We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every pence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences to your Saves list
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Westminster)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Royal Gold Experience
Ranked #5 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Danville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth every pence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom suite for 4 nights and it was one of the highlights of our London visit! We've been to Ritz Carltons and Four Seasons hotels before and the rooms here are comprable to those but it was the service here that made this hotel stand out! The front desk staff, from the concierge (Nelson was one of them) to the "butlers" were incredibly helpful, friendly, and thoughtful. One butler saw me standing in the lobby with a bag of groceries and offered to take it off my hands and bring to my room for me while we inquired about the local attractions. When I went to my room I couldn't find the bag until I realized he had put away the groceries for me in the fridge! What service!! The Taj suites are affiliated with The Crown Plaza hotel next door which also looks nice but if you're looking for a suite with a kitchen and that extra special touch....51 Buckingham is the place to stay. Location can't be beat...right around the corner from Buckingham Palace and the Big Bus Tour (which was also a great way to see London). All in all a wonderful experience! I highly recommend it!

js
Danville, CA

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear mjc01,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted to know you that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am very grateful for your kind words for the buter and concierge team, they do indeed try every time to delight our guests in every possibly way and it is just wonderful to know that their assistance made you feel pampered and looked after.

Thank you once again for your fantastic support and I wish to see you soon again at 51.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    86
    18
    9
    0
See reviews for
296
236
22
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

From all over the world, their special staff make your dreams come true. As I am from Brazil, there was Yara, a lovely young lady that spoiled me so much I don´t want to go back home never more!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear BlancaBrasil,

Thank you so much for your lovely post, it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay at 51 Buckingham Gate so much that you didn't want to go back home.

Having associates at the hotel from so many countries including our lovely and friendly Brazilian butler means that we can make you feel very comfortable by getting to know you better.

Sadly you had to return to Brazil but I sincerely hope you will return to London again and will stay with us.

Muito obrigado

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed in a Junior Suite, huge bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries, fabulous bed, 2 TVs, DVD with massive free rental library, wi-fi and in-room fax, lounge area and a fully equipped kitchen - even including washing machine. Free tea, coffee, water, newspapers. Everything was pristine. The Spa is very good, the Courtyard Bar is a great place for a late evening drink by the fountain (the food's good there too) and what I really liked was the separate entrance which meant guests don't have to tramp through reception to get in or out, so it was almost like staying in private apartments. Simply superb in every way and to my mind excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear anthony t,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at 51 Buckingham Gate and delighted to learn that you very much enjoyed the amenities in your suite and your experience of many of the hotel facilities such as the Spa and the Courtyard.

Indeed having several entraces in to the hotel means you can have as much privacy as you desire, or you can join the rest of the guests in the main lobby and the Libary if you wish for the feeling of a buzzing hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write about us, we really appreciate it.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos,UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bed suite. It was spacious and airy with a large sitting room and fully equipped kitchen. It was probable getting ready for refurbishment as the decoration was getting a little tired and the beds were not the most comfortable. However, this did not stop us having a thoroughly enjoyable stay there. The standard of service was of the highest order. The staff were wonderful, offering excellent, friendly and sincere service. The breakfast was very good indeed and freshly cooked to order. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Jaclh,

Thank you ever so much for your lovely review, it is simply wonderful to know that the hotel team made your stay a very special one and they are the main reason for you to wish to come back to stay with us.

This year, we will be doing some minor but interesting changes to many of the two bedroom suites such as the one you stayed in by adding some colour and brightness to them which I am sure you will love when you return.

Be sure we will be delighted to see you back.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Faultless services, well cleaned rooms with a good selection of room service and resteraunts. Extremely convenient for anyone staying in central london with easy access to heathrow via victoria. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Grizzlybe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and share your experience of 51 Buckingham Gate, I am very happy to see that you really felt that 51 was a home away from home for you.

The suites and the hotel facilities simply offer you what you would expect at home plus a team of welcoming staff to offer you anything else you would miss from home and everything you wish for.

So come back home whenever you have the opportunity to visit London again.

Thank you

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

this hotel in the middle of London, close by to major attractions walking distance,
as the best crew, from the bellboy, to the battler , the experience and friendly concierge , to an excellent breakfast
you have the best hotel in London and the price is right..enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Zeevik,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us and share your thoughts with other Tripadvisor members and followers.

I loved the fact that you felt the hotel has a family like feel and I hope this is part of being in a peaceful atmosphere which ensures that you feel at ease with us from the moment you arrive.

Thank you once again and see you soon.

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We hesitated to book 51 Buckingham because we were going by reviews on Trip Advisor and going against our travel agent's advice. Wow are we glad we did. The property is a hidden little gem. When we pulled up to the court yard and were met by the staff they were pleasant and friendly. We were escorted into a small library type room where we were told our two rooms were ready (a pleasant surprise despite us getting there before noon). The hotel manager popped in to welcome us and see that we were being taken care of. While we did the paper work, we were offered cold bottles of water, baskets of fresh baked goodies and wonderful heavenly scented ice cold towels to refresh with. We were shown to our "apartment" and WOW! It was huge. We told the kids that sometimes in Europe you had to place your suitcases under the bed during your visit because the rooms are so small. 51 Buckingham made liars out of us! The rooms are gigantic. Bigger than most suites I have stayed in inside the US. The concierge staffed by Nelson and Alex were quite helpful and our housekeeper did her job very well, but the real stand out was Sergio and his staff who attended to our every need. Don't miss the breakfasts where you will be spoiled with fresh squeezed Orange Juice and the most delicious berries we've ever tasted! Oh yes, did I fail to mention that it is perfectly located in the heart of London? Just a short walk to most of the things you will want to see. Don't hesitate to book 51 Buckingham Gate. You will be pampered and pleased!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araceli-London, Manager at Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear DSK Northern Virginia,

Thank you and thank you again for choosing to stay at 51against what it seems were all odds.

I am thrilled to know that you loved the space, comfort and many other things about the hotel which were a bit of a surprise for you and a delight for your children but I am specially happy to know that you enjoyed your interactions with the concierge team, the managers and Sergio and his team of butlers who will really help you with everything you need.

I do hope other readers will follow your advise and will try 51 Buckingham Gate following your recomendation. The orange juice is really fresh, the suites are really large and the staff are really genuine and helpful, this be sure will always be found at 51 and many, many more things which we will let each new guest you discover.

Many thanks once again for your comments

Araceli Rius-Perez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences

Address: 51 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#10 Business Hotel in London
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences is located in the heart of Westminster in Central London, minutes from Buckingham Palace. It's distinctly designed townhouses - Kings, Minsters and Falconers, have been beautifully restored to their iconic heritage. The 85 luxurious and elegant suites offer the space and exclusivity of a private home with their own separate kitchen and living area. Make the most of the premier Golden Keys Concierge services, tailored treatments at the Wellness Centre and a host of on-site dining options including Quilon, the signature Michelin star Indian South West coastal cuisine restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Buckingham Gate, Taj Suites And Residences Hotel London
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites And Residences London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.