoyed the freshly cooked American style pancakes that were included in the continental breakfast as well as a health fruit smoothy drink. Food is good value if you have children under 13 as they eat free for dinner as well as breakfast! We had 2 comfortable double beds and the rooms were lovely and clean. Just no dressing table which is my gripe with a lot of hotels as mirrors have been replaced with TV's. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerlainFonseca, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Lily0074,

Thank you for your 5* review and comments. I am glad you and your family liked your room, the open lobby, internet facilities along with our extensive breakfast offering all of which we are very proud off.

We look forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Brentford Lock the next time you are in London.

Kind regards,

Verlain Fonseca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock

Address: Commerce Road | Brentford, London TW8 8JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
#217 Business Hotel in London
#258 Family Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a scenic waterfront setting, Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock is just six miles away from the centre of London and 15 minutes away from London Heathrow Airport. The bright, contemporary bedrooms have air-conditioning, flat-screen TVs and Wi-Fi/high-speed internet connections. Some of the rooms including Executive grade ones offer terraced-balconies with impressive views across the waterside. A mini-gym facility is also available on a complimentary basis. The hotel is ideally situated to connect with local area businesses on the Great West Road, or around Chiswick and Heathrow. Alternatively it is an ideal base to visit and explore local attractions such as Kew Gardens, Syon Park, Twickenham Stadium and Richmond Park. The hotel has recently transformed it's public-areas to reveal a unique and exciting new Open-Lobby concept which allows guests to meet, relax and refresh and choose to do so in the space that best suits their needs. New 24/7 vending and restaurant facilities allow guests a flexible and appealing choice in a modern and inspiring new environment. The venue offers 4 excellent inter-connecting conference suites that overlook the waterside, and are perfect for both business events and social occasions such as weddingsThe hotel provides excellent connections to the M4/M25/A4 network and is a 15-minute walk from Brentford and Syon Park Railway Stations, offering train connections to central London. Boston Manor Underground Station is accessible from the hotel, and secure on-site parking is also available in the hotel’s own facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock Hotel London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Brentford Lock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.