We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #278 of 1,073 hotels in London
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“Good Enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We stayed at the Riverbank during Christmas week and were impressed with the decor of this hotel. The rooms were very clean and the maids did a great job everyday.

We upgraded to a bigger bed, however, the room was still small. I was very concerned about previous reviews which indicated that Vauxhall Tube Station was a good 15 minute walk. This is true, however, there is a bus stop just outside the front of the hotel which takes you right to the Tube station....I could not believe no one else mentioned this. It was so easy. Take the 77 or the 344 bus and when you are coming back to the hotel...get off at Vauxhall and walk to Bus Stop "J", and the bus will drop you off right in front of the hotel.

The breakfast was decent....not really worth 25 extra pounds per night....it would probably be cheaper to buy it separately.

Internet is not free....do not get the in room internet, the keyboard is horrible and very hard to navigate and get anything productive done. The business center charges 4.95 pounds per hour to use their computers.

If we ever go back to London, I would stay at this hotel again. The service was good. Rooms were clean. At night, it was quiet. It is appropriate for families as well.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Very difficult internet access
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    794
    760
    277
    110
    45
See reviews for
245
755
114
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

We just got back from our stay at the River Bank Park Plaza. I work at a top Las Vegas strip hotel as a customer service representative, so I know the hotel business. Do yourself a favor and DO stay at this hotel. First and foremost, the service is absolutely FIRST CLASS. Our every need and concern were attended to professionally and in a timely manner. (Another review expressed dissatisfaction with the staff. They must have been staying at a different hotel! The service could not have been better! Perhaps it was the way they interacted with the workers, but it was as good a service as one can find. They were not aware that I'm in the hotel business, by the way.) The hotel is situated right on the Thames. Our room had a fantastic view of the river, The Eye and Big Ben. The room is superb. The bed is comfortable, good sheets and all of the up-to-date amenities one would expect to find. The entire property was new, modern and extremely clean. There is a cool, hip bar. It's very close to the Underground. We could not have asked for anything better. River Bank Park Plaza will DEFINATELY be our choice for our next stay in London!

  • Liked — the service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — riverfront view upgrade a must
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed in Riverbank Park Plaza for two nights and paid $370 including taxes. Great value!!! The hotel is on the Thames, 15 minutes from Big Ben and London Eye on foot.

The hotel is modern with the usual amenities available at a 4-star hotel. At $185 per night in London, given the location and the room, it was a great value.

The bathroom was great - both a tub and a shower stall.

  • Liked — Great hotel, great location, great value for what we paid.
  • Disliked — Not within walking distance to any restaurants but you can take the metro to anywhere in the city.
  • Tips/Secrets — Travel offseason. Go on London Eye at night.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

We went to London for a few days break between christmas & new year & decided to book the Riverbank Plaza after staying at another Park Plaza hotel in Cardiff.We found that hotel excellent & thought the Riverbank must be as good. How right we were !
The hotel is 1st class. Its situated slightly out of the centre of London but its only a £5 taxi ride away or a 10 minute tube. The nearest tube station is Vauxhall & the hotel is a 5 minute walk from there. There isnt much around the hotel apart from a few bars & shops, but its situated on the river front with excellent views of the Thames, Houses of parliament & the London eye.
The hotel is very modern & trendy(typical of the Park Plaza hotels).
The bar & restaurant looked great but we were out so much that we didn't get a chance to sample them,so we can't really comment on the food etc. However there were always plenty of people in them.The staff were very friendly & helpful & the concierge will bend over backwards to help you. We just booked a standard room which was very reasonable for the rating of the hotel.We didn't have a river view but if you paid extra you could have a river view.But because we were out so much,by the time we got back it was dark,so didn't think a view was neccessary this time. The room was very clean & trendy,with a seperate bath & shower, LCD TV,Air con etc.If you rang room service they were there within 5 or 10 minutes. We highly recommend this hotel & would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

Stayed at this hotel just once and what a treat. Really great rooms and if you are lucky will have a view of the Thames and Parliament. A Very nice hotel which I would recommend to anyone. I will return, A lovely walk along the south embankement to Westminster Bridge. Also saw Lisa Riley at Check out!

  • Liked — Location and Modern
  • Disliked — Beware the busy road
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get a river view
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

This is a stylish hotel with a nice bar. Good location. The executive rooms with a view are big and beautiful. The standard rooms could look directly into another building or - even worse -face the tracks. The trains are running constantly and all day long.
The big problem of this hotel is the service on all levels. Most of the staff is friendly but nobody really cares. Many of them are simlpy unprofessional or untrained. One example: We stayed over Christmas and we knew that their restaurants would shut down for three (!) days the night before. By chance. You get informations in small pieces - if you get them.
I would only recommend this hotel if you book an executive room with a view and if you can take care of yourself. If you like hotels in which the staff is polite and greeting you and taking care of your needs this is not your hotel. All in all we enjoyed our stay but we will not come back.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

I don’t know where to begin…..I booked the Riverbank Park Plaza for my sisters 21st Birthday last weekend and can honestly say it was one of the greatest weekends I’ve ever had. We booked 3 River facing executive rooms and one Riverbank Suite for 8 of us. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly doorman who pointed us in the direction of reception. We had to queue for 10 minutes but this was only because a coach had just arrived. A very friendly trainee checked us and gave us our keys to our rooms.

The rooms were absolutely fabulous as were the bathrooms – separate shower cubicle as well as bath. Our Suite had a separate lounge area which was extremely spacious but best of all were the views!!! We were extremely lucky to have blue sky and sunshine even if it was a bit cold. Every room had clear views across the Houses of Parliament and down towards the London Eye – it was fabulous and well worth the upgrade fee. I believe the back rooms of the hotel overlook the train tracks into Waterloo so if you can afford the upgrade it’s well worth it.

The hotel itself was very modern and beautifully decorated – Before going out for the evening we had a drink in the bar and the bar staff were lovely. Breakfast the following morning was superb….a huge selection from fruit, pastries, yogurts, cereal, and of course hot full English….

As it was my sisters birthday we organised for the hotel to make a cake which we’ve all said was the best chocolate cake we’ve ever tasted….utter heaven!!! So if it’s a special occasion then definitely request the hotel to make a cake – it was worth every penny.

Lastly one of the best attributes of the hotel is the Guest Relations Manager Albert. I contacted him prior to my arrival and he was the most helpful accommodating member of staff that just made the weekend extra special.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody of any age. It was only a £5.60 for a black cab from Waterloo and £10.20 over the river to Piccadilly Circus so fantastically situated. If you fancy a brisk walk Sunday morning after breakfast then I strongly recommend coming out the hotel – turn right out the hotel and when you get to the bridge 50 yards in front of you walk down the steps so you are next to the river. Continue to walk along the river past the London Eye, The Tate Modern all the way to Borough Market and continue up to Tower Bridge – It’s a fabulous walk. If you don’t fancy the walk back then jump on the speed boat for £4.30 back and get off at Tate Britain which is opposite the hotel on the other side of the river and just walk over the bridge – This walk made our weekend complete!!!

I can’t wait to return back to the hotel.

  • Liked — Views from the River side rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
#251 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.