We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job - shame about the noise when we arrived!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wesley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Wesley to your Saves list
The Wesley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 103 Euston Street | Camden, London NW1 2EZ, England (Formerly MIC - Hotel and Conference Center) (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #547 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Did the job - shame about the noise when we arrived!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed on the night of the 23rd. Arrived to what sounded like a pneumatic drill just behind reception! We were told that they were doing work in the dining room. Staff were very apologetic and said it would be finished with half an hour (which it was). We were upgraded to a 'superior double' but in essence this was two single beds and two single mattresses covered by a double sheet. However, the bed was comfy.

The room was clean and well appointed. Arriving with work being undertaken on the hotel does make you look about a bit and the curtain rail was starting to come off at the ends and the door stop in the bathroom had come away from the wall. Having said that, the shower brilliant!!

Breakfast: there was a limited choice of cereals but otherwise a great spread. The chef was happy to cook eggs 'any way' as well as fresh pancakes.

Overall, a hotel that was well located, very reasonably priced and did what it needed to very well.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    309
    115
    46
    36
See reviews for
78
236
69
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What a pleasant surprise. Located on a quiet street so conveniently close to Euston Station. Standard of double rooms is high, large bed, clean, spacious modern bathroom. The breakfast at £10 was fantastic value, eggs are cooked to your requirements by a chef so no soggy scrambled eggs here!
A fantastic place to stay plus the ethical element. Friendly and helpful reception staff.
Overall a great experience at a good price and so conveniently located.

Although it was obvious that some major refurbishment was taking place, this did not adversely affect our stay in any way (evening of 20th December)

We will definitely be staying there again when we next go to London.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Wesley is a rare thing in London - a well-located pleasant hotel at a reasonable price. And even better, it's a social enterprise with a real focus on fair trade and sustainability. Less than two minutes' walk from Euston Station, The Wesley is a short walk from Regent's Park in one direction and landmarks such as the British Library in another. It's currently in the middle of refurbishments, so signage is temporary and a little shabby, but don't let that put you off. The rooms are spacious and well lit, with a real boutique hotel feel. Bathrooms are modern with nice toiletries. There's a good selection of tea and coffee (fair trade, of course) and helpful additions such as an ironing board. Breakfast also a real delight with eggs cooked to order. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohNyota, Managing Director at The Wesley, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review, I am extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed very conveniently located next to the Euston station and you quite rightly pointed out that we are a social enterprise trying to run a business in the most ethical way. As you said we are in process of renovation and I am sure that soon we would be an outstanding establishment and we all are looking forward to it here at The Wesley.

Thank you once again and I will definitely share your feedback with the whole team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

John Nyota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel between the 12th & 15th December. I have to say I do a lot of travelling and stay in hotels all over the world. Why oh why do hotels let you make a booking without informing you they are 'doing upgrades'? Lifts out of action, stairs not in use. Temporary signage of no real help to finding your room. Fire doors leaning against the wall for 2 days. Builders using electric power tools early in the morning, and you still have to pay the full price. Will it be okay when completed? Well if the 'suite' I was staying in is anything to go by, don't stay there.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohNyota, Managing Director at The Wesley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing to us the review, I am sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the maintenance works being carried out. As you figured out quite rightly, we are indeed in the process of improving our establishment. We truly believe that shutting the property whilst we are carrying out the maintenance works wouldn't be the best decision as the renovation is not being carried out in the rooms at all, as for the pricing we are very economical given the fact that we are located in the central London right next to the Euston station and we do provide decent four star guest accommodation. Here at The Wesley, we are really looking forward to the work completion and I am confident that we would definitely be improving our image in general once we are done, for now we all are working towards the same goal and that is to improve our brand standards and improve the customer services on the whole. I am sure you would simply love us once we are all done.

Thank you once again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind regards,

John Nyota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we stayed here last February I wrote a glowing of review of the Wesley. The room cost £215.20 for two nights, which we thought was reasonable for London. This December the price was £399 – almost double.

We knew prices had gone up, and that London isn’t cheap. However, we were looking forward to the spacious dining room for breakfast, and the relaxing bar area where we could unwind in armchairs and have a drink. We were extremely disappointed to find on this visit that the former dining area had been converted into a seminar room, and that all the guests had to squeeze into the former bar area for breakfast, where there were tables with plastic tops arranged in rows. There appeared to be a large conference party in residence, and the dining area was extremely crowded and hectic.

The bedroom was as ever with the amenities we needed, however. The bedrooms are small, but one has come to accept this as a fact of life in London.

The desk staff told me that the restaurant was a temporary arrangement, and that larger facilities were being constructed. Even so, the cost of nearly £200 for the night seems quite steep, and I fear we need to look for pastures new!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohNyota, Managing Director at The Wesley, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the feedback, it is always very sad for us when we see our guests leave without a smile. As you quite rightly mentioned the prices have indeed gone up, I am sure you understand that we don't overcharge our guests and set prices based on the competition in the neighbourhood. The staff quite rightly pointed out about the fact that it is all quite temporary at the moment and we are looking to make few massive changes in the establishment. We have already done quite a few bits such as renovated reception area and installation of a new lift but we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and that is why you would see some kind of construction going on in the hotel even at this very point. Given that you are a repeat guest and you did not enjoy your recent stay as much as you did the previous one, it would be ideal if you can write to us an email for any future bookings for the attention of Faraz (deputy guest hospitality manager), I am sure he will give you a fair quote and will look after you.

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to hearing back from you.

Kind Regards,

John Nyota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a very convenient location, only half a block from Euston Station. There's a decent little restaurant downstairs with friendly service. I was very impressed with the hotel's front desk staff--- they were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. My room was very cold at first--- the heat didn't seem to be working--- and the staff quickly called maintenance and made three different trips to my room to make sure it was warming up.
I stayed there twice, once in a junior suite and once in a single room. Both mattresses were comfortable but the junior suite is much bigger and nicer.
They're renovating the front part, painting and redoing the front desk area--- should be very nice when it's finished.

Room Tip: The "junior suites" are more expensive but MUCH larger than singles, with a double bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohNyota, Managing Director at The Wesley, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a positive review, I am so delighted to know that you are our regular guest and you enjoy staying with us. We are constantly renovating, trying to improve as an establishment and that is why we have works being carried out most of the times but I am pretty confident that soon we would establish ourselves for good. Recently we have installed a new lift providing step free access to all the floors and so we are constantly trying to develop our establishment so as to facilitate our guests.

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

John Nyota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a very good location, pretty close to the Euston Station. Price was OK, same rate as most hotels at the area. Staff is very polite and always willing to help. Breakfast is pretty good also. My only "not so good experience" was with our room: first the bed, I was traveling with my wife and unfortunately the bed was actually 2 single beds with a lot of space in between them, we did not have a single good night of sleep. Second the shower, it was not able to keep the same temperature, it was always changing from hot to cold in seconds…hard to take a bath that way. If it was not for these inconveniences at the room I would give it a 4 stars rating.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohNyota, Managing Director at The Wesley, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you writing to us an honest feedback, while I am happy to know that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay, I am sorry to know that you have had few minor disappointments. The staff at The Wesley is very helpful and we all try to please the guests all the time, on your next visit, if you experience any issues, you are requested to get in touch with our staff and I am sure any issues would be sorted straight away.

Once again thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

John Nyota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wesley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley

Address: 81 - 103 Euston Street | Camden, London NW1 2EZ, England (Formerly MIC - Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Marylebone , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wesley 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TheWesley is the UK's First Ethical Hotel, having been awarded accolades such as the Social Enterprise Mark and won Sustainable Business Awards. We operate 100 guest bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms which can host a variety of different events and functions. Located in London's Euston district, just two minutes walk from Euston station, we are close to the City of London and the West End. The hotel is indeed perfectly suited for both business travellers and leisure visitors. We are also close to important landmarks such as Regents Park, Bloomsbury, the British Library, University College Hospital and University College London. In 2012 and 2013 the hotel was refurbished to the tune of £3.5M and further works are ongoing to improve the facilities offered for our guests. Our restaurant and bar is open every day and evening for breakfast, lunch and dinner, not to mention light snacks and drinks. We are delighted to welcome you to TheWesley, one of Central London's Best Kept Secrets! We provide an oasis of clam in the busy city, offering unrivalled hospitality and modern comfortable rooms and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wesley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mic - Hotel London
The Wesley London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wesley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.