We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, awful attitude, very average music” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 606 Club

606 Club
90 Lots Rd, London SW10 0QD, England (Chelsea)
+44 (0)20 7352 5953
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #667 of 2,329 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live performances of Jazz, Blues and Soul.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad service, awful attitude, very average music”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Service was unfriendly and not very attentive
Food was ok
You are not allowed to talk during the performance which makes the atmosphere
pretty dead, and especially when the band is instrumental with lots of self indulgent jamming
Every time anyone said anything at the table someone rushed over to shoosh us.

We tried to go to the bar at the back which is separate so we could socialise and listen to music, but were told not to talk as soon as he band started again.

I would not go back.
The £12 is in top of the cost of food and drink

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
606_Club, Owner at 606 Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
This is actually quite an interesting review that raises an important issue for us. We like to think of the 606 as a destination for music lovers, which means that we do our best to cultivate an atmosphere where the bands are the focus of the evening. That said, we rarely ask for complete silence and have a policy on most weekend nights, for instance, that as long as people are talking quietly and not disturbing those around them that’s fine (the one exception to this is Sunday nights when we do have a tradition of asking for complete silence during those performances). We also have a members’ bar area in the back, which is available for quiet conversation after dinner. So talking quietly can be OK but in order to help make our customers experience of the Club a positive one, we do ask our patrons to make an effort not to disturb others around them. Which brings us to this reviewer who refers to our “rude” staff, who it seems were “rude” because they had to ask them on a number of occasions to talk a little quieter (not be silent, just talk more quietly) as they were clearly creating a disturbance. And even when they finally moved to our bar area they still had to be asked to moderate the level of their talking as they continued to show little interest or respect for the music or other customers. What is interesting is that having caused some significant disruption on the night, which we did our best to deal with in a pleasant and reasonable manner, the reviewer has now gone online to complain about the fact that my team had the temerity to ask them to think about others rather than just themselves. I can only leave those reading this review to decide the relative merits of that situation.

I suppose given the general tone and thrust of this review it’s not really that surprising that it also refers to “self indulgent jamming” which I think most of the rest of us would refer to as jazz improvisation, lol. They also seem to suggest that “instrumental jazz” somehow doesn’t demand the same respect as non-instrumental jazz. I think it’s fair to say this isn’t a point of view we share.

Having been promoting live music for over 30 years I do feel that this review (and its response) raises an interesting issue as to how much respect an audience should show to professional Jazz musicians. What I find particularly interesting is that I’m sure this reviewer would not even consider talking at all, let alone loudly, through an Opera, or a classical concert, or in the theatre or even in the cinema, all of which almost invariably demand complete silence. Yet somehow Jazz musicians, who at the very high level we promote are likely to have spent at least 3 years studying hard to gain a degree in music and would then be practicing and honing their craft on a daily basis (in some case for over 40 years) are considered by people such as this reviewer to deserve as much respect as piped music in a lift.

The one positive from this particular review that I trust comes across is that at the Club we take both the well-being of our customers and the musicians seriously and as can be seen do take steps to control noise levels as best we can, so that those who want to talk quietly can do so and those that are there to listen to the music can do so as well. Steve/owner, 606 Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    9
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great music, good food, fab night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went on Friday 21st March and had the pleasure of watching & listening to Dave Lewis' "1Up" band & Lizzie Dean. The 3 hour set (incl about 30 mins interval) was well worth the £12 music charge per head.

I must confess that I wondered what we were walking in to when we first arrived...locked "cage" door (you just ring the bell to be let in - obviously to stop randoms walking in off the street without booking) leading down what looks like a metal fire escape to the underground club. I needn't have worried though, it was all part of it's charm! A real old-school jazz club...rough round the edges, but cosy and welcoming in it's own imitable way!

Licensing terms mean you have to have a meal if you want to drink alcohol, but this was fine with us as it meant we didn't have to worry about finding somewhere else to go for dinner beforehand!! The food was good, reasonably priced and was served quickly (though we were never offered dessert menus - but we could have asked if we were that bothered).

Would definitely go back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“1960s ambience, great music, atmosphere - a fine night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

For non-members, a good welcome. Jazz in various flavours, solid food menu beforehand, wine to compliment the music - tough or soft as you choose. London's more discrete version of Hamburg's Cotton Club, though Lots Road means a taxi for most. Mind you, you have to get to the far end of the King's Road to get edgy now.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great music poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked for my birthday treat well in advance, when we arrived there were many seats and tables available but were then shown to our table at the back off the room next to the bar where people here dashing in and out so I asked to be moved nearer to the stage, we were then given a front seat table next to the keyboards, the view was great but for getting to the toilet or to the bar this was a major hazard, we had to step onto the stage treading carefully not to trip over equipment and wires, surely this is a health and safety issue?
We sat down and was given a menu and before we could take a few minutes to decide we were told to hurry up and choose, we felt we were being very rushed by the waitress to order, there was no help what so ever in recommendations of food or wine, or that seemed to matter was getting the order/money as quick as possible. The starters were bland and well over priced, main dishes were again all priced over £16.00 so not value for money when you are already paying £12 each for the music charge, tables are very cramped it was like having your meal on a airline seat tray. The music is very good which we enjoyed so full marks there.
Although the club is in Chelsea so i guess pricey, the food could be better presented and priced much more reasonable, ie a few prawns presented on a small shell with no salad ?

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
606_Club, Owner at 606 Club, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
In light of this review it’s probably worth mentioning the “nice table” scenario. We are often asked for this and we do our best to accommodate customers whenever we can (not always possible but we do try). The problem we have, however, is that one person’s “nice” table is another’s “awful” table. As can be seen from this review, we do our best to accommodate our patrons once we are clear what their idea of a “good” table is. Given that, once they had understood their requirements, from this review it is quite clear that my team clearly went out of their way to accommodate these particular guests, I am a little at a loss to understand why they would then go on to complain about that? I also think it is worth mentioning in this posting that we do ask, and expect, our guests to show some common sense and NOT walk across the band stand which, as is pointed out, can be a little hazardous for those not used to such areas. There are clear walkways to the bathrooms and if anyone is unsure how to get there all they have to do is ask one of our team. So please, DO NOT walk across the bandstand, thanks. Opinions about the food have been dealt with elsewhere but I think it is probably just worth mentioning that our starter prices begin at around £5 and main courses from around £10 (nowhere near £16, absolutely no idea where that came from). Glad they enjoyed the music (nice to get something right, lol). Steve/owner, 606 Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Real Jazz... Up Close... Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visited the club for the third time on Saturday 8th Feb. We booked a month ago to ensure that we could get a table - we believe that tables are allocated based on when you book.
The music was the Brandon Allen sextet - two saxophones, trombone, piano, double-bass and drums - what a great night! The only slight disappointment was the table of 8 next to us who talked through virtually every piece - they might as well have stayed at home at put a CD as they certainly weren't really listening to the jazz. The 606 is great value - £12 each for the music - where else can you sit just feet from professional musicians - who played from 9:30 until 00:30 with a short break. Yes you do have to have a meal there too (due to their licensing terms), but the food is good, and makes it a great evening a out.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 606 Club also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to 606 Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 606 Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.