We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jesmond Hotel
Save
You added Jesmond Hotel to your Saves list
63 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Troy, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My two 19 yr old's and I stayed at the Jesmond for 3 nights a week ago. We can't say enough how great it was. The location is absolutely perfect and we found everyone to be friendly and accommodating. It was clean, comfortable and we felt very safe. You can't beat the price of this place. I was amazed that when we continued our trip into Nottingham England and stayed at a more upscale hotel - the boys said they preferred the Jesmond. (high praise from spoiled teenagers) I would absolutely 100% go back there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    159
    38
    17
    5
See reviews for
116
110
110
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Fantastic little B&B right in the heart of London. Walking distance to the British Museum and Tottenhamcourt Road, it is also in the middle of 3 different underground lines which will take you everywhere else you need to go. Clean rooms and helpful service. Big bonus is the FULL English Breakfast which is included in the room price - you can't beat that! Rooms are smaller than what North American travelers will expect, but heck, you are in Europe, what do you expect? I have stayed here on 4 separate occasions, in a number of different rooms, and have always been satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here for 11 nights in two en-suite rooms. The rooms were small and basic but for the price the value was excellent.
The strongest point for me was the location. It is a 3 and a half minute walk to the Goodge Street Underground and from there we could usually get wherever we were going in London with only one change of line. There are a lot of restaurants near the station in Goodge Street and Charlotte street, and Goodge Street also has a Tesco supermarket. Euston station is a 10-15 minute walk and St Pancras International (for the Eurostar) is about 10 minutes past that.
There was a good range of breakfast options (cooked, toast & spreads, juice, cereals, fruit, cheese etc) and there is a free internet PC in the guest lounge. Breakfast service doesn’t start until 7:30 so if you’ve got an early start it won’t be available.
If you do want to stay here I suggest you book early - the ‘Hotel Full’ sign was on the front door most nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We can always count on clean, comfortable rooms with a host and staff that make you feel like family. The location is perfect, the rooms are nice sized and the breakfasts delightful. We've been there a number of times and will hopefully be back many more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We booked this hotel after reading reviews in Trip Advisor, well all I can say is I think we stayed some where else. This hotel was very ordinary and ugly decor. Location was good though. Maria, the old lady was lovely, that was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesmond-Hotel, Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear FeeandStan,
We are sorry to hear of your negative experience with us in September 2010. We consider ourselves to be a budget hotel, and therefore not aiming at a luxury market, but do hope that our service and help to all of our guests can elevate us above "ordinary". Unfortunatley we cannot cater for all tastes in terms of decor, and are dissappointed that you would use the term "ugly", for what we hope is a largely neutral colour system throughout the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location, and also pleased that our staff, in particular Maria, was helpful and pleasant during your stay. We hope you managed to enjoy London during you holiday, and that you may return to our city one day.
Glyn Beynon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I really like my stay at Jesmond Hotel! Felt like I was at home. Good breakfast, clean and confy rooms. And with a great great Location!
My next trip to London I´m going to check in this B&B again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

This was a one night stay, single room £60 with cooked breakfast. a good price for central London (most hotels I had checked out were over £100). The room was tiny but had an en-suite shower and toilet. The TV didnt work but I didnt really need this anyway. Some of the towels were a bit shabby. Overall the room was adequate for my needs. Be aware that there is no lift if you struggle to climb stairs. Breakfast was OK, with something to please most people. Location was good with tube links a 5-10 min walk in either direction. Stay here if you dont mind basic facilities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Address: 63 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a budget hotel in London? We welcome you to the Jesmond Hotel, a family-run, friendly bed and breakfast hotel in the centre of London. The Jesmond Hotel has been established and run by the Beynon family for over 30 years and we aim to provide friendly, affordable, hotel accommodation for all of our guests. We pride ourselves on the many guests that return to us year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jesmond Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.