We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant AND Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #278 of 1,073 hotels in London
sweden
1 review
“Elegant AND Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

For those who like a modern and elegant London hotel, and also appreciate a genuinely friendly attitude from efficient staff. The location is super, on the south bank, away from the usual unlively hotel areas. The view of the river and the Houses of Parliament is splendid. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and the breakfast has everything one could want from an English establishment. We will be back soon!

  • Liked — The friendly, efficient staff and the modern design
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    776
    744
    272
    108
    46
See reviews for
249
757
115
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

We booked 2 superior rooms included breakfast for 94 GBP as weekend rate deal. It was good value, but the rooms was very small and no view or view of another building or - even worse -face the tracks. The trains are running constantly and all day long.

Having feel bad with the view and noise, we up graded it into executive room with view for additional 50 GBP each rooms. And suddenly, our stayed become beautiful and I wished I could have stayed longer. These impressive rooms have stunning views of the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye.

The Executive room with view was not too big, but it is equipped with state-of-the-art facilities including high-speed Internet, fax & modem points, flat screen televisions, EU/US power sockets, direct dial telephone, a large work desk, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities, laptop safe plus movie & music channels on demand.

As Executive level guess, we got benefit from having exclusive access to the Executive lounge on the 11th floor with complimentary breakfast, all day refreshments and evening drinks and snacks.

The breakfast has not much option and the service just everage. Compare to St James Sofitel breakfast, our previous days stay, it was not comparable.

If we ever go back to London, I would stay at this hotel again, but I would like to stay at the room with view.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

The person on the phone from the hotel gave us the wrong directions to the hotel and it took us a lot longer than it should have.
In the end we had to get a taxi. (they should have stressed that there are 2 tate galleries, we did not know!)
if they did not know they should have passed us on to someone that did know.

So we got there too late for drinks/ nibbles included in 'executive' package.
Something to watch out for.. you get 1 hour of internet on exec package. We asked at reception and logged on to internet on tv for half an hour and found the next day they wanted to charge us 4.95 which made me quite cross. (cannot remember exact amount but it was about five pounds) apparently i hour is for Wireless.

If I stayed again I would not get executive package.

Bar staff in hotel bar were moody and receptionists not much better. The words that spring to mind at the time were 'computer says no' !

  • Liked — Room nice.
  • Disliked — The lack of customer service.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get clear directions. Perhaps print out a map.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

This is a first class hotel. The location is excellent, about 5 mins stroll from Vauxhall tube. The room was excellent, we had an executive room, but no river view. Breakfast was great. We didn't fancy the menu for an evening meal, but on the way to the tube is a fab Portuguese restaurant called Pico, great value!
If I had to pick a bad point it would be that we had no robes in our room on arrival and had to ask for them. Thats it, everything else was just as you would like it to be.

  • Liked — Modern decor
  • Disliked — Had to ask for bathrobes...
  • Tips/Secrets — Great Portugese restaurant nearby
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

Location was my main problem as it is a good 5-10 min walk from vauxall station and about a mile and a half to all the sights like Westminster - would have preferred to be more central Staff were really nice and the rooms were really clean and well decorated. Downside was the occasional noise from trains even though I was quite far from the rear of the building. Noise from neighbouring rooms was pretty bad- especially when they are having [--]!!

I honestly would try to stay elsewhere if in London again but as a secret hotel on last minute.com its not that bad

  • Liked — Clean and spacious room
  • Disliked — Noise, distance from tube, diffcult to operate TV- gave up on it!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

Stayed at the this hotel for one night and I wished I could have stayed longer. Booked directly the day before and having done the usual searches found it cheaper to actually book direct with hotel. There was nothing I could fault. Check in was quick and friendly. The room (double) was ultra clean and modern, bed and bedding extra comfy. In room safe, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and board, flat screen TV, DVD, internet access etc. Black and white bathroom with walkin shower AND seperate bath. Bar tastefully decorated - very modern with low lighting/leather seating/fresh flowers and waiter service. Unable to comment on the restaurant as we did not eat there. Having said that if we go back (and I am sure we will) I would like to sample the food. One thing that I was very pleased about was the late check out - 12 o'clock. This meant we could have a bit of a lay-in instead of the mad dash to shower/dress and out by 10! Check out was quick and easy and the walk to Waterloo Station took us 10 minutes along the embankment. I would definatly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — View from window (parcial Thames/office block - but we did not go for the view!
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a river view if it really bothers you
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed at the Riverbank during Christmas week and were impressed with the decor of this hotel. The rooms were very clean and the maids did a great job everyday.

We upgraded to a bigger bed, however, the room was still small. I was very concerned about previous reviews which indicated that Vauxhall Tube Station was a good 15 minute walk. This is true, however, there is a bus stop just outside the front of the hotel which takes you right to the Tube station....I could not believe no one else mentioned this. It was so easy. Take the 77 or the 344 bus and when you are coming back to the hotel...get off at Vauxhall and walk to Bus Stop "J", and the bus will drop you off right in front of the hotel.

The breakfast was decent....not really worth 25 extra pounds per night....it would probably be cheaper to buy it separately.

Internet is not free....do not get the in room internet, the keyboard is horrible and very hard to navigate and get anything productive done. The business center charges 4.95 pounds per hour to use their computers.

If we ever go back to London, I would stay at this hotel again. The service was good. Rooms were clean. At night, it was quiet. It is appropriate for families as well.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Very difficult internet access
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in London
#208 Romantic Hotel in London
#238 Business Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.