We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just acceptable for the money by London standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Melville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Melville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38/39 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #562 of 1,075 hotels in London
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Just acceptable for the money by London standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked the Melville Hotel but was put in the Excelsior next door. My room was on the 3rd floor up narrow stairs and I was glad my suitcase was small and I'm fit.

Any room under £100 per night in London is going to be small and this room was but it had a comfortable bed, TV.

Shower room was compact but was very clean. Shower was not particularly powerful but there was plenty of hot water.

Housekeeping was not up to scratch.: dirty glass, dirty armchair, broken clock radio and very dirty amenities tray.

WiFi on the 3rd floor was intermittent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review

We have attended to all issues ; and are really focused on providing spotless accomodation at an affordable rate.

If there is anything that requires attention please tell us immediately so we can put it right for you

Many thanks

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    73
    28
    15
    19
See reviews for
16
70
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've stayed here a few times on both business and short leisure trips, and it's a reasonably priced option right in the middle of London within easy walking distance of both Kings Cross and Euston. The rooms aren't huge but are clean and modern, with comfortable beds. It is part of a group of hotels around the same square, and there are some shared facilities. Slight drawback in that there is no lift and the stairs can be narrow, but I have never had a problem with this. When I was there on business and running around London on a tight schedule the manager was very helpful in sorting out some additional time before I had to checkout so I could leave my luggage. If I need to stay in London for a night or two, would definitely stay here again. In my experience, you won't find much better for the price in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were assigned a basement room, which looked out onto a brick wall. The room had recently been refurbished and standard of furnishings and decorating was good - excellent shower room. However, the room was very hot and noisy, due to the proximity to reception which was directly off the stairway and the door was very poorly fitting and rattled continually. Staff were talking and laughing until the early hours, which was very disappointing as we had an early Eurostar journey. No breakfast included as we left too early.

However, excellent proximity to St Pancras.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Argylle Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We know about the view of the brick wall - to counteract we are coming up with something unique ! This will completed in the very near future ( We are excited about this new " artwork " which will be visible from the room )

We hope to keep improving

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very comfortable bed.The room was spotlessly clean. This hotel is a good option for those who need to travel from St Pancras International on Eurostar as it is only about 3-4 minutes walk from station. Staff were also very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I picked Melville because A) It was the most affordable for what I was looking for and B) It looked clean. The photos on the website make the place appear MUCH larger than it is. Our room was tiny, and my 6'3 boyfriend could barely fit in the restroom, let alone close the door if he needed some 'privacy'. We arrived after midnight after traveling all day and had to carry our huge suitcases up 3 flights of narrow stairs. The room was clean, the shower nice, and the tv worked fine. The bed was very small and uncomfortable, and when I asked for a second pillow I was answered with "Ugh, I will have to go hunt one down" and then never received one. We payed over $750 for our stay, so I expected at least a little customer service. Only one of the front desk guys was friendly to us. Otherwise, it was in good area, easy to get everywhere. OH, and I almost forgot: there was construction of some sort going on every morning in the building so we were awakened with loud noises often.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review

We have now added room sizes and bed sizes to all our room categories on our website ...So you know everything about your room before deciding what room to book .

All construction has now finished .

We are working hard to learn and improve all the time

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I'd actually booked into the Excelsior next door, but the reception is in the Melville next door, which is part of the same group (Argyle). I arrived at 10:30am and left my bags as couldn't check in until the afternoon. After walking down Argyle street and seeing a few tatty hotels, I was pleasantly surprised by the smart exterior facing Argyle Square and again by the contemporary and pleasant reception. When I returned I was checked into a room in the Melvile. On the small side, but adequate and I thought very good for the price paid through booking.com. Smart contemporary and clean. I didn't have breakfast, but got the impression you had to venture outside to the nearby Argyle, which would be a pin if the weather was bad. Staff were very helpful and attentive.Ideally located a short walk from Kings Cross Station and about 10 mins from Euston. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Yes the room was small (very), yes the shower room was cramped with shower over toilet, yes it was up eight flights of stairs, yes we had breakfast in a nearby hotel basement and there wasn't much choice, BUT it was in a quiet square very close to Kings Cross station and it was only £104 for two of us with breakfast.

You wont do much better at that price so happy to recommend as long as you have your eyes open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Hotel Melville, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your review

We have now listed all room sizes and bed sizes on our websites ; to clearly communicate to all our guests .

We are glad you liked our hotel

Regards
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Melville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melville

Address: 38/39 Argyle Square | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melville was re opened to our guests in April 2011 with our first phase of 9 brand new bedrooms , the second phase was delivered on October 2011 with another 9 bedrooms. We have totally rebuilt the hotel and everything is brand new. The hotel has undergone an extensive £1 million rebuild. We are located directly opposite Kings Cross train station and St Pancras international and are moments from Oxford Street; London eye; British Museum , British Library and hundreds of other attractions .We hope you come and stay with us. We wish you a warm welcome and great stay. Our motto is location, cleanliness and service all for less than £50 per person . All prices include VAT, breakfast and Wfi and Lan access.We are Modern Budget hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Melville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel London
Hotel Melville London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.