We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences to your Saves list
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird
Ranked #4 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and loved it.
Great location with the Queen living just at the end of the road!!! Some great wee pubs around the surrounding streets for a nice relaxed drink too. Our one bedroom Suite was very comfortable with a small seating area and a fully equipped kitchen. The Nespresso machine was a lovely touch.
Duing our stay we enjoyed the "in-room dining" which was delicious. You could order a mix of things from the extensive menus they had available, which was great when you liked things from different menus. It arrived at the time estimated and was beautifully presented and set up in the room for us.
Staff we all very friendly and approachable. We especially enjoyed the Lounge access at night where they served lovely canapes and Prosecco!
Great hotel in a great location for seeing the sights of London!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    73
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
250
209
19
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night before xmas, we booked a room in the kings apartments, we were kindly upgraded to a one bedroom suite. It as the largest hotel suit I have stayed in, moreover the service was exceptional. The hotel provided some free drinks between 7-8 before we went out and the breakfast was the best I have had. Location was fantastic for sight seeing and shopping. This is the best hotel I have stayed in London. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The kings suite are recently updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wythall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can see by the other reviews on here that i am only adding to what everybody else is saying. We were staying here this wekend in a three bedroom suite with a street balcony and a fully fitted kitchen - wow! The suite, the staff and the location are all worth mentioning as i couldnt fault any of them. We are that impressed that we have decided to go back in a months time. Once again thanks to all the lovely staff. The Steele Family were more than impressed.

Room Tip: Shop round on trivago etc for a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for a girlstrip. We stayed at one of the two bedrooms suite. It was one of the nicest suites I've ever seen! The staff was extremly friendly and serviceminded! We ordred breakfast that was delivered to th room! A great way to start the day! I would defently stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week over Christmas. Flawless, friendly, extremely helpful, outgoing staff who bent over backwards for ANY request or accommodation. A rollaway bed that was COMFORTABLE arrived for our daughter, a London college student at no extra charge. Outstanding concierge suggestions and seemingly impossible to get reservations materialized. Every staff member made us feel like welcomed extended family. Breakfast, high tea and happy hour daily in the beautifully appointed library-- all complimentary, all delicious. The gym and spa were clean and always available. Loved the location walking distance from several tube stops and Buckingham Palace. I travel a lot and would compare 51 Buckingham Gate with the best small luxury hotels in the world. A rave review for this well deserved staff and property.

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Suite that was like a luxury apartment: fully equipped kitchen, laundry machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Buckingham Gate for 7 nights over Christmas week (2 adults 2 teens). We had a suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living/dining room and a kitchen. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff was amazingly nice and accomodating. Rooms were serviced twice a day. Breakfast was great in our building. Guests has the option of going across the courtyard for breakfast if our area did not have tables available. Although the location was quiet and not in the "thick" of London life, we were down the street from Buckinham Palace and only a 3 minute walk from the St James's Tube stop.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a courtyard and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Taj at 51 Buckingham Gate was our location for six nights during Christmas. Our large room had a well-equipped kitchen, a large bathroom with towel warmer, two sinks, a large soaking tub and shower. There was a radio, iPod player, choices of new and old movies, and even popcorn if you want to eat while watching a film.
The service was impeccable. From the concierge, to the front desk, the housekeeping staff, to the wait staff - everyone was helpful, friendly and gracious.
Everyday at 6:30 they serve drinks (anything you want), or tea, with hors o'deuvres. After walking the city all day long, this was a welcome respite.
There are several excellent restaurants attached to this hotel. Or, if you wish to eat in the room, you can order pretty much anything and they will bring it to you.
The location of the hotel was superb. And, it was in a quiet area off of a main street. You did not hear traffic during the night as you would in NYC.
The best of all was the bed. It was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The linens were very high quality. Each night there would be a bottle of water and a box of chocolates on our bedside tables. No charge. Also free was internet access, daily newspapers, a fruit bowl. A case full of umbrellas was in our hallway. We needed them everyday of our trip! Windows that open are always welcome.
On Christmas Day a stocking filled with fruit and goodies was delivered to our room. What a surprise.
We travel ALOT. This hotel will stand out with us as one of the best ever.

Room Tip: We did not have a view from our room. Normally, this would bother us. However, we were so busy see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences is located in the heart of Westminster in Central London, minutes from Buckingham Palace. It's distinctly designed townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, have been beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious and elegant suites offer the space and exclusivity of a private home with their own separate kitchen and living area. Make the most of the premier Golden Keys Concierge services, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.