We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Park the car” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Save Saved
You added Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,074 Hotels in London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't Park the car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

September 7th to 9.

Stayed in a serviced 3 bed room apartment . Comfortable stay , minibar is costly , and 13 % service charges included . Very clean ,location & breakfast is very good .
My stay was spoiled when my car was bashed which was parked close to the entrance , Security person says that it was a blind spot hence unable to find out who did it . Quite surprised by the outcome in spite of CCTV camera. My suspicion is delivery driver.

We decided to clear the bill the night before we leave since we are leaving very early in the morning , the person who came in gave a bill which included £5 for lunch when we have paid the lunch bill after questioning they have removed it from the bill . The person who did this was not polite he was asking us to go the reception.

My advice is please don't take any car to this place . Overall mixed experience.

Room Tip: I stayed at 1031 flat 3 bedroom , no view as such but decent place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    60
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
213
173
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is my second stay at this facility. Located in the Victoria area, it is convenient but also quiet. We have a junior suite with kitchen, sitting area and 1 bedroom. The hotel is clean, the staff attentive.The beds are very comfortable. The exercise facility is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here this year. It was only an overnight stay for a business meeting, but the 1 bedroom suites are extremely spacious for central london. The service is excellent and so is the food. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We thoroughly loved our stay at the Taj Suites. The location is just the best and the ambience and staff together make the a very special place to stay.

We would add that the breakfast is second to none.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the perfect London hotel for our family of 4 (children 8 & 11). We had a large 2 bedroom apartment with kitchen, and living room. What more can you ask for - Four Seasons high level service but in an apartment like setting. We all slept extremely well in our comfortable beds. In fact, the beds were more comfortable than what we have at home. Loved the fact that they offered a large selection of pillow types. We asked for a quiet apartment and got one. If you are staying in a suite and you are sensitive to smoke, make sure you ask them to make the unit smoke free before you arrive. We are very sensitive to smoke and they did a great job cleaning the unit out before we arrived to remove any scent of smoke in our unit.

Service was the best and although the hotel was a bit on the expensive, it did make our first family vacation in Europe so much more enjoyable. The hotel did not nickel and dime you on the small stuff: they had ample complimentary still and sparkling water, 6:30-8:30pm complimentary drinks and appetizers, free popcorn/soda and dvds for movie nights, etc.

I loved the fact that there was a small washer/dryer in the kitchen so that we were able to pack lightly and zip in and out of the airport with just carryon luggage. The hotel is right by Buckingham Palace and the St. James Tube Station. Also, you can easily walk to Westminster Abbey.

Best indian food we ever had was at Quilon, located right next to the hotel. Alex, Nelson and John were extremely helpful and courteous before the trip with booking tickets and providing advice on booking a rental car, etc. and during the trip with restaurant recommendations and other tips.

The only slightly negative thing I could say is that the lobby area is very small and it does not have the grand feeling of a large hotel but honestly, that is not top on my list of importance. I loved the fact that the hotel was hidden away in a beautiful courtyard - away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city. A real gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was an excellent place to stay with a family (or for a romantic weekend for two for that matter). The accomodations were excellent beginning with the car the hotel provided to pick us up from Heathrow. We had a huge two bedroom apartment (for our three boys 15, 13 and 10) with two baths (one bathroom was a bit small but I am really getting picky), a living room and kitchen all arranged along a long hallway. Our stay included breakfast each morning as well as a cocktail hour every evening. The hotel was within a 5 minute walk from the gates of Buckingham Palace and located in a quiet courtyard. It was also a 5 minute walk from a tube station. The courtyard was quiet, complete with fountain and outdoor dining at an excellent restaurant. The staff was more than accomodating and helpful. The concierges: Nelson, Alex and John were helpful before our arrival with booking shows and events and were helpful when we arrived by booking a rental car to Stonehenge, arranging fast track tickets to popular attractions and booking dinner reservations. I would defintely go back with my family, recommend it to my closest friends and family and take my wife back for a quite getaway when my kids are finally in college!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the building where the concierge desk was located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel from 20th Aug. till 23th Aug. for the first time. Location was excellent just a few steps from Buckingham Palace and a walking distance to other attractions. Upon arrival, we were greeted by all staff and check-in was smooth as silk. Escorted to our suite with good explanation of the room features. It was a big room with all what you expect to have. BF was excellent served by staff with proficiency. They have different choice of foods and beverages out-let jointly with another hotel in the same location. Just set and enjoy the service and quality.

Room Tip: Seek higher floors to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#14 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences is located in the heart of Westminster in Central London, minutes from Buckingham Palace. It's distinctly designed townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, have been beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious and elegant suites offer the space and exclusivity of a private home with their own separate kitchen and living area. Make the most of the premier Golden Keys Concierge services, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.