We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cosy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bakers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bakers Hotel to your Saves list
Bakers Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   126 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JA, England (Victoria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #675 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and cosy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed just one night in the Bakers Hotel.

It is about 5 minutes walk from Victoria Station so very central.

When you walk in it is a little like you've stepped in to someones house, awkward atmosphere but the staff were friendly and the room was incredibly clean and comfortable. Nicely decorated rooms.

The reception opens at 8 am along with breakfast which is a bit late. I found it difficult locating anyone at 8 am to give my keys to to check out and after deciding to have breakfast it was like sitting in someones kitchen... well essentially we were sitting in someones kitchen having toast and cereal.

All in all it was perfect for a short one night stay in London and I would definitely go there again, as long as you don't want anything other than a clean comfortable room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Some rooms are shared bathroom was we chose ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    40
    37
    21
    21
See reviews for
32
38
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside england
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A clean and inexpensive hotel, friendly staff (although you could tell English wasn't their first language!) handy for Parliament and Westminster, plenty of passing taxis to flag down. Hotel is near Victoria station and bus station.
My only problem was that the rooms did not have toilets or showers in them so every time you wanted to go to the toilet/shower you had to grab your keys and get dressed to visit the room down the corridor!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What makes this b&b terrible is the young guy that they put there as receptionist. It was 12.30 when we arrived in the hotel. As soon as we walked in the receptionist asked us to leave the hotel since we are not permitted to check in before 2.00 o'clock in a very rude way. We were shocked with the attitude of the receptionist while expecting a welcome. Then we left the hotel in the middle of very heavy rain.
In the evening we found no hot water in shower then talked to the same receptionist the way he spoke was like we were lieing. He came to the room and checked the shower then agreeed with us but instead of saying sorry he said it was 9 p.m he has nothing to do at that time. He would check it once againg following day. The way he spoke was very rude again sound like he was scolding us and he left the room bu shouting the door withouth saying even good night. We stayed 4 nights and we had no hot water for 2 days.
Apart from that room and the bathroom were the tiniest i have ever seen in my entire life. Sink was extremly small it was impossible to wash your hand. Bed was too soft and very small for two people too. We could hardly get some sleep and woke up with backache. The room was very cold during the night as the heating as off. It was really very uncomfortable stay. Double rooms are too small even one person. No space to place ur luggage and hang your clothes.
Only positive comments i can make about this place is the cleanliness and the location. When we got to the hotel and walked in the room it was smelling very clean and everything was in good order and toilet was shining allthough it was super tiny.. Hotel is steps away from Coach station if you are taking bus for your next destination this hotel's location is very convenient but it is not that close to the underground, 15 minutes walking distance to the underground.
In overall i don't reccomend this hotel because of the weird staff and uncomfortable tiny rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This budget B&B hotel is probably ok for a single person or for 2 people only. The location is excellent, close to Victoria Station, with plenty of bus and underground stops, great pubs and restaurants nearby, walking distance to Buckingham Palace. It is a very safe area. The price was affordable for London standards (£412 for 3 nights, quad room). We stayed in a quadruple/family room (1 double, 2 single beds) (2 adults and 2 teenagers) in the lower ground (basement with a street-facing window). The window does not open completely and there is no circulating air so it was a bit uncomfortable but not suffocating since the weather was pleasant in July. Quite a bit of street noise since we had to keep the window open all night. Only way to move around the beds is sideways. A diminutive foldable piece of wood nailed to the wall serves as night stand (you can only put a pair of glasses and a small book on it). The beds are somewhat saggy. Being a B&B, towels are changed every 3 days but there is only 1 peg, so most of our towels sat on the bed mildewing all day. I asked for fresh ones and the reception person complied. Good thing we were traveling with small carry-ons since there are no chairs or benches, so suitcases have to go under the beds or piled up under a small counter, on top of which there is a rack with 4 hangers serving as a "closet", and another tiny counter sits by the window with enough room for an electric kettle and 3 cups. The bathroom is tiny but water pressure and temperature were great and it has an exhaust fan for ventilation. The bathroom is cleaned every day. The oldish and threadbare carpet smelled musty and mildewed. My husband and kids did not think that the accommodations were that bad (thus the Average rating) but I felt I was in an airplane cabin where you have to watch around you before you turn and maneuver. The room also has a smallish TV, no phone, free WiFi with password. The front desk person was pleasant but seemed hurried to get me out of his way. The breakfast attendant, however, was lovely and courteous. Breakfast consisted of a selection of cereals, toast with butter, jelly, peanut butter and tea or instant coffee, and bananas/apples/oranges. Too cramped for 4 people, not pleasant to come back and relax after hours of walking, but price and location were winners.

Room Tip: Lower ground street-facing quad room a bit too cramped for 4 people (2 adults, 2 teens)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

What we found was just horrible. We were put into a lower floor room that was far too cramped to move. You could not use the bathroom without turning sideways to get past the bed. Towels and linen were not changed daily. I understand the lack of air conditioning, but the room was only allowed to have two windows barely cracked open. We had to hold the curtains back with a coat hanger to get any air circulation. Only 2-3" open at their widest point. The room was stiflingly hot. The water facet was loose. The shower leaked into our bedroom making the carpet damp and their was a very strong smell of mold.

They refused to allow us to move to another room. It was the most uncomfortable room we have ever been in.

Room Tip: If you are forced at gunpoint to stay here, make sure your window is allowed to open by getting a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The main reason I chose to stay at this hotel was because the rate was the best I could find on short notice, and it was convenient to Victoria Station. The location is great.

We stayed in a double suite room (with a bathroom inside the room) the rooms are VERY small; there is no place to put your suitcase or walk around. We had to keep moving our bags on top of the bed. The carpet is worn, but the place seems to be clean and the sheets were clean.

The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the beds. The mattress were very soft and small, you can feel the springs. VERY uncomfortable.

Breakfast was OK. Just a simple breakfast with some toast, yogurt, cereal, instant coffee, tea and orange juice.
About Customer Service. We got to the Hotel and got inside the building because some guests were leaving. There was no one at the reception desk. We waited for an hour for someone to show up and then decided to leave our bags downstairs in the breakfast room (Other bags were stored there) and we went out for lunch. Our room was ready when we came back, but we wasted precious time going back to the hotel.
Other than the fact that the cleaning person threw the bag with all my medicines in the garbage we had no other problems (The guy in the reception desk fished through the garbage of the day and was able to retrieve my medicines). The lady in the breakfast room was very nice.
I guess you get what you pay for, but we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Uniacke, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Rooms were comfy, but lacked air conditioning which was a negative during our stay in a heat wave, the washrooms were clean and well kept, the service was great and friendly, location was perfect, only a few minute walk to Victoria Station. Breakfast was a bit lack luster but what was available was fresh and delicious, for a cheap stay in London for a few days I would recommend, but only with one to two people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakers Hotel

Address: 126 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #675 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bakers Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakers Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.