We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences to your Saves list
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird
Ranked #4 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great few days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great place to stay in a great location.
Staff were fantastic and helped us with theatre and restaurant bookings as well as making some excellent recommendations, including Quilon which is just next door..
We were also automatically upgraded which was fab. The rooms are great with a fully equipped kitchen.
Also mini Masala Dosa's on the room service menu!!!
The SPA was superb or so my wife tells me ;-)
Tip: Check laterooms for some bargains on this one...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words, which I look forward to sharing with all the team.

I hope to be able to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    73
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
250
209
19
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a two week stay at 51 Buckingham Gate, my second at the property. Everything, and everyone was very, very warm, friendly, welcoming throughout the stay. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was really, really large and well fitted out in an old-school way... the only one hitch was that the bathroom was a bit too old-school at times with the plumbing (toilet did not flush properly, and tub did not drain). The television could use an upgrade as well. Apart from that, just cannot fault this place...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at the Taj 51 Buckingham Gate, and was disappointed to read that there were some issues with the Bathroom in your suite, I am glad to say these issues have now been rectified.

We are also looking at upgrading the TV’s for our suites.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel 3 to 5 times per year or the past 8 years. Many changes have taken place (improving already wonderful service) and has made this hotel a real pleasure to visit. The staff have nearly become family.
One can always expect wonderful service and very wonderful staff.
At the moment the Kings section is undergoing refurbishment so rooms are in demand.

51 Is one of the best kept secrets in London and Araceli and her staff will always make sure you have a special stay. This is a highly recommended hotel but a wonderful location.

Room Tip: All rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I’m delighted to hear that you continue to enjoy The Taj 51 Buckingham gate as a long-standing and loyal guest.

May I thiank you for your feedback, particularly with regards to the service you have experienced from the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

My Best Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We visited London to meet our two daughters who live in Bristol and Portsmouth. We have had the most wonderful weekend. We felt so at home and welcomed by the staff. Suites are spacious and luxurious. We enjoyed breakfast in the library as we could relax and have quiet quality family time. Highly recommend. Hope to return.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, the staff exquisite, the whole place exudes style and sophistication. The staff are beyond helpful and extremely attentive. We were given an upgrade because it was my mothers 60th birthday. The rooms were immense and had everything you could possibly need and more! Will definitely return - the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Can't wait to return and try the restaurants as we didn't have time on this trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your views of your recent stay at 51 Buckingham Gate. My team and I were thrilled you liked your upgraded suite and service you received.

Next time you stay may I suggest you try Quilon, our Michelin Star Indian Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj very soon.

My Best Regards

Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is truly a 5* hotel. Just came back from a 3 days stay in London on my way back to NYC from Mumbai. Cannot say enough of how extraordinary our stay was. We have stay in various 5* hotels in London but none come close to the excellent service this hotel provides. The Staff was very attentive and professional and always took care of your requests in a timely manner.
The hotel has a privileged location close to many historical sites, shops, banks and Tube Station.
We stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment and it was very well appointed with everything you need. I would definitely recommend this splendid property! On my next trip to London, without a doubt I will stay in 51 Buckingham Gate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate. The team and I are delighted to read that you found our service excellent as well as professional and we very pleased hat you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Kind Regards

Araceli - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked this hotel for a valentines gift for my ex-finance, who we were both having a difficult time since our son was born.

The hotel is really something special. We were treated brilliantly from the moment we got there up until we left.

The room was absolutely amazing and the room service food was excellent.

I just wish I booked an extra day. We ate at the hotel's Indian restaurant which was a Michelin star, and the food was amazing and very reasonably priced.

I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to anyone who likes nice things.

I'm one of those people that can tell if the staff's politeness was authentic....and it definitely was.

I'm proud I picked the right hotel and proud to have stayed in a wonderful hotel

Thank you very much

Mr K Kyriacou

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Mr Kyriacou,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It was so pleasing to read you not only thought our suites were amazing our food was good and my team made you feel most welcome.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taj London.

Kind Regards


Araceli Rius-Perez - Hotel Manager
Digvijay Singh - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences is located in the heart of Westminster in Central London, minutes from Buckingham Palace. It's distinctly designed townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, have been beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious and elegant suites offer the space and exclusivity of a private home with their own separate kitchen and living area. Make the most of the premier Golden Keys Concierge services, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.