We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London at a realistic price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis London City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis London City to your Saves list
Ibis London City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England (Whitechapel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UK SUMMER SALE
Ranked #327 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“London at a realistic price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the second visit to this hotel within a year, The location is great near the tube and on bus routes,and local tourist spots, car parking (extra) opposite, room was spotless and quiet. The breakfasts were as usual for Ibis, superb! Polite staff, all in all a great pace to stay at reasonable prices for London,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Ibis London City.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the stay and the services we offer were up to the Ibis standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
HR&Admin Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    1,501
    441
    76
    46
See reviews for
609
1,028
195
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this IBIS in February while on a business trip to London. It is located beside the East Aldgate tube station ( 3 min from Aldgate station ) on Commercial road. The location is very convenient for destinations in East of London with access to the Tube and the Docklands light railway at Tower Hill / Tower Gateway only 10 minutes walking distance.

The hotel itself is a typical IBIS budget style with a focus on cleanliness, convenience and Quality to a budget price. This is indeed what is delivered. On arrival and check in there was no Que at reception and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The check in process was smooth and efficient. MY room was was a good size and clean and comfortable. Two single beds to make a double, TV and Team making facilities. The bathroom the practical & functional cubicle,

There is a bar restaurant downstairs which serves food and seemed to be busy but I did not try it. The only part of the stay that was not at the expected level was Breakfast the next morning. It is served in a restaurant situated on the ground floor and has the feeling more of a production line than a restaurant. It is a self-service buffet style with Continental and full English breakfast available which are good. Service however is not at the right level. On both mornings I had difficulty to find a table as most of the tables were not cleared after the last guests had left and the table I did use was poorly cleaned.

Overall I was happy with the stay. The hotel is good and deliveries the IBIS values. I would use again if staying in East London due to the good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
I was delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations in regards to the quality of our rooms, services provided on your arrival and location. I am happy to read that generally you had an enjoyable stay.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the experience you had on the breakfast. I was really disappointed to read that the service you received has fallen to meet our standards.

We have addressed the main problem you faced during your stay, and we have successfully improved this service.

I hope you could give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
HR&Admin Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you need a no-frills hotel conveniently located on the fringes of the City of London, at walking distance from many business destinations, here you are! I am not particularly fond of the Ibis brand, but sometimes consistent and dependable standards are a plus. Especially in London, where sometimes you are literally "taken for a ride" by unscrupulous hoteliers who charge you an arm and a leg for a very poor hotel product.
Here you get value for money: rooms are decently-sized, bathroom facilities are basic but efficient, bedding is comfortable, and everything is spotlessly clean. What else? Sometimes you do not need more than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. I am pleased to hear that Ibis London City was convenient for you and that you enjoyed the services we provided.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time.

Best Regards,
Irena Hoch
HR&Admin Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stay here on average once a month when in London on business and thought it was about time a did a review. The hotel is pretty much what you would expect for an Ibis, they are all pretty much standard, I love the funky bathrooms however I know some don't, I find them easy to use, nice big shower and always clean. I have eaten in the restaurant and the bar, the food is of a good standard, however you cannot deviate from the menu everything is set in stone.

My friend and I had a few drinks at the bar and the barmaid was lovely and very tolerant as we got a little tiddly, oops!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about your last stay at Ibis London City.
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and the service of the staff was warm and friendly.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Irena Hoch
Hr & Admin Co-ordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights, and must say that - being in London - this hotel gives great value for money! We booked and payed everything in advance, and got a really good deal. Friendly staff, comfortable beds and a location close enough to walk to and from Liverpool Street, where we arrived with Stansted Express.

The breakfast was not included in the standard price, but it was only a small additional fee if payed when booked. There's wifi in all the rooms, but it's not free - something I feel should be a standard inclusion these days. It was a bit pricy, so we ended up not using the wifi at all.

All in all, we had a good stay, and I warmly recommend this as a budget alternative for shorter London stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence B, Public Relations Manager at Ibis London City, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Ibis London City.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel, our facilities and location.

Regarding the internet we provide, we are continuously addressing our guest’s suggestions and we are already working to get a better service to offer to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Kind Regards
Irena Hoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#226 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#204 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,901 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic London City Hotel
Qbic London City Hotel
#155 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#510 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London City

Address: 5 Commercial Street, London E1 6BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#261 Family Hotel in London
#309 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London City 2*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London City is ideal for tourist or business stays. Located in the centre of London's financial district, 20 m from Aldgate East station, it is a few steps from Liverpool St, the Tower of London and the celebrated Tower Bridge. It has 348 rooms,including 19 accessible rooms. The hotel has a restaurant and also a bar offering snacks 24 hours, 7 days. The hotel offers Free Wifi throughout. Public undercover parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London City Hotel London
Accor London City
Ibis London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.