We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Victor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Victor Hotel to your Saves list
Victor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #684 of 1,066 Hotels in London
tralee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So sad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lovely old building is showing the signs of a total lack of interest by its owner and indeed its staff! Stuffy shoe box room with grubby furniture, carpets and walls. A breakfast served in silence by two rude girls who would hardly say good morning and silent guests due to no music, radio etc. The last morning we skipped breakfast as it was a depressing event which would put you in bad form for the day. The staff ( apart from the lovely young lady at reception on our arrival) were dour and silent. Would I stay there again GOSH NO. There are plenty of hotels in this area. This hotel need a good scrub down. New carpets and furniture and a good lick of paint. A few English staff may have helped but seriously skip this kip and find yourself a nice place to stay with better value for money. This is almost 2015 and I would say the last time this place got a make over was 1995, SO SAD.

Room Tip: stay away, it is seriously not worth it. 90 steps from the front door to room 16 and no life. Roon 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_Hotel_London, Front Office Manager at Victor Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Mary,
First of all, thank you for taking your time to post a comment. We are sorry if your experience with us was not as pleasant as we wish and if our service did not reached all of your expectations.

Regarding the facilities and decor of our hotel, we are taking action and within months we will make improvements to our hotel with more facilities and new decorated and furnished.

We will appreciate if you may reconsider to give us another opportunity to welcome you again, in order to provide you with our best service.

Regards.
Nour Rahmeh
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    91
    86
    45
    17
See reviews for
38
120
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I've been in about 100 hotels in my life... this is, by far, the worst one ever. I didn't get a shower because the bathroom was nauseating. The bed sheets were not clean, I had to buy a pijama since I didn't dare to enter "there". Temperature inside rooms were really cold (sleeping with 3 blankets). Plastic cups for bathroom, leaking tubes, uncomfortable bed, listening to all voices and sounds from everywhere ... sincerely, by far, worst experience in a hotel in my life.
The only thing

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_Hotel_London, Front Office Manager at Victor Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
First thank you very much for the time you spent to send us your constructive comments. every day we strive to provide excellent quality of service since our main goal is to satisfy all our guests.
On this occasion we failed, and have no doubt that your comments have been transferred to the relevant department to carry out a process of improvement; our housekeeping changes the sheets and use of glasses for the bathroom and beds are new.

But I wished you would have communicated directly to the reception personally all this inconveniences and I personally would provided you new sheets.

I would love to give us a second chance to welcome you again, in order to provide you with our best service and recover your trust.

Regards.

Nour Rahmeh.
Front Office Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The walls were dirty and marked, the decor old and tired.
The staff were OK, if they could understand you. Minimum levels of English need to be addressed.
I made a mistake on the booking, on booking.com I put in the wrong dates. When I got to the hotel, they would not change the dates, nor would they refund. I found this rather pathetic customer service and very short sighted. As I will not be staying again.
I effectively had to pay twice for the same room of dubious quality. Then again they are cheap.
There are a multitude of hotels down the same road and I shall just go to one of them.

Room Tip: Don't go at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I stayed for 1 night and thank god I didn't book for more.

The location is too far away for local attraction and tube station.

The entrance was small and the 1st receptionist that greeted us was very ackward, with attutide. The rest were really nice. NO lift, but the stairs were easy to climb

The room and bathroom was extremely small, but clean. The bathroom had a shower which I refused to use as it was dirty and old. There was quite a bit of noisy from the other guests, even thou they were trying to be quite you could still here them moving around upstairs and in the corridors

The breakfast was included in the price but was continental, with not a limited choice. Only cornflakes, toast and crossants. The toast was only 2 slices and 1 crossant per person.

It was cheapish £100 a night for 2 people.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_Hotel_London, Front Office Manager at Victor Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Julie,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry to realise that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Our hotel it's located in Victoria, just 5 minutes walking to Victoria station or Pimlico station.
The sizes of the rooms are the same in all the hotels in the same area with the same quality and category.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve.

Regards.

Nour Rahmeh
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The Victor is a wonderful hotel. Didn't have to rent a car and deal with driving in London because the hotel is within walking distance to Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, museums, Big Ben etc. Breakfast is cereal, fruit, toast, croissants, coffee, tea, juice. Enough to fill you up and not have to pay ten pounds for breakfast. Desk staff was absolutely awesome!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_Hotel_London, Manager at Victor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for your review, it has been a pleasure to us to make your stay with us as comfortable as it can be, we hope to see you and your family again next time you are in London.

Kind Regards

Nimesh Patel
Operations Manager
Email : nimesh@victorhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here July 6th, very last minute booking. Surprised at how well priced this was for the area. Clean, lovely breakfast and helpful staff in a very central location - what more could you want!
Slight negatives if being picky were the shower was very hot and door 1 was difficult to open, however the night porter quickly fixed this issue.

Must say that the young receptionist working that night is a credit to the hotel - goes above and beyond her job to be helpful and make you welcome, she's the nicest member of staff I've met in any hotel, anywhere :)

After a long weekend partying up camden it was an ideal place to end up.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_Hotel_London, Front office Team member at Victor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Cakemeaway,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and thank you for your positive comments. I am very lucky that I work with a team that is passionate about delivering great customer service. If you have the chance please let us know what room you stayed in so we can address the shower temperature.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards
Eman Mohamed
Front Office and Reception.
Email: info@victorhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We have just stayed here for 3 nights, its a small hotel converted from an old house, okay our room was small but met are needs, the bed was comfortable, a cosy bathroom but the towels were changed every day and the bedroom was kept clean, the breakfast is very good with piles of toast etc, its very handy if you want to get into the West End, the No. 24 bus stops outside and runs every 10 minutes. The staff are nice friendly and helpful, would we stay there again, YES already thinking about our next booking

Room Tip: No 12 is small, but we ere shown No. 2 which was quiet large but next to the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_Hotel_London, Front Office Team Member at Victor Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Roger S,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy that your stay with us was a good experience and we are looking forward to seeing you again, we take all feedback seriously as it helps us improve the experience for future guests. Please let us know on your next booking with us to leave a note to assign you to the room of your choice, if the room is available we will definitely do our best to give it to you.
Kind Regards

Eman Mohamed
Front Office and Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victor Hotel

Address: 51 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #684 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Victor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.