We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel with 6 star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Save Saved
You added Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,073 hotels in London
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“5 star hotel with 6 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Perfect in every way , room, location etc. What sets it apart is the service -genuine, personal,unpretentious and professional. They make you feel like you are home. The place to stay when in London. Check it out

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    59
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
209
162
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Exceptional service. Every member of the staff was friendly and attentive. The suites are spacious and elegant - perfect for families. We had a large kitchen with a washer/dryer. The hotel is located around the corner from Buckingham Palace and there is a subway stop close by. It was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent customer service, delicious food, very welcoming staff. We stayed in a suite which was extremely spacious with a separate kitchen and very large living room/dining room. There is a courtyard area outside for eating/relaxing which is beautiful. We were shown to our room by Sergio who went above and beyond the usual service to ensure that we were comfortable. He was very kind to our children, who were very happy to receive a large backpack upon check-in with all sorts of fun toys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a suite for a weekend stay. Is perfectly located near the palace and gives east access to all main London attractions.....
This place is fantastic, the service is second to none. We were met by Thomas who showed us to our room with the most genuine and warmest welcome. All the hotel staff go out of their way to look after you.
The food is super - Thomas organised, at short notice, a table for us at the Michelin starred Indian restaurant which was fantastic South Indian cuisine which was fantastically served and presented. Tasted just like we had in the finest restaurants in South India.
We'll return for sure........

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one fabulous hotel! We stayed 7 days with a family of four...two teenagers. I have to say first and foremost, the customer service was superb. They literally looked for ways to improve your stay every chance they got. You would call down for a wakeup call and they would ask if you needed coffee brought up at same time. If you wanted to stay in and just watch a dvd, they asked you if you wanted them to bring up movie popcorn and candy and so on. None of this cost extra! They call you the night before check out and want to know if you will need a cab and what time. It never ends. I was blown away constantly by how great the customer service was. I loved the complimentary breakfast. They did not scrimp on anything. It was like a 5 star restaurant but it was included in the price. There was one particular employee named Erol I believe was his name, he was THE BEST! He just could not work any harder to make our stay perfect.
The location was great to the underground. The area is quiet so sleeping was not a problem. The accommodations were first rate. I could go on and on about how much I loved this place!!!!! It is expensive but these are suites. We had two full bedrooms and baths, a full kitchen and a living area. Perfect for a family with teenagers that need room to spread out!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the best hotels for families in London--beautifully appointed suites that are more like full-on apartments. Ideally located steps from the Palace, as you might expect, as well as Hyde Park. This was our second stay and initially there was a glitch with our reservation. Not to worry-the staff truly extended themselves and worked tirelessly to make our stay perfect. The concierge also spent 15 minutes on the phone with the airline to straighten out a missing reservation. Rooms are quiet and spacious. The hotel itself is set back a bit from hustle and bustle, making it a refuge after a busy day. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am from Norway and I stayed at 51 Buckingham Gate in London for 5 days. It is a nice Hotel. It is in general clean and the Hotel offers a stunning breakfast.
However when we stayed there between 7-11 may 2013, the Hotel were refurbishing the entrance and the stairs to the south building. There were dust everywhere and when we went out in the morning, the kids got dust from the carpet and sanded plastic on their clothes. In addition to that, I had an important business meeting in our suite. That meeting turned out a bit embarrassing because my stakeholder had to walk through a hallway filled with craftsmen.
After I spoke with the manager about the problem, I was eventually offered an alternative room in the north building. This was however after 2 nights and we had to move during our stay instead of enjoying the best of London.

I am the opinion that a five star hotel that is refurbishing the hall should automatically reorganize the guests into the suites which are not being renovated. Not when the guest complains but before the guest are even given the chance to complain.

That is not to much to ask, is it?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences is located in the heart of Westminster in Central London, minutes from Buckingham Palace. It's distinctly designed townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, have been beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious and elegant suites offer the space and exclusivity of a private home with their own separate kitchen and living area. Make the most of the premier Golden Keys Concierge services, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Tingo, TravelClick, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.