We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay in London” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Suites Hyde Park

Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Suites Hyde Park to your Saves list
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   176 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #761 of 1,066 Hotels in London
norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay in London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My daughter, her boyfriend and I stayed in a two bedroom apartment for four nights. It was one bedroom with a double bed and one bedroom with a single bed. There was a livingroom and a kitchen and a bathroom of course. The apartment had everything we needed, and it was clean. The apartment had a lot of doors, and they were quite heavy. They were probably fire doors, but nevertheless there were many doors in this little apartment!
Before we went I read that you could hear traffic noice in the bedrooms. But this is London! What can you expect?! At night I slept anyway, and I even had the window open.....

Room Tip: If you want quieter apartments ask for bedrooms away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHydePark, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for recommending Westpoint hotel and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay.

We are also delighted that you liked the Apartments' central London location. Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and for choosing to stay with us again. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroomed suite for 8 nights. The rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels daily. I loved the fact that we had a choice of eating out or eating in with the fully equiped kitchen (however it would have been nice to have had some washing-up liquid). The hotel was very handy for public transport and the Heathrow Express. The only comment I would make is the standard of the breakfast. You'd think they could have varied the selection - not everyone wants corn flakes and sausages every day.

The only bad point were the door closers on every door within the suite. They made the doors close too quickly and we hurt ourselves on them when we didn't get out the road quickly enough. We ended up having to wedge open the lounge and bedroom doors!

On the whole, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHydePark, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Thank you for staying with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel is located close to Paddington station, so it's easy to take a bus or the underground to any place in London, but I would have prefered to be more central (Piccadily).
The street is nice. Lot's of hotels on it. This hotel (Aspen Apartments) has a nice lobby, but the rooms are quite modest, but very clean. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms are very small and there is only one bathroom and no separate toilet, which is a pain if you are 4 people.
The windows let quite a bit of noise in, to the point where you think the window is not well closed. The curtains are letting light in, so if you like a dark room to sleep, this is not the place for you.
As for the breakfast, you have to wait in line and it seems the tables are not cleaned up fast enough, but it's probably due to a short number of people working there at the time. Breakfast is adequate, but really bare minimum. If you like toast, butter and jam, you are ok. The hot chocolate is incredibly sugary. Stay away from it.
Staff is friendly. Rooms are very clean. An ok hotel, but I will try something else next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHydePark, Guest Relations Manager at Aspen Suites Hyde Park, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear Sir,
Since these are listed buildings (dated from the 1830’s), a few of our rooms are small, but adequate for the purpose. We have also available 1&2 bedroom suites with lounge, kitchen and shower/toilet; please enquire on your next visit.

I am sorry to learn about the problem you had with noise but being so central in London has its drawbacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The Aspen Suites provide me with a lot of what I need on a business trip: a great location for public transport within London or trains to other cities, an apartment with cooking facilities and a washer/dryer, a free internet connection (though remember to bring a connector cable from your laptop to the wall socket), and a very high standard of cleanliness. Granted, some of the furniture is getting a bit tired, and the breakfast is monotonous (though plentiful), but this is Central London and you can do a lot, lot worse. In my experience, the staff are friendly when treated with respect and courtesy. Most important of all for me is the high standard of room cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Although the staff were very friendly and the suite was decorated and cleaned to a very high standard there were a number of problems.

The first being that during my stay the fire alarm went off persistently. It was incredibly loud and went off throughout the day and particurlarly early in the morning (5-6am). When I contacted reception staff there informed me that it was an alarm but could not provide me with any information as to why it was going off or when it would be fixed.

The second problem I encountered was that my suite was adjacent to a door used frequently by staff. The walls in the suite are thin so everytime someone walked through the door it slammed shut and the whole suite shook. I paid for a suite to sleep in but didn't manage to get much sleep between the piercing alarm and the slamming of doors.

Lastly I paid for a continental breakfast every morning of my stay but felt that the breakfast provided was poor in choice. By that I mean that if you don't like cornflakes or toast arrange to have your breakfast some place else.

  • Liked — The staff and the level of cleanliness
  • Disliked — The inconvenience caused by noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

I stayed there this week for 4 nights, with my wife and 3 kids, 9,8,6 . We had a two bedroom apartment. It was very clean, small /tidy, but sufficient sized bedrooms, and a good sized sofa bed in addition . The living room was nice. The home from home convenience provided by apartment as opposed to hotel room living, was great. The TV -DVD was handy to have especially when you have young kids, reception has a list of DVD's you can rent for free, and overall the apartment was great, and in comparison to trying to get a family room or two rooms in a hotel it was much better and good value. too The breakfast was fine., your get basically orange juice, cornflakes, ham & cheese toast and tea, what more than you can expect at these prices, and it does fill you up for the day ahead. The reception staff I found friendly and nice. Of course with all the places in Sussex Gardens you are getting first and foremost a handy location in terms of closeness to the city tourist sites. The noise from the traffic was constant and little shielded by the single glazed windows, but not too loud and certainly not enough to stop 5 very tired tourists sleeping soundly through it every night. I would really recommend this place to any one with young kids in the 5 to 13 age bracket. One small gripe the internal doors in the apartment were very heavy, and needed a good push to open, and swung shut automatically so would not recommend to younger kids as they literally would struggle to be able to open the doors and would definitely get the fingers stuck at some point !

We never really used the clean kitchen apart from light snacks as you are surrounded by restaurants nearby. The place was cleaned every day and was spotless overall. We would definitely recommend and would come back. With a place like this you have an idea what you are booking in the first place ( not the Savoy or the Ritz), and those expectations were well surpassed , we had a great time.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and sense of home from home apartment living
  • Disliked — The heavy internal doors in the apartment
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

Stayed at the Aspen as a family of five in a two bedroomed apartment. Yes I agree it was small, but if you want 5 star rooms, pay for them!
Shower was powerful, bathroom was rather small but adequate. Kitchen very clean, fridge, washer/dryer, Microwave plus all utensils, more than adequate. Breakfast was complementary, cereal, toast, meat & cheese, you could pay £3 for full English. Vey basic breakfast - but it is free!
Less than 5 minutes walk to Paddington Underground, some nice Restaurants, Chinese, Indian, Italian plus the usual Steak Houses, all within 10 minutes walk around Paddington. One problem, it is very noisy, the traffic outside is constant & the windows not all double glazed, if you are a light sleeper it will be a problem. We found reception more than helpful & very nice with the children. Yes it is £10 for the remote, but you do get it back!
Black Cabs run constantly along the road outside the Aspen, very easy & quick to flag one down.
The Aspen can be difficult to locate - the Hotel is actually listed as Abbeywood so it would be best to let your cab driver know that - we found it very easily.
Overall, a great stay, reasonably priced & a great location - would we stay again - Most definately.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from Road
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Suites Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Suites Hyde Park

Address: 176 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #761 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Suites Hyde Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aspen Suites Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Suites Hyde Park Hotel London
Aspen Hotel London
Aspen Hotel Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Suites Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.