We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms very small, shower tiny.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avonmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avonmore Hotel to your Saves list
Avonmore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #835 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Rooms very small, shower tiny.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as it was a good price. On arrival the chap in Reception was very helpful. Our room was small, needed some work done to it to freshen it up a bit. We only had1 hand & bath towel even though it was booked for two persons. No bath mat.
On the positive side the room was nice and warm and we had a peaceful sleep. Breakfast room was clean and well stocked. Two girls serving were very helpful and polite. The food was very good not like the reviews I had read previously. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends but I would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    35
    26
    9
    20
See reviews for
25
22
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A crapt room in one very very tired and poor hotel. I stayed on the top floor (14) in a 4 foot square bed with a bathroom (meant to be ensuite) across a hall that you had to lock your room with and use the key to unlock your cupboard - sorry bathroom door with).
I'm thankful it was only one night, but never again
HO, beware of the stairs that are close to ladders especially the last set which are lethal and the free wifi never worked...

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I stayed with my wife and son 4 nights, between 21/Oct/2014 and 25/Oct/2014. The rooms are extremely small, with no space to put even a small suitcase. The bathroom door can be closed only from inside. There is no knob and latch to close the door from the room side. There is no elivatore and the stairs are inconvenient, they are narrow and very steep. And of course no lobby. To top it off, the service at the receptionist is outrageous. They were not polite and showed no patient to hear and attend our questions (especially the lady).
The location is good and breakfast staff are very nice.
Thus, this is a Hotel for one night to a single person that has a small carryon only.

Room Tip: Room at the second floor are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

The hotel room was clean enough, but very small. It was almost impossible to move once inside the shower room. There was not even a piece of soap in the bathroom! Breakfast was all right, but you could tell easily that everything was based on supermarket bulk buying. Yogurt was from Tesco. Tea didn’t taste good. Coffee was instant. I know that these days everything is exorbitant in London, but, still I felt it was a bit too much. But what bothered me most was unfriendliness of the male manager (I don’t think he was the owner.) Despite everything, I tried to be cheerful and said “Good morning” to this guy, but was ignored. What’s wrong?

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We paid £79 for a 1 night stay In July. I took my 9 your old niece to London for the night/next day so we could visit the sites of London. We wanted to be close to Euston Train Station. I cannot believe that people are moaning because the rooms are too hot. Its the middle of summer in the middle of London, what do you expect? We had a fan in our room which we just kept on low all night. We were staying in Room 4 which was close to the reception area. It was a medium sized room with a comfy bed and was clean and tidy. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We slept absolutely fine and didn't hear any noise. We didn't experience the breakfast as we had to leave very early in the morning. For the price we paid Im happy with what we received.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have stayed in 3 of the hotels on this curving strip of properties in the King's Cross area. This place is by far the worst. This isn't a hotel so much as a rooming house. It was never meant to be a hotel and you can hear every noise emanating from all the rooms around you. If you need anything resembling quiet in a hotel room, this will be a disaster for you. I was shown one room that is the smallest hotel room I have ever seen, and almost all the sub-100 pound rooms in this area are very small. I said 'no way' and the next one was in the basement and smelled like a very strong disinfectant. Wifi is a joke.

I am not going to name the other places on this strip that are a better deal - please see my other reviews if you want. I'll just say that this place is awful and you can do much better in this price range and neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I think this is probably the smallest room I've ever stayed in - and that includes university rooms for conferences! The room was clean, but tiny and the shower was hot, but that's about it! The lock on the door looked like it was going to slip undone, so the chair was up against the door all night. The walls are thin and I could hear people coming and going from around 5am! Fortunately I didn't have a suitcase with me - if I had, I've no idea where it would have gone! One positive: the breakfast was cooked fresh and was delicious - but there aren't enough tables to cope with the number of guests, so be prepared to share. I guess it's supply and demand, but £145 for one night is ridiculous! Be warned and keep looking for somewhere else if you can!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore Hotel

Address: 57 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #835 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonmore Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avonmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.