We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #346 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bognor regis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Great hotel, good location, friendly helpful staff
definately use again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    995
    387
    165
    69
See reviews for
353
1,027
142
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

I booked this as a last minute city break so was nicely surpised on arrival at the standard of the hotel for the price we had paid.
The room we were allocated was not at the front of the hotel sadly :o( - (in fact I'm not quite sure where it was)!! Not at the back facing the railway lines anyway (thank goodness as it was very noisy in the corridors at the windows that looked onto these). We looked into other rooms within the hotel but it was quiet. Plenty of fast lifts with hardly any waiting to get you wherever you need to go in the building.
The rooms are fantastic, clean and spacious, very modern up to the minute with detail and content as was the bathroom. The bed was so comfortable as soon as you lay down on the mountain of incredibly soft pillows it was hard not to drift off. They have everything you would need to enjoy your stay, choice of several TV channels, internet access, pay to view movies etc etc. Tea/ coffee making facilities, hairdryer, hangers, safe, notepaper and other little surprises like travel sewing kit, an iron and board - not a steam iron so make sure your clothes are packed well ironed so it's only travel creases you need to get rid off.
Room was cleaned/made up on a daily basis at times that were convenient to us.
Breakfast was plentiful no matter what time you arrive - served buffet style with something for everyones taste.
5-10 minute walk to Vauxhall Train Station and 5-10 min walk to the London Eye in opposite direction with great views of Big Ben and Houses of Parliment on the way.
Excellent choice of hotel if you want to be somewhere quiet but close enough to the city.
Only one minor complaint - it was a trainee who I spoke to at the check-in desk and I think she could have made more of an effort as she was my first contact (being a trainee I would have expected more enthusiasm and maybe a smile) but I'm sure the management are in control of that - the rest of the staff were so polite and helpful, we couldn't fault them in any way.

Overall lovely stay.

  • Liked — clean and modern
  • Disliked — Room didn't get a river view like the name suggests
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

my husband i stayed at the riverbank park plaza for one night. the hotel is very new and modern, and the room was spacious as was the bathroom. however, we had a horrible view of train tracks and a parking garage (?) so make sure you request a room with a view if you plan on staying here. the lady who checked us in was a bit snooty (you'd think someone who is in traning would be friendlier) but otherwise everyone else seemed nice.
my biggest complaint is the location of this hotel. my husband and i arrived at our hotel from heathrow via the tube and it was quite a walk from the vauxhall tube station. it's true that you have a great view of westminster and big ben from the front of the hotel but i would not recommend this hotel for tourists (esp first-timers) soley because of the location. you'd waste too much time getting from one place to the other.
there were a lot of businessmen at the hotel and that's probably who it's best suited for.

  • Liked — new, clean, modern
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

I was really impressed with the value for this hotel. It's very modern, high tech, has satellite LCD TV and beautiful artwork in the rooms. The room service was good, the staff was very good, location is near a lot of the major sites. A big plus for me is that there was a little grocery / convenience store next door. I had breakfast included in my rate and the breakfast had a good selection.

Though it's primarily a business hotel, I'd be happy to bring my family there.

  • Liked — Bathroom, artwork
  • Disliked — No 24 hour services
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

I got a great rate through an online travel site. We were only scheduled to be there for one night in early July, but as soon as we saw the hotel, we booked it for our return trip to London the following weekend. They even gave us the same discounted rate for the following weekend- about $129/night including breakfast (excluding taxes). The hotel was clean, modern, and well-decorated. The rooms were large and comfortable and the bathrooms were also large, spotless, and modern. The location was great- only a 10-minute walk to the Vauxhall underground station. The staff was generally very professional and helpful. The only problem we had was with the concierge staff through whom we booked a day trip to Stonehenge. Although the hotel appears to have a relationship with one of the tour companies, the concierge didn't seem very knowledgeable about the tour company or the trips it offered. We booked the trip anyway for the next day, our last day in London. Unfortunately, the shuttle provided by the tour company left the hotel before the scheduled departure time and when we asked if that was our bus, the concierge told us it was not our bus. Well, it was and the bus left without us! The concierge that morning, who barely spoke English, had our names and should have made sure the bus didn't leave without us. Instead, he told the driver that we weren't there, even though we were in the lobby waiting! When we asked a second time about the bus, we were told that that was our bus. Then he told us to take a taxi to Victoria Station at our expense. We went to Victoria train station, only to learn that the tour buses departed from Victoria Coach station a couple blocks away. We missed our bus and never got to see Stonehenge thanks to the concierge with limited English proficiency.

  • Liked — The design, cleanliness, and location
  • Disliked — The concierge
  • Tips/Secrets — Use caution before booking any tours through the concierge
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

It's a shame we couldn't give it a 0. The riverview room we booked was given to VIPs (nice to see that all customers are treated equally)... despite the hotel promising us a river view room on 3 occasions.

Furthermore, we asked numerous times for our mini-bar to be opened. Each time we were promised that our mini-bar would be opened electronically. It was never opened.

Finally, we were woken up on our final morning (my birthday, as it happens) at 5.45 a.m (unscheduled) by hotel security saying there was a 'Fire alert' in our room. There was no such alert but most annoyingly there was no word of apology for waking us up.

A real shame. I can't believe that people are giving this hotel either 4 or 5 out of 5 when we were constantly dismayed by the level of service.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2006

I stayed at the Park Plaza hotel in London for one night only.
I enjoyed my stay, it was in a fine location and had wonderfull views and luxurious rooms. On the negative side I believed that if the hotel had had another resterant it would have been even better.
4/5

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#248 Business Hotel in London
#254 Romantic Hotel in London
#262 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.