We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, clean, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Acacia Hotel to your Saves list
Acacia Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   14 Queensberry Place, London SW7 2EA, England (Kensington and Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #389 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
La Plata, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“comfortable, clean, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

good area, very confortable and clean. No lockers in the rooms is the bad thing in this hostel. three nights in january, very good shower, hot water, good breakfast and good wi fi connection. nada mas que agregar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    35
    31
    69
See reviews for
28
20
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in July and it was a pretty bad experience. The hostel rooms had no lockers available to keep your things and the room was dark and mouldy. I felt as if I've been shoo-ed into a storage room with beds piled in it. There were insufficient power points in the room and the sink dripped and leaked onto the dirty carpet floor. There was only one toilet on the level to be shared by 16 people, so we had to go to the upper levels to use the washrooms.

The price of the hostel is relatively low (given how expensive london is) and the location is perfect for any sightseeing in London, especially kensington gardens and the science museum. But the room quality was horrifying and the staff were rude and will try and ignore your presence as much as they can. The wifi signal is really weak and I had quite a difficult time connecting to it in the room, and could only use it in the reception area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels generally seem better. Avoid the basement rooms at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

It's a kind of Hostel located between South Kensington underground station and the Science Museum. It's a very good area in London, so a very cheap and good option if you want to stay well located. If you're looking for comfort and hotel facilities, don't go. There is a shared bathroom on each floor, but in the period of my stay the shower was broken. They provide bedlinen for the rooms but don't provide towels, so remember to bring yours.

Room Tip: choose a private room, if you need more space and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed in a number of hostels in London, some have been great others bad. This hostel falls in with the bad. The only positive thing I can say about the hostel is the location. There are many bad points. there wasn't a great deal of hot waters in the showers. I had a room in the basement and had to walk up to the ground floor to use the showers. There was no security at all, as the front door was left unlocked all night and there was no one on reception so anyone could walk in off the street.

The room it self was small (8 bed room), which didn't have any lockers. There was also a strange small in the basement, As the kitchen was next to the room i stayed in there was also a bag of rubbish outside the room constantly as well as piles of laundry.

The common room and kitchen were both small and uninviting, which meant you couldn't meet anyone.

I definitely won't be staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is very good, but the staff doesn't always provide you the right information (actually they gave me the wrong one and I was quite lost) and the common room isn't quite inviting you to meet or to talk to anyone. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villaverde, Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel's location is perfect, near from the natural history museum and also science museum; near to the underground station "south kensingston". The hotel is very cheap, at least If I go back to London again, I'll go for sure and stay in this hotel. The bad thing the stairs, I was on the third floor, and everyday to go up the stairs was like a hell. If you're planning to go, I recommend you this one. I mean I was all day at the street, only I was in my room at night, and I was so comfortable in it, no problem. Review: very good location, very cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor or second are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

One night was enough at the Acacia Hotel. Counter staff need lessons in customer service. No proper bed linen and no towels even for rent. 'this is a hostel'!!!! So not a hotel!!
Location the only plus. You have to be desperate to stay here.

Room Tip: Take your own bed linen and especially towels. like sharing a very small bathroom along a dirty land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acacia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Hotel

Address: 14 Queensberry Place, London SW7 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 662 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Acacia Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acacia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.