We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tango'd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Theatre

Phoenix Theatre
Charing Cross Road, London WC2H 0JP, England (Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue)
+44 844 871 7615
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$144*
and up
Ranked #122 of 853 Attractions in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owned and operated by Ambassdor Theatre Group (ATG) the Phoenix was designed by Giles Gilbert Scott and Bertie Crewe. It opened in 1930 with the premiere of Noel Coward's Private Lives starring the author, Gertrude Lawrence and Laurence Olivier. Many star actors have appeared at the theatre including Maggie Smith, Diana Rigg, John Gielgud, Dustin Hoffman, Derek Jacobi, Kenneth Branagh and Stephen Fry. More recently the theatre has presented a number of successful musicals including, between 1991 and 2012, Willy Russell's Blood Brothers which became the theatre's longest-running show and was seen by over 5 million people. The theatre is now home to the award-winning Broadway musical Once.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tango'd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I am not a great musical theatre fan so will not compare Midnight Tango with other shows I have been 'dragged' to. The tango dancing was very energetic and unusually for me excellent watching. Other than the interval the show was non stop. I was extremely impressed with the comedy parts performed by Russell Grant and his 'wife'. Vincent, Flavia and the other dancers showed what high class performers they all are.
We had seats (paid for by a family member) in the dress circle and the view of the stage was very good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    50
    18
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
worlddivingtraveller
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Midnight tango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great show in two halves, just the right length. The dancing was excellent, all of the dancers not just Flavia and Vincent who were amazing. Not sure what the point of Russell grant was? But at least it wasn't Bruce Forsyth!!! The theatre is not the biggest, but this proves a great atmosphere, and even where we sat in the upper circle, all seats had a great view.
great show.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Completely Tangoed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A beautiful theatre, a wonderful stage setting and a magnificent show, Midnight Tango. From start to finish the music and the dancing was electric with all the great cast fully involved. Russell Grant played a perfect role with Vincente and Flavia outstanding.
I would highly recommend this show, catch it as soon as you can because it's not here for long.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Midnight Tango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent show particularly if you are interested in dancing. Story told brilliantly through dance without a word spoken. There are nice amusing little things going on in the background so keep alert ( Russell and the stirring of the cocktails). Flavia and Vincent excel.
Negs - Really do order your drinks for the interval we got served as the bell went to go back to our seats.
Tip - if you are in the Upper Circle Bar of the Phoenix go down a flight of stairs and through the door marked 'PRIVATE' (they just forgot to take the sign down) and behold another Bar! As with all West End Theatres the usual queue for the Ladies and rediculous prices for drinks. 7-30 Finishes 9-30pm just right for the content.
Pre show food Poppies Spitalfields

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Great Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you haven't seen blood brothers then you should. This show is amazing. All of the cast were great, The music and the play are well written. I would stronly recommend it. We Booked through one of the theatre websites and got a very good deaI.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.