We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences to your Saves list
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,055 Hotels in London
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Although we haven't yet stayed at this lovely hotel my husband and I visited for the second time today for champagne afternoon tea. The surroundings are impressive but comfortable, and it's not at all snoooty like some other london hotels. Staff are very friendly and welcoming, service was excellect and nothing was too much trouble.

We are planning to stay at the hotel for a special occasion and were shown one of the suite;, I can only say WOW!

Well located for site seeing, about a 15-20 minute walk from Westminster.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    61
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
218
176
17
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel has big rooms in an expensive city which is a plus. Staffs are friendly. One occasion, towels wasn't up to par. Washroom still need some work. Kitchen is fantastic just like home. the room has a washing machine. front desk clerk Monica is helpful. I'm pleased with her service. Business center is great asset for the business travelers with both Mac & PC computer. Newspaper were delivered on time. This Hotel is quite hidden from the Main Streets. At first I had difficulty finding the place My suite is very clean. staffs gave lots care for the stay. All things were functioning, it's a plus for the hotel. Too bad I lost cellphone by pickpocket on the second day in London.

Room Tip: Use Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

if you are in london either for business or pleasure and especially with family then look no further.this property exudes the charm and service hospitality which makes it stand apart -it is annexed to the Crowne Plaza which is also owned by the Taj group and I had a 2 room falconer apartment as we were a family of four.
there are 3 restaurants on the property,all good.breakfast at the library was fresh and inviting in a cozy setting with attentive service-in fact the service at this property from the front desk,concierge,restaurant staff etc cannot be faulted.property is well appointed,rooms have a new feel with all the amnesties one might desire.it is located near buckingham palace and Wesminister,walking distance from Victoria station.
i stayed for 6 nights and have to say this is the best property i have stayed in London.

Room Tip: choose a suite-its a little pricey but excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night as we where attending an event nearby. Reading the reviews had given high expectations and where not disappointed. Excellent hotel with very willing, professional staff who clearly where keen to please. Location perfect for exploring the central sites of London. We where upgraded to a two suite room ( thank you to the management) and this was a large well equipped set of rooms. Lovely bedlinen, and super comfortable nights sleep.

The highlight for us was breakfast room service the next morning. Just about the best breakfast I have ever experienced. Huge ( the first time I have ever failed to finish a full English!), delicious and amazing value compared to other offerings and London prices in general.

So why 4/5, simply we where rather disappointed with the housekeeping. Toothpaste residue from the previous occupant around the tap, corners in the shower in need of some lime scale remover and a good clean, towels tired, thin and rough and we felt the rooms (particularly the bathrooms) where in need of a little tlc.

All in all boarder line "excellent" but just let down by a little attention to detail.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

51 Buckingham Gate and the Crown Plaza are sister hotels and shared ownership/management. We needed a 1 bedroom suite, which is hard to find in London. The 51 Buckingham Gate was perfect. They offered 1 and 2 bedroom suites, which were quite comfortable and large. There is nothing to look at out the windows. Remember, this is London, not New York. They place almost zero value on the view here and it is, well.....bad. We looked over a center courtyard roof of scaffolding, etc. We kept the drapes pulled shut. The staff was great and very responsive. The rooms while expansive and comfortable (also had small kitchens), had modest details, TV were flat screen, but smallish for room. We were looking for a reasonable priced hotel ($ 450/night is reasonable for this type room in London), close to the tube station. This hotel is very close to Buckingham Palace and walking distance to Westminster Abbey and government, Big Ben, etc. There is a Starbucks very close to the hotel for the morning coffee. We did not dine at the hotel, but the restaurant at the Crown Plaza next door looked very busy both nights we were there (during the week).

Room Tip: Call ahead and speak with Pooja Agarwal, we found him very helpful for getting an early room check-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We love Taj, and stayed in many of them but this one has a spécial place ..in our heart .The warm welcome the efficiency of the staff is unique. The location is fantastic..the property is the only one in London with this beautiful patio inside. The connection with the Crowne Plaza..is convenient..The suites are great..and the butlers Sergio and Vasi are so nice. Ask anything to the Clefs d'or concierges Nelson and Alex.. they can do miracles.!!.Suzannah and Brandon at reception are wonderful. It really feels good to see always the same staff all over the years..each time we have the sensation..of returning home. 51 is annoncing some new renovations of the lobby ,and a new bar. We will definitely be back for our next trip to London. Congratulation to a really good management.

Room Tip: any of the suites are lovely..and quiet..because of the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed for two nights for work. great location round the corner from the palace. hotel located in a secluded courtyard so nice and quiet. the room we had was a standard suite which was very comfy and large for london. great bed, kitchen area and bathroom. best thing was the amazing service. staff were fantastic especially the ladies who served breakfast and the complimentary drinks on an evening. the complimentary drinks and canapes were a really nice touch and helped start the evening in a nice relaxed way.
overall, probably in the top three places i have stayed ever, mainly due to the service and relaxed atmosphere. isn't cheap at about £300 a night but when you consider a novotel is 200, it is decent value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Family Hotel in London
#11 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences is located in the heart of Westminster in Central London, minutes from Buckingham Palace. It's distinctly designed townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, have been beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious and elegant suites offer the space and exclusivity of a private home with their own separate kitchen and living area. Make the most of the premier Golden Keys Concierge services, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Expedia, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.