We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location with affordable prices but have to book in advance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London City to your Saves list
Ibis London City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England (Whitechapel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 15% OFF
Ranked #335 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“good location with affordable prices but have to book in advance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

we stayed there for 5 days during july 2013, and it was the peak time, bu the staff were very efficient as we had had booked 4 rooms on the same floor, and all were ready and kept for us even though we checked in late at 22.00

good breakfast , nice restaurant which is open 24 hrs with limited menu.
also the aldgate east station is right at the doorstep and very easily accesible to and from the london tube
prices can go really high is u dont book in advance, so not a good idea if the price touches 200 pounds per night, coz many other options are available in kensington and leicester at that rate.

overall good and comfortable stay

Room Tip: take rooms away from elevator to avoid noise , also on the left side is better , as on the right si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at ibis London City. I am pleased that we met your expectations and that the staff looked after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
HR&Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    1,423
    426
    74
    41
See reviews for
579
972
189
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. Everything you need is present - restaurant, bar and services such as dry cleaning. Staff is friendly but efficient. The menu in the restaurant is ok and i would recommend taking a left into Commercial st where you will find a choice of Restaurants. We paid 200 eur a night which is a lot for an IBIS but going rate in London.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel Ibis London City. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a week recently (business/holiday). Arrived after a very long 25 hour flight. It was only 9am so didn't expect to be able to check-in. Surprisingly room was ready which was a blessing. Room was small but adequate. Clean very comfy bed, kettle with tea/coffee. Some wardrobe space. Bathroom is a little strange (feels like an aeroplane bathroom) but again everything very clean, good shower. Was able to open the window for fresh air but it was a little noisy from construction site outside. Housekeeping was checked every day to make sure all was taken care of. Reception staff nice enough but they get a little frazzled when it's busy. Do try the French restaurant downstairs. Very good value and nice authentic food. Not much else around Aldgate east but there is a very nice French café just up the road past the little grocery shop. It's called "Exmouth" but there is no sign outside. Amazingly good croissants. Went there for breakfast every day. Otherwise the hotel is very well situated as far as the tube. 2min walk to Aldgate East station and also bus stop very close by. I would recommend this hotel if you are after basic comfort on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is just another average Ibis hotel. Very well located, just a 5 minutes' walk from my conference venue and less than a minute from the underground station. My room was ok and so was the wifi. Nothing to complain, nothing to be joyful about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the ibis for two nights in July 2013. Everything went without a hitch: great location if you want to explore the trendy Shoreditch/Spitalfields area. Tube station (Aldgate East) just behind the corner. The rooms were perfectly ok for a couple of days stay.

There is currently some construction work going on just next to the hotel, so there might be some noise coming from there especially on weekdays, depending on which direction your room is facing (maybe worth discussing when checking in).

All in all a very pleasant experience, can be recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is bog standard. I take issue with budget hotels lacking a moral compass when it comes to racking up the prices at busy times. I was in London for business during Wimbledon and as a result all budget hotels moved into astronomical price bands. The hotel was basic and clean. However I feel that putting prices up to £258 means that London becomes unaffordable for many people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel close to Liverpool Street Station this would be an ideal choice. Nonetheless I would not stay longer than one night, since we felt disconcerting with the location. Terribly disappointed with the Wifi connection notwithstanding hotel being advertised as wifi friendly. Had I noticed in my reservation that breakfast would be at a charge of around £18 per person I would have had second thoughts in booking this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, General Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay and with the free WI-FI services we offer. I would like to also confirm that All-you-can-eat breakfast buffet cost is £8.95 per person. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis London City and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
HR & Administration Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City

Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in London
#236 Romantic Hotel in London
#269 Family Hotel in London
#314 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London City 2*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ibis London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City
Ibis London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.