We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English National Ballet performed a superb 'Nutcracker'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The London Coliseum

The London Coliseum
St. Martin's La., WC2N, London W.C.2, England (Covent Garden)
020/7632-8300
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 853 Attractions in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An important dance venue especially for performances by The English National Ballet.
London England
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“English National Ballet performed a superb 'Nutcracker'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

This well-reviewed Nutcracker, choreographed by the incomparable Wayne Eagling, and covered by a BBC documentary on its making, opened tonight with a wonderful performance. The set was just amazing, especially the costumes - the Mouse King looked terrific! And the special effects including the hot air balloon worked so well.
We managed to get online £10 tickets up on the Balcony, which was great value - take your binoculars with so you can focus in on the detailed costumes and dancers.
Highly recommended - the Coliseum is just such a beautiful venue, perfect for this ballet.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    66
    18
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great performance, wonderful theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is a great place to see opera. We were in the Upper Circle row K. We were told we would not see the surtitles, but we could see them. The performance was excellent - it was the rarely staged "Castor and Pollux" by Rameau (contemporary of Handel and Bach). But we weren't sure about the production - modernist and quite sparse, with not a lot happening in Rameau's wonderful dance music (as to be honest it wasn't all that jolly a story...). But we're glad we went - it was a good experience, and where we were was not OTT expensive (£37 each). One big HOWEVER though. I could not have taken my husband, who is 2 metres tall, as he could not have sat in the seats. Check out legroom before you book!!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“first class venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Saw Carmen here and as it was our first visit were bowled over, magnificent interior with a spectacular high ceiling and we found comfortable seats, we were lucky enough to be in the front row of the stalls and the view was superb. The staff are very helpful and there is a free synopis of the show availible which came in quite useful as we don't like paying inflated prices for programmes. Adequate bar area and eveything feels quite new as the theatre was refurburbished in 2004.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good but with some discomforts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The ENO presents great shows at the London Coliseum but like the intial poster said, the seats are rather uncomfortable and not so easy to see the shows if you are seated on the end of an aisle in the upper levels.
Other than that the LC is a great place to see visiting ballets and other dance shows. I would return but would opt for seats near the centre on the lower levels instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable seats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

This was my first time to the London Coliseum where we visited to see the American Ballet's Swan Lake (a great show by the way). I must say that LC is a beautiful theatre hall but seating is not that comfortable. Seating for shows at the top aren't that could. If you can book something towards the front bottom level.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The London Coliseum also viewed

 

Been to The London Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The London Coliseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.