We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex City of London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Apex City of London to your Saves list
Apex City of London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Apex on Saturday 21st June for 1 night, paying £111 for a superior king room.

We checked in at 1.30pm and were quickly and efficiently assigned room 618 on the 6th floor. Check-in was super efficient and friendly.

The room itself was extremely nice, with good quality linens, gourmet coffee, big tv and dvd player, fridge, air-con etc. The quality of the fixtures/fittings were excellent.

The bathroom was pretty special. A huge, spottlessly clean bath with a complimentary rubber duck was waiting, along with some good quality toiletries which were massive in size. There was also a large seperate walk-in shower which was excellent. This hotel really excells in its attention to detail. Surround sound in the bathroom which meant you could listen to the tv, heated mirror which prevented the glass from steaming up etc, really sets this hotel apart from many of the others I have stayed in London, especially in the city area.

I absolutely loved that local calls were free from your room, as well as a huge selection of dvds from reception which could be borrowed for a small returnable deposit.

Staff were excellent, efficient and friendly, especially the reception staff.

Perhaps my only one negative comment would be that we had went downstairs to the bar for a quiet drink but found a football match playing on the tv. I can only assume that since the bar area was quiet, the football match was for the benefit of the bar staff.

That aside, our stay was fabulous and I am looking forward to staying there again. It would definitely be my number 1 choice and would recommend to my family and friends in an instant.

Well done Apex hotel and its staff!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    622
    109
    29
    14
See reviews for
218
1,313
121
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Stayed at Apex for 2 nights in January 2008, and on the overall, we had a very good stay.

Location is good though not central, but tube is only 5 min. walk away and will bring you anywhere you need. Tower of London also 5 min. away, and the City is worth a visit for both contemporary architecture and old neighbourhood lovers.

The positives are the staff, always very friendly. Hotel is very contemporary chic, sleek design, although not cold. We had a Deluxe room on the corner of the building with 3 windows on 2 walls overlooking the City (5th floor) ... Lovely view at night ! Room very spacious (king size bed, sofa, coffee table, big closets, desk area, nice decoration items), bathroom also big (tub, separate walk-in shower). Much more space than what you usually get in London for that price, it really had a little "my own studio" feeling attached to it. All amenities such as kettle, tea, coffee, iron, ironing board, very nice closets with lots of shelves, hangers, drawers, nice toiletries and lovely Apex rubber duck in the bathroom. TV and DVD player, nice selection of DVD's avaialble for free at the reception.

The big plus, the small fridge in the room. Not a minibar, a fridge, empty, where you can store your wine and food from M&S to have it at hand for a cosy aperitif after a long day before hitting the town again !

On a less positive note, the cleaning, though OK on the overall, was not perfect: dust on all frames, on the bedside lamps .. nothing dirty, but giving it an odd impression for a 4 star ... Also we could hear a lot of noise from water running even in the middle of the night (?), the airco system was also quite noisy and always blew cold, even if you put it on 25 ° ...

Cannot comment on bar, restaurant or room service as we always ate outside or brought everything back with us from M&S (5 minutes walk).

So all in all, I definitely recommend Apex for the room space, the nice decor, the real "chic" atmosphere and elegant feeling of it.

  • Liked — Room space, decoration, fridge in room
  • Disliked — Some cleanliness issues, noise from water running / airco
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Apex. The rooms were spotless and larger than the average London hotel. Staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. I am already looking forward to returning.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

This hotel is very modern and stylish, has everything you could want for a luxurious stay.
The bath is enormous as is the walk in shower and the complimentary toiletries, bathrobes and slippers just topped it all off.
The beds are very comfortable with crisp white sheets.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we found everyone to be very helpful.
On the downside the hotel is not in the best situation for a weekend away as the majority of what is around about it at the weekend closes as it is mostly used by the business men and women during the week.
However Tower hill tube station is a 2 minute walk so everything is accessible and the Original Tour bookings are across the road as is the bus stop for it.
We did have a lovely meal at the tapas restaurant across from the Tower of london which is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel, would highly recommend.
Would not reccommend the Wetherspoons (which is right around the corner) for anything other than a drink.

  • Liked — The beautiful big bath
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Stayed here for two nights and it was an absolute pleasure. The hotel is located only 2 minutes from Tower Hill tube station making it very easy to get around London.

The rooms were nicely decorated (modern) with a great shower and lovely toiletries. Even had a cute rubber duck!

The bed was nice and comfy and the air conditioning meant a good nights sleep even though it was really mild.

Some nice bars and restaurants nearby too.

Only problem we had was finding something to eat after coming back from the foo fighters gig - everything shut by midnight!

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Excellent value (at London prices) for a luxury stay. Initially disappointed having failed to barter a full English breakfast into the price of saying but couldn’t have been more impressed with the quality, service and above all else, the continental breakfast included in the price! Awesome!

  • Liked — Service, Style and Continental Breakfast!
  • Disliked — Faultless
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

The Apex City is a good business hotel which we found perfect for a weekend in London. The City is quiet in the weekend, but the hotel is easily accessible by the Underground. The staff was very friendly and the room both comfortable and clean. All in all a very nice stay, and we will surely come to this hotel for our next visit to London.

  • Liked — Quit, professional staff
  • Disliked — Public works at nearby tube station
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex City of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Family Hotel in London
#54 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city, close to Tower Bridge, this contemporary four star deluxe hotel has 179 stylish en-suite rooms. Designed for comfort, the rooms include widescreen TV, large desk, Free Wi-Fi internet access and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, specially blended toiletries, iron and ironing board. The stylish bathrooms offer bath with separate walk-in power showers. Hotel facilities include Addendum Bar and Restaurant, Event space for up to 70 delegates and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apex City of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London
Apex City Of London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex City of London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.