We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor booking service and staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Suites Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Aspen Suites Hyde Park to your Saves list
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #733 of 1,073 hotels in London
Londno
1 review
“Poor booking service and staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I made a booking over the counter for 1 double room and 1 family room. Later on via the internet found the price to be markedly different by at least 40%. I called in the day after to cancel the booking. I then I made a booking online via their website for the same. A couple of days later, I made a call to check on the arrangements. First of all, they did not cancel my booking which they said they would (which would incur me a penalty of the full nights stay if I didn't turn up) and although it had been a few days already, my internet booking was not yet received. I left it for 3 weeks to enable them to do the registration. Called in again and the staff on the phone (a Patricia) said that my booking was keyed in but I was surpised that I had 2 family rooms booked instead of 1 family and 1 double. She told me to check my booking as 'I must be mistaken'. As I was coming via Paddington I stopped by the hotel to show her my bookings via my mobile phone. I tried to explain my difficulty at having to check so many times the one booking but she was argumentative, defensive and entirely unprofessional. Denied having the front desk manager's information as 'it is not necessary' for me to know. A lot of work just to make a booking - very doubtful if they can live up to the basic service requirements.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHydePark, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest, this was a unique situation as we often have special offers for bookings made in person. Our new staff are currently being trained on bookings and cancellations. We apologise for the lack of satisfactory customer service which is very unusual for the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

These apartments are very well located between Paddington station and Hyde Park with many dining options around the corner. The tariff was reasonable for a London apartment. The foreign staff were polite, but not overly friendly. The apartment was reasonable in size for a couple. The daily cleaning was thorough.

The place is difficult to find with no signage outside. The website said that there was a clothes washing machine but on arrival found that they had been removed 6 months earlier with no apology. No dishwashing liquid was provided. The doors are really heavy and difficult to jam open. It was a little gloomy inside with small windows. The breakfast was adequate but would be improved by a wider cereal range. There was free but unreliable wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHydePark, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing a comment ontrip advisor. Our website has updated information about facilities which do not include washing machines however there are laundry facilities within walking distance. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We checked into this hotel after a long flight from LA and checked out an hour later. The rooms are pretty awful. We had the "triple" suite that was run-down, looked like it hadn't been remodeled since the 70's, had no bathtub and overall just felt old and dilapidated. The beds, if you can call them that, we preferred not to climb into. The double bed was actually a mattress resting on 2 square basis (split length-wise, very odd) and the covers looked old. The single, we didn't even look into. Kitchen and bathroom seemed ok but overall I just didn't feel like I wanted my 4 year old to be sitting on the sofa, sleeping on the bed or sitting on the floor in this room, so we left even though we already paid for the room. This might have been OK in my backpacker days, but not now (and mind you, I have stayed in cleaner and better kept backpacker motels).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We are located in listed buildings (dated to the 1830s) it is an old Victroian building and a few of our rooms are small but adequate for purpose. We also have one and two bedroom suites lounge and kitchen areas and en suite bathrooms. The beds are normal standard size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My daughter, her boyfriend and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment for four nights. It was one bedroom with a double bed and one bedroom with a single bed. There was a livingroom and a kitchen and a bathroom of course. The apartment had everything we needed, and it was clean. The apartment had a lot of doors, and they were quite heavy. They were probably fire doors, but nevertheless there were many doors in this little apartment!
Before we went I read that you could hear traffic noice in the bedrooms. But this is London! What can you expect?! At night I slept anyway, and I even had the window open.....

Room Tip: If you want quieter apartments ask for bedrooms away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHydePark, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for recommending Westpoint hotel and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.

We are also delighted that you liked the Apartments' central London location. Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and for choosing to stay with us again. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroomed suite for 8 nights. The rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels daily. I loved the fact that we had a choice of eating out or eating in with the fully equiped kitchen (however it would have been nice to have had some washing-up liquid). The hotel was very handy for public transport and the Heathrow Express. The only comment I would make is the standard of the breakfast. You'd think they could have varied the selection - not everyone wants corn flakes and sausages every day.

The only bad point were the door closers on every door within the suite. They made the doors close too quickly and we hurt ourselves on them when we didn't get out the road quickly enough. We ended up having to wedge open the lounge and bedroom doors!

On the whole, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHydePark, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Thank you for staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel is located close to Paddington station, so it's easy to take a bus or the underground to any place in London, but I would have prefered to be more central (Piccadily).
The street is nice. Lot's of hotels on it. This hotel (Aspen Apartments) has a nice lobby, but the rooms are quite modest, but very clean. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms are very small and there is only one bathroom and no separate toilet, which is a pain if you are 4 people.
The windows let quite a bit of noise in, to the point where you think the window is not well closed. The curtains are letting light in, so if you like a dark room to sleep, this is not the place for you.
As for the breakfast, you have to wait in line and it seems the tables are not cleaned up fast enough, but it's probably due to a short number of people working there at the time. Breakfast is adequate, but really bare minimum. If you like toast, butter and jam, you are ok. The hot chocolate is incredibly sugary. Stay away from it.
Staff is friendly. Rooms are very clean. An ok hotel, but I will try something else next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHydePark, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear Sir,
Since these are listed buildings (dated from the 1830’s), a few of our rooms are small, but adequate for the purpose. We have also available 1&2 bedroom suites with lounge, kitchen and shower/toilet; please enquire on your next visit.

I am sorry to learn about the problem you had with noise but being so central in London has its drawbacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The Aspen Suites provide me with a lot of what I need on a business trip: a great location for public transport within London or trains to other cities, an apartment with cooking facilities and a washer/dryer, a free internet connection (though remember to bring a connector cable from your laptop to the wall socket), and a very high standard of cleanliness. Granted, some of the furniture is getting a bit tired, and the breakfast is monotonous (though plentiful), but this is Central London and you can do a lot, lot worse. In my experience, the staff are friendly when treated with respect and courtesy. Most important of all for me is the high standard of room cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspen Suites Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Suites Hyde Park

Address: 176 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #733 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Suites Hyde Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aspen Suites Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Suites Hyde Park Hotel London
Aspen Hotel London
Aspen Hotel Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Suites Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.