We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel in good place in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments

47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments
Save
You added 47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments to your Saves list
Prince's Gardens, London SW7 1LU, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #368 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Turku, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel in good place in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

47 Prince's Garden is in an Imperial University Building. It is near bus stops and Metro station, so it is easy to reach. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good, sausages, eggs, black budding, cereals, fruits, croissants etc. We were one week in September and we'll select it next time when we'll visit London.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
11
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Debenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The availability of this accommodation is limited. It's one of the newish blocks of Imperial College's student accommodation and is only available in school holidays. It's basic and functional but clean, tidy and reasonably spacious. Rooms are sort of like an IKEA show bedroom! Guests have the use of the gym and swimming pool and the breakfast hall is a 3-5 minute walk away on another part of the campus.Services are limited (no TV, basic radio but very efficient and friendly reception) but if you're after a very functional, safe, clean and affordable B&B in London you'll go a long way to beat the value here, not sure what a 'single', room would cost though, we paid £70 for a twin (they don't do doubles).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I needed an affordable single room close to the Natural History Museum in South Kensington. My priority is functionality, in particular safety, a clean en-suite bathroom and a solid breakfast prior to a day’s work. The Prince’s Gardens Accommodation (a student accommodation during term time) fulfilled all of these. OK, the busy breakfast room was 5 min walk across the campus, but a good campus map was provided at check-in and there were coffee-making facilities to start off on at least one shot of caffeine. The breakfast choice was varied and there was no shortage of seats when I was there around 7:30 am (breakfast served from 7 to 10 am). Shops and the Eastside Bar are targeted at students and thus also reasonably priced. Luggage storage prior to the 2pm check-in and after the 10am check-out was professional. Access to gym and in-door swimming pool facilities added a pleasant surprise. The only down-side: this facility is only open to the general public during term vacations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Booked through Priceline (retail site) for $133.50 USD including tax. That is a steal for summer season in London and considering our weaker dollar. Breakfast included and all in a great location.
Adjoining Eastside Restaurant was a great value as well for a pint or beer.

Found beds to be uncomfortable and bathroom floor should have been cleaned better.

Staff was very accommodating when I asked for one of the rooms as a twin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My daughter an I stayed here for two nights to visit museums and a theatre trip. The accommodation is quite excellent. We had a twin room, with ensuite shower, tea/coffee making facillities. It was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. A very safe and secure building, friendly staff. fantastic value with breakfast included ( a short walk from the accommodation). No TV though, which would have been nice. However, I really cannot find fault with our stay.
Checkout time is 10.00 am, and they will store your luggage until later in the day if you wish to do more sightseeing. We used the Eastside bar & restaurant one evening .which served good food and reasonably priced drinks ( a bit below pub prices).
The accommodation is available to the public from June to September each year. The location is fantastic,within walking distance of the museums, kensington Palace, Royal Albert hall, Harrods,Hyde park etc. ( It's worth printing off a walking map from the internet, we did).
I would highly recommend Princes gardens, and would definately stay again. Why pay high hotel prices when you can stay here for a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a really fantastic option in London. The university residences are well maintained and safe. Staff are on site 24 hours a day and they're very efficient and helpful.

Location: Ideally located on a quiet square near tube, parks, museums and excellent dining options. It really doesn't get better than this spot in London.
Check in: Very organized and efficient. They are quite strict about check in and out times, but I suspect that's what allows them to serve large groups in a quick and organized manner.
Room: In the Selkirk halls, I was given a room on the 5th floor. It was immaculately clean, well appointed with plenty of outlets, light and air circulation. Linens were clean, no mildew in the bathroom, shiny taps, very well maintained overall. Good water pressure and temperature. The room and building were both secure.
Amenities: There is a fantastic gym across the square which you can access for GBP5 per day. It has cardio and weights, pool, climbing wall, classes and changing facilities. Great bonus. The breakfast is in another building on campus which is a 5-10 minute walk. Staff there are a little gruff but food is good and the buffet is more than adequate. There is a laundry room with washers, dryers and ironing boards in the basement.

Overall, I highly recommend Prince's Gardens. It's excellent value for money and I appreciate the chance to support a university that does great work in London and employs some hardworking students.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments

Address: Prince's Gardens, London SW7 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in London
#93 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
47 Prince`s Gardens Guest Rooms And Apartments
47 Prince`s Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments Hotel London
47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 47 Prince's Gardens Guest Rooms & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.