We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ironmonger Spa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ironmonger Row Swimming Pool

Ironmonger Row Swimming Pool
1-11 Ironmonger Row, London EC1V 3QF, England
+44 20 7253 4011
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 190 Spas & Wellness in London
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ironmonger Spa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The ironmonger spa is a refurbished Roman spa with steamroom, sauna, plunge pool, relaxation room and hamman. We went on a Saturday and the place was packed, there was a queue for beds in the relaxation room and the changing rooms a miniscule - with people unable to change. I would expect better from this. I would imagine that on a weekday it would be better, but most people will want to use it on the weekend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Probably the worst customer service received at any spa. The receptionist was quite frankly rude and unhelpful and resembled the computer says no character on little Britain. The spa never answers e mails or the phone on time and give incorrect info which meant a wasted journey and a days holiday
The staff with the exception of a couple of the girls seem to have an attitude. The prices are expensive but the service is more typical of a council run facility. Don't waste your money or time. Amazing that they employed such rude and unpleasant staff after spending millions on the building refurbishment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely refurbishment but lacking in extras that make a superb spa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked the three hour spa session for 3 of us, birthday treat for one - the booking took several weeks as no-one answers the phone, replies to messages or responds to emails. When I eventually got through and reserved the space we weren't sure about treatments but as we were then enable to get back in touch we didn't have any treatments and they were fully booked. The spa itself is very nicely laid out although for such a large area the changing area is a little small and there are no laundry baskets for your wet towels or options to have a clean one once yours is soaked. There are shower facilities but no soap/shampoo so make sure you bring your own - this was a surprise, I have not been to any spa which did not offer this facility. On the plus side the variety of rooms are good and large enough for comfort. The relaxation lounge was also welcome with teas/water and fruit. Everywhere was very clean and the staff helpful. Definitely agree with another reviewer - access to the swimming pool should be included - you have to pay extra but we were not advised of this - swimming between sauna/steam sessions would be nice. We made a special trip up to London for our visit but would not return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nicely Restored Old Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lovely old pool and building (simple art deco, 1930's) recently sympathetically refurbished. The pool (with a proper deep end) and changing rooms were clean and warm, and pleasantly quiet when I went (a weekday morning). The decor in the swim areas is mercifully free of notices and 'splash!swim!' type posters - just calm neutral colours.The swim activities details don't seem to include much in the way of schools sessions, which is great for us non-kids! Didn't try the Laundry (or the Turkish baths - now the Spa) but it's great that they have kept them, although the Spa sounds a bit expensive. Interesting book about the pool held at Reception. Nicer public pool than some others in north London, I think.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It could be so amazing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went for three hours in the spa area of the ironmonger row baths. I haven't been before the refurbishment, so I can't compare, but I thought it was beautiful, with a very nice variety of rooms and possibilities. I kept spending ten minutes in the steam rooms or saunas and then making good use of the ice cubes or of the plunge pool. The relaxation room, with beverages and fruits, was very welcome too. The rooms are spacious and clean, with nice changing lights. You'll find the necessary cold water to splash yourself or rinse the scrubbing soap (bring some!) in the steam rooms. It just lacks some indication of time, and water to spread over stones in the saunas.
We didn't have treatments because there wasn't any space left - and because we kept calling in advance, and emailing, but we never got any answer, and nobody would ever answer the phone. I had to go there in person to book...
I guess they're a bit inexperienced and overwhelmed as they've just reopened. But it's a really a pity that:
-you can't access the swimming pool. It really ought to be part of the entrance to the spa, it's very nice to swim a bit at some point when the session lasts for three hours.
-you can't be naked during female only or men only sessions. No point calling it "Turkish baths"!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironmonger Row Swimming Pool also viewed

 

Been to Ironmonger Row Swimming Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ironmonger Row Swimming Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.