We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny” 2 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel London South Kensington

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
easyHotel London South Kensington
Save
You added easyHotel London South Kensington to your Saves list
14 Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JE, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“tiny”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Im 5'6" and this place was tiny even for me... it had no windows, which in canada would be illegal since it has no exits as it would be a fire hazard. I stayed there only one night. It was clean and had no elevator. .which I dont mind but the stairs were all over the place. Friendly staff I cant say anything bad about them since they were super nice.. just the room was tiny and bathroom was super tiny.. if youre not good in tight spaces or over 5'6" dont stay here otherwise..it was ok for the night. Oh and btw everything is extra...and I mean EVERYTHING!
L8R G8RS

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    86
    102
    47
    38
See reviews for
19
138
56
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Located nicely along well presented terraces close to a tube station which is located centrally for most visitor attractions. Gentleman working on the reception was very nice and helpful. Price is excellent - yes I know many people have complained about the rooms sizes - yes they are very small, especially for me who's 6ft 4'', but come on for the price what do you expect?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Dear All,

I stay now for three nights in this "hotel" however this is in an good neignerhood with a lot of hotels and reataurants highly priced, and feeling luxury if you are in the neignerhood this is an HORRIBLE hotel. There is no aircondition, the hotel is absolutly shoo-box side, i normallly going to E.x Etap Ibis Budget and this is in no way comparable to this easyhotel. The shoobox side, the whole reservation process on the internet with smile's for a good price, please i dont SMILE anywhere in this hotel. The room is not daily cleaned and they are honest about that, but hello you can not even normal shower!
Please Please never go to this hotel, absolutly horrible. Do'nt trust them!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I am use to pretty good hotels with my job and lots of travel to see the world. Indeed, I am a lucky guy, so why Easy Hotel. Well this stop over was on my expense account and I was traveling alone.....no wife or children...just to see some old friends in London. This hotel was a recommendation so I jumped at the chance to stay. I started to get worried when I booked on line and found that the window was extra, the remote control for the TV was extra and you probably get the rest of the picture. I half expected to see somebody selling prize draw tickets and perfume in the middle of the night but I guess the room was tight for a trolley and the bed! But for £25 per night.....that was right £25 for the night (I stayed just the one night) I challenge anyone to find a cheaper room of similar standard! Actually, the snob in me aside, it was OK. The bed was clean and comfortable and the en-suite....slight imagination on my behalf, was a shower cubicle with an integral wash hand basin and toilet. It did occur to me at one point to try all 3 amenities at the same time but alas I struggled to keep the toilet paper dry! I am a middle-aged Dad and I am use to far nicer and ridiculously expensive hotels, so the burning question is would I stay again.....probably yes.....particularly if I have to pay on my account and just needed to rest my head. It is very basic but close to tube station and if you are younger than me and want to spend a week in London on a tight budget you could stay at the Easy Hotel for £150 tops and spend the rest of the lolly on the £14.50 rum and cokes....I kid you not this is London but it did the trick with a good nights sleep. I guess this is Stelios doing to hotels what he achieved with Easy Jet and budget airlines and I am a fan of the concept......although my family would poo poo the idea and probably stay a little more up market!

Room Tip: All stairs...I found the rooms on the 1st floor easy enough to reach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

In fairness to the staff, when I made the booking I hadn't injured my knee however, upon arrival with everything including a walking stick in tow it would've been nice not to have to go up quite so many stairs (four flights) to get to my room. That being said the guy who checked me in was friendly & couldn't apologise enough then said he would check to see if there was a room available on a lower floor for the next night; I can only assume there wasn't because I heard nothing. The room was extremely orange and tightly compacted, pretty much as I expected (think cabin on a cruise ship, you're about there). The bed was alright, nothing spectacular although as an asthmatic the discovery of piles of dust in the corners between the walls & the bed for me to inhale while sleeping was disappointing & unwelcome. By far the biggest let down though was the heat!! I don't know why, hoteliers feel the need to make their guests feel like they're in the tropics they don't and yes, I know I could've got them to turn it down but that would mean hobbling downstairs & then back up again as there are no temperature control's in the room and no means to contact reception accept your own mobile phone but the signal isn't great so I wouldn't bother. Biggest plus point (and something that always worries me about hotels particularly hotels in old building's) was the shower because although it took a frustratingly long time to heat up (my advice would be to turn it on and leave it for at least 10mins) but once it did it was glorious! Just a little more attention to the details needed to get better marks.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is perfect if you just want a base to leave your things, grab a shower and somewhere to sleep while you explore London! this is the 2nd easy hotel we have stayed in and i have no complaints at all. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was basic but clean and comfortable, the hotel is well situated with both gloucester road and earls court tube stations a short walk away and the price (£50) for the night was fantastic for a friday in London! I would definately reccommend this hotel if you want cheap, clean and comfortable!

Room Tip: dont bother paying for extras like windows, for the amount of time you spend in the hotel its pointl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

THE BEST OF:
Location in South Kensington is close to great, quirky london breakfasts, museums (Natural History), Kensington Gardens (15min walk), and is <2 min walk from a grocery store for all your travel needs. It felt like a safe neighborhood for a young couple walking home late at night from the Underground station. People park their Range Rovers and $$$ luxury vehicles on the street, and a lady taking her dog out at 1am gave us directions home. Also, the PRICE was EXCELLENT: for a stay for 2 in London the price simply can't be beaten.

THE WORST OF:
It's small. We're talking no lobby. We're talking Double size bed, 1.5 square yards of floorspace (requiring you to probably step over your suitcase), and a 1 square yard bathroom. You have to close the bathroom door to open the door to the room. We stayed 2 nights and spent very little time there, so it was perfect for us. Also, we arrived exactly at our check-in time of 3pm and the room was not ready for us. The /one/ housekeeper had to hustle to get it ready while we waited in the not-lobby (small room with a man at a desk), so that was a little awkward, but at least we knew everything was clean! The desk clerk did however give us a map, some beverages, and travel advice. I think there is no desk clerk after hours if I remember correctly.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a window, which we both thought was worth it. The room didn't feel quite so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel London South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel London South Kensington

Address: 14 Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Easyhotel Hotel London
EasyHotel London South Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel London South Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.