We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Disgrace!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Erebuni Restaurant, Bar & Lounge

Erebuni Restaurant, Bar & Lounge
2-5 Carthusian Street | Barbican, London EC1M 6EB, England
+44 20 7253 9319
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Erebuni Restaurant, Bar & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9,419 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $39 - $54
Cuisines: Armenian, Russian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Russian and Armenian Restaurant, Bar & Lounge in the heart of London. 2 Floors of high class service, entertainment and the best home-made Russian & Armenian food ever!! The Erebuni Restaurant & Bar will provide everything you need for a dinner in style and class with our very own Erebuni Cocktails. The Erebuni Lounge hosts table service, dancing, karaoke and a resident DJ to make your night amazing. With its delicious food, great vodka, entertaining live music and friendly atmosphere, Erebuni is the number one place to be! So if you are looking for a stunning restaurant to have a great evening in, bring your friends or loved ones and join in the fun! We also provide a takeaway and delivery service. If you are looking for a Russian & Armenian restaurant with a mix of classic traditional food, but with all the enjoyment of a modern restaurant then please visit us for an unforgettable evening. We host everything from Birthdays, Anniversaries, Weddings to Christmas and New Years Parties and also all Russian and International celebrations such as Women's Day (8th of March), Old New Years Day (13th January), Victory Day (23rd February) and many many more. Even if you want an excuse to eat and drink in a comfortable atmosphere, Erebuni Restaurant, Bar & Lounge can provide.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Disgrace!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Having done considerable internet research on where best to watch Russia in the FIFA World Cup in London, the Erebuni bar claimed to be the best spot.
This could not be any further from the truth.
Upon arrival we were met by the manager who told us we were not welcome as we were not Russian and that it was a private party. An absolute lie - it was clear nobody knew each other and this was pointed out to the manager who didn't know how to respond. Another group of Londoners turned up as we did and were also told that they were not welcome.

Absolutely shocking, disgusted to have been denied entrance due to my nationality. Very disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Good food, something a little different from the usual Farringdon options.
Russian cuisine seemed reasonably authentic. The atmosphere is interesting. Certainly not a place for a romantic dinner, but nothing wrong with that.
Worth a try if you're up for something a little different.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“For those who miss Russian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Yes, you got it right, russian food. As a native russian, I never even realized how much do I love our cuisine, until I spent more than half of year studying in UK. So, using the occasion of a concert of a favourite band as an excuse, me and my friends decided to find a restaurant with russian food.

My friend found Erebuni online while reading some reviews; location was convenient enough and we were planning to fill in 2 hours gap between arrival in London and the concert by having a good meal.

We booked a table and left a warning message that we might be 15 mins late so we asked to keep it for us a bit longer. Although we arrived on time and there was plenty of free tables, waiter ensured us that they'd keep it. Good.

Food was simply delicious and it certainly is whatever you can get back in Mother Russia. Two things I wasn't in particular fond of - meat took about 50 mins to be prepared (however we trust such a long time of cooking to be a sign of a well prepared meat, not some instant/quick de-frozen perps), and when I asked for water, they brought a bottle of artisan water, which cost quite a bit... However, the atmosphere was exceptional, and as an apology for delayed meals we were offered some vodka, on house! The owner was an awesomely welcoming person who told us to come back after concert if we had time, reminded of closing hours and also mentioned that they have a typical karaoke club downstairs!

Everyone was left pleased; we spent approximately 25 pounds each on orders (drink + main dish + dessert + some takeaway pirogi). Barbican station is also nearby, which helps a lot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Cold Atmosphere, Indifferent Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've been tempted to visit this restaurant following a glowing review by Matthew Norman in the Telegraph. We were not put off by the fact that the restaurant has recently relocated from the Guards Hotel at Lancaster Gate W2 to Carthusian Street in the Barbican, and although this new location is much less convenient for us, we still booked a table for two for 7.30 pm on a Saturday night. When we arrived, the retaurant was completely empty apart from just one table, occupied by a couple of itinerant tourists, who left shortly after we were seated, leaving the whole vast and carnaverous place to ourselves for the entire duration of our visit. Remember, this was Saturday night and the Italian restaurant next door was teeming with diners.

The restaurant is very cold, totally lacks personality and resembles communist Russian "chic": long faux leather banquette with an enormous mirror running the whole length of the wall, black polished "granite" in the massive bar that occupies almost half the space, not a single picture or ornament on the walls, not a single flower on the tables. Looks more like a cocktail bar than an ethnic restaurant. English pop blaring from the tannoy, which was slightly toned down after an earnest request from us. We would have preferred no musical accompaniment at all.(remember, we were the only guests there!)

The gigantic menu offers Russian, Armenian, Siberian, Georgian and Ukrainian choices and runs into many pages. We wondered immediately how such a vast selection can be offeed fresh and, indeed, the rye bread was still moist after having been defrosted in the microwave. The evening started quite well. The assorted "zakuski" (starters) we ordered - pickled mushrooms, marinated tomatoes and Siberian pelmeni (dumplings) with mince lamb and sour cream were tasty and appetising and proved an excellent choice. The soups that followed were much less palatable. The "Krchik" (sauerkraut soup with potatoes and hulled wheat) lacked the anticipated sour taste of kraut and the Ukrainian Borsh didn't taste of beets. The mains were equally disapponting: the Lamb Shashlyk was chewy, gristly and totally devoid of the requisite burnt charcoal flavour. It was accompanied by a pointless sculpted tomato and a salsa of indeterminate flavour served in hollowed-out cucumber ends - a typical example of form over substance. The only good component was the accompanying rice. The Chanakhy - a Georgian lamb stew of lamb with potatoes, aubergines and tomatoes, served in a clay pot - was not bad but we there were only three small cubes of lamb with the rest of the dish bulked out by vegetables; certainly not good value.

Our deserts - two deep-fried blinis with cheese served with sour cream and a popular Russian "Napoleon" pastry filled with vanilla cream, accompanied by a pot of green tea and an Armenian black coffee with brandy - were adequate, but not earth-shattering.

The service throughout was polite but totally amateurish and painfully slow. There were long (over 15 minutes) pauses between the courses and we had to call the waiter and ask him to remove the dessert plates from the table (remember, we were the only guests there!) At no time was I asked whether I would like more wine (I have ordered a single glass at the beginning of the meal) and at no time were our water glasses filled or refreshed.

The bill for the food, plus a bottle of carbonated water and a single glass of red wine, came to an eye-watering £122.00. We paid less in Michelin-starred restaurants, for a considerably better food and top-notch service.

Unfortunately, there is no possibility to award less than one star, which I would have done if I could.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Upon my visit to this fine restaurant, i was greeted very politely by the maager, who was very happy chappy. We were shown to our table, and given some complimentery Bread whilst we were deciding.

The food was exceptional, and very quick to come out considering there was 6 of us eating, we had starters and mains- very well presented and 'posh'.
Great value for money, as the portions were very reasonable, and the vibe of the whole restaurant was brilliant, staff were very helpful and polite.
Would give it a firm 8/10 -& will be returning very soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erebuni Restaurant, Bar & Lounge also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Erebuni Restaurant, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erebuni Restaurant, Bar & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.