We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Blind Beggar

The Blind Beggar
337 Whitechapel Rd., E1, London, England (East End / East London)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 1,197 Nightlife in London
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Salvation Army founder William Booth preached his first sermon at this storied pub.
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nice pub. But very disappointed that they have covered over the bullet hole! Why would you cover up history?! The lady behind the bar didn’t have any idea where it happened and didn’t speak very good English!

Also they had no milk in so could not make any one a coffee or have milk with your tea!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very nice pub with a fireplace inside and a very good outside area. The people are friendly and the alcohol not expensive. I really like the big fish pond outside but i would suggest changing the lord of the rings style gate! I have been often to this pub and i can really suggest it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historic place, Modern outside but is missing something”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited here a few times due to its history with the Kray's.

The pub has a few articles on the wall about them and that famous night but thats about it, i was expecting a plaque on the bar to say this is where it happend but nothing.

The beer garden is very modern and is a nice place to sit especially when the weather is good!

Barmaids are friendly enough without being in your face.

Would i visit her again yes because of its history more than anything else.. Landlord could do a little bit more to bring the history into the place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much history, yet just another pub with no sole.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

So as everyone has alluded to, a quick google about this pub will tell you stories of invention, murders and religion. However, to be honest, the landlord has played on none of this. Instead the decor is like every other trendy east London bar. The garden is nice enough but if you came here to see the sights and soak up the atmosphere of a real historical east end pub - you are wasting your time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“brilliant local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I live about 3 minutes from the Blind Beggar and it never would have occurred to me to write a review. Basics are - it's a great local - check out the size of the fish in the garden pond. Service is great, it's relaxing, the beer garden is perfect on a London summer evening. I'd hardly cross town to go there (unless you're completely in to the historical aspect) but if you're in the neighbourhood, it's certainly worth popping in for a pint or two.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blind Beggar also viewed

 

Been to The Blind Beggar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blind Beggar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.