We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise central” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge London Central Aldgate East to your Saves list
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 - 13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England (Whitechapel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #580 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Noise central”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for the London Marathon. The hotel and room are what I've come to expect from Travelodge, pretty basic but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful but couldn't resolve the big problem! The Travelodge blurb says: -

Important information
Due to the central location, as you might expect, some external noise may be heard from the Dockland Light Railway and Overland Services.

This is a pretty major understatement! The railway like is directly outside the window of the odd numbered rooms and from about 0500 to 0100, there's pretty much continuos trains. You couldn't have the windows open during the night and expect any chance of sleep, which wasn't the ideal marathon preparation. I asked the staff of we could switch rooms and, while they genuinely tried to help, it just wasn't possible as regular hotel guests had already phoned in to book their rooms on the 'quiet side'.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    25
    7
    17
See reviews for
30
22
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manningtree essex
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never used Travelodge before and found the experience most enlightening. Good staff, friendly atmosphere good standard of cleanliness and prompt and satisfying responses to all our queries. The staff were exemplary and made our stay so pleasurable that I will have no hesitstion in booklng further stays when necessary.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed one night. It was comfortable and clean.

But for over £100 p night I'd expect some little details to be there (which dont cost much):

eg a glass in the room to have some water, maybe a water bottle (given the mixer tap in the bathroom. I'd also expect free WiFi these days - its 30 mins free then £3. The bathroom was clean and bright, but I'd like decent soap not a puff of foam, and the sink didnt drain well so you were left with a basin of scummy water.

Actually these are small things, and despite being so close to the rail line I slept well. If you dont want the noise of trains every minute youre bestbeet is to ask when you book the room to be on the other side of the hotel.

Breakfast is fine and good value (extra £7.50) but definitely needs some decent bread please.

Room Tip: see my comment about the trains - it didn't both me, but if you want to open the window in train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Though not on the most salubrious of streets this hotel was extremely clean and comfortable with very friendly staff (some of the best I have experienced in London). Quality to price ratio would be very hard to beat. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, only 5 mins walk from Tower Hill. Family room was extremely large and comfortable. Some slight noise from trains but not an issue.
Great location for sightseeing.
Great Value for money

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in this particular Travelodge many times because it offers Twin rooms, but this will be our last visit for now. We have noticed that standards have been constantly dropping over the last few years. This visit, the first room we were in on the first floor had extremely old and bobbled blue sheets on the beds which were uncomfortable to sleep on. The standard of the toilet roll was so poor we would probably have been better using our newspaper. As usual, the hotel is very hot so you need to have the window open. We expected to hear the noise from outside but this visit it was worse than ever. There seems to be more and more motorcycles, cars and lorries using the road as a ratrun. After one night we changed rooms to the third floor on the other side of the hotel, the noise of the trains clattering over the points was preferable to the traffic. This room had decent white sheets and the standard of the room was generally better. However, the entire hotel is in need of a total refurbishment and until it gets it, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We are sorry to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay. We do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel, however in an attempt to make our customers’ stay more comfortable, we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis. Due to the hotels location, some external noise may be heard and where possible, we do state this on our website. Feedback like yours is important to us and will be used to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent stay. Very friendly and welcoming staff, felt very comfortable in any assistance needed if I had questions, clean rooms, great breakfast, ideally loacted to 2 tube stops. An overall great stay. Thank you travelodge!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Central Aldgate East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Address: 6 - 13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge London Central Aldgate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East England
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Central Aldgate East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.