We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise & darkness” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #341 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Noise & darkness”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great lobby, mediocre staff, but the rooms, oh dear...

But the worst are the rooms, and the hotel *completely* fails to inform on their website on what you have to expect:

- Rooms to the North face a noisy street. *These* are the most quiet rooms.
- Rooms to the East face a huge apartment block under construction. Heavy noise and workers looking straight into your room from 12 meters distance.
- Rooms to the south face a busy railway line.
- Rooms to the West face a huge construction site, with massive noise penetrating into the room. And of course, more workers just in front of your window.

Oh yeah, and then there are the rooms (1/3 of all rooms!) to the inner "courtyard". This is in fact a bottomless pit with no daylight whatsover. Absolutely no daylight, only one single electric floodlight shedding some dim artifical light. It's like looking into the inside of an oil tanker. In most European countries, this would not even have received planning permission as hotel rooms.

Should I mention that there's a huge construction site on top of the building itself, too`?

Approximately 90% of all rooms are either very noisy, or pitch dark. Not that the hotel would mention it, and not that prices would go down.

Do not believe the hotel website, there are no images of what you have to expect. No need to talk about the impertinent reception staff. No need to mention the windows that were so dirty that you could hardly see the street.

This was one of the worst hotel surprises I had for a long time.

Room Tip: Only the rooms directly facing the street are acceptable. But they account for less than 10% of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    930
    346
    153
    66
See reviews for
332
951
132
590
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights on 27th & 28th February this year to attend a family wedding. Other family members were staying as well.
We had an Executive River view room.
View was spectacular.....looking towards the London Eye & Houses of Parliament.

Check in was super quick & easy with very friendly staff.

Only slight problem being its location....it would take ages to walk to the main tourist areas, however; a short taxi ride costing £5 gets you into the thick of it, or a 15min walk to the nearest tube station.

Free wifi for only 24hours.....come on Park Plaza, this isn't a budget hotel,at least give guests free wifi access for the duration of their stay.

Breakfast was either continental of cooked....both buffet style, & very nice.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I normally stay on the sister hotel at Westminster bridge. The rooms in both hotels are broadly similar.

I would give the Westminster bridge hotel 5 stars, but have taken 2 off this property because of firstly, the renovations. I didn't have to attend meetings until 11 but any chance of a lie in were dealt a blow as renovation work to add new floors to the hotel kicked in. Secondly, the location. It's not as close to bars, resturants or general activity as the Westminster bridge property 10 minutes up the road.

This hotel was cheaper than the sister property but I'd pay the extra and stay at Westminster bridge, however when the renovations are complete I'm sure this hotel will prove to be a viable alternative.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea D, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ctron1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the location of our hotel does not suit your needs but we do look forward to potentially welcoming you back in the near future and if you do decide to return please contact me directly at pprlgr@pphe.com and I will personally oversee your booking.

Kind Regards,

Andrea Donaldson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed in a balcony suite at the park plaza riverbank to celebrate my bday. The suite was spacious luxurious and the views unrivalled. The views are directly over the thames with all the major sites nearby. The restaurant Chino Latino was awesome and had an interesting menu. This hotel was amazing. It's def worth booking one of the suites. The staff were all totally charming. I can't wait to return !

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for the night to explore the sights of London! Hotel is good location for London Eye and the surrounding sights. Tube station about a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction so was no trouble getting around. Hotel really nice, visited the concierge and they were more than happy to help with any queries. Rooms really nice only fault was the room was really hot not sure why but had no air con and window was useless, other that that lovely hotel and stay!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Miller2255,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to Park Plaza Riverbank. You are indeed correct we are in a good location to visit the London Eye and nearby attractions. We are happy to read that you found the service of our Concierge team very helpful during your stay. I have noted your feedback regarding the room being to hot and would like to apologise for this discomfort However, I am pleased that this did not hamper your visit. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Samantha Greenaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Park Plaza Riverbank hotel a number of times over the last year and I'm sad to say that I was disappointed by my recent stay.

Bad:
1) Had to wait an hour for the room to be ready.
Arrive early at 1:50pm (10 minutes before check-in) and was informed that I had to wait till 2pm in order to get my room key. I found this very trivial, but nonetheless waited for 10 minutes in the hotel bar.
At 2pm waited in line patiently to collect my room key but was told that the room had not been cleaned and thus had to wait approximately 30 mins for my room. I was offered a free drink in the bar. I stressed that if they could send someone to fetch me when the room was ready and was reassured.
50 minutes later, with no one from reception insight I went up again to reception to see if my room was ready. It still wasn't and was told to wait another 10 minutes. The staff were apologetic but made no attempt to rectify the situation or offer me compensation for the wait.

2) The rooms, esp the suites, are outdated and have signs of damage everywhere (marks on the floor, scratches etc). They definitely need to be updated and are not up to the standard of a 4* hotel.

3) As mentioned by several others the air conditioning doesnt work.

Good

1) Polite and friendly staff
2) Location is perfect for people here on business as away from the mass of tourists
3) Cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 741 has great views of Parliament and Big Ben, but is right next to the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Liam1992,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

I would like to apologise for the shortfall in service that you have encountered during your recent stay.

I have passed your feedback on to the relevant departments to improve on these areas.

Should your travels bring you back to the area please can you contact me directly so that I can ensure your next visit is enjoyable and we can make it right for you this time around.

Thank you for the great feedback you left regarding our team I will be sure to share this with them.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to show you the true Park Plaza Riverbank hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Samantha Greenaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

we were really pleased with the friendly atmosphere and excellent service and attention from the staff. Overall the staffing levels were more than adequate and the approach was way above the empty "have a nice day" style of most chain hotels. The restaurant is exceptional with original and wonderfully prepared food.
There is a lot building work and you have to pay extra to avoid it. We were there at the weekend. Noise stopped at 19.00 on the Friday night and started again at 08.00 on Saturday. It stopped lunchtime on Saturday and we did not hear any more until we left on Sunday. A simple note in the rooms affected would be helpful to let customers know the timings. Rooms at the front will be quieter but more expensive.
We were staying as part of a weekend package arranged with another company. We had breakfast included and were a little surprised that guests with this arrangement were sent downstairs to a different eating space which felt a bit like a canteen. The food and service were absolutely fine, but it did make us feel a little like second class customers.
Overall though we would return and the staff are to be commended on the friendly and helpful atmosphere throughout the hotel.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Traveller225,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We were happy to read that you have experienced the individual service that we aim to offer all of our guests.

You are correct about the building work nearby; what can we say London is evolving at a very fast paste and it is rather unfortunate that some of this work has inconvenienced your stay.

We have taken the feedback you have left on board and continue to work very closely with the site to ensure that there is minimal disruption to our guests stay.

I have also noted your feedback regarding the breakfast room and would like to inform you that we are indeed looking into changing the location.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and should your travels bring you back to the area please feel free to contact me and I can arrange an upgrade to one of our front facing rooms.

I wish you a pleasant day.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in London
#236 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Business Hotel in London
#265 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.