We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, however beware the hotel is being rennovated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #338 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Decent, however beware the hotel is being rennovated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I normally stay on the sister hotel at Westminster bridge. The rooms in both hotels are broadly similar.

I would give the Westminster bridge hotel 5 stars, but have taken 2 off this property because of firstly, the renovations. I didn't have to attend meetings until 11 but any chance of a lie in were dealt a blow as renovation work to add new floors to the hotel kicked in. Secondly, the location. It's not as close to bars, resturants or general activity as the Westminster bridge property 10 minutes up the road.

This hotel was cheaper than the sister property but I'd pay the extra and stay at Westminster bridge, however when the renovations are complete I'm sure this hotel will prove to be a viable alternative.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    929
    346
    153
    65
See reviews for
332
949
132
589
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for the night to explore the sights of London! Hotel is good location for London Eye and the surrounding sights. Tube station about a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction so was no trouble getting around. Hotel really nice, visited the concierge and they were more than happy to help with any queries. Rooms really nice only fault was the room was really hot not sure why but had no air con and window was useless, other that that lovely hotel and stay!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Miller2255,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback regarding your recent visit to Park Plaza Riverbank. You are indeed correct we are in a good location to visit the London Eye and nearby attractions. We are happy to read that you found the service of our Concierge team very helpful during your stay. I have noted your feedback regarding the room being to hot and would like to apologise for this discomfort However, I am pleased that this did not hamper your visit. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Samantha Greenaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Park Plaza Riverbank hotel a number of times over the last year and I'm sad to say that I was disappointed by my recent stay.

Bad:
1) Had to wait an hour for the room to be ready.
Arrive early at 1:50pm (10 minutes before check-in) and was informed that I had to wait till 2pm in order to get my room key. I found this very trivial, but nonetheless waited for 10 minutes in the hotel bar.
At 2pm waited in line patiently to collect my room key but was told that the room had not been cleaned and thus had to wait approximately 30 mins for my room. I was offered a free drink in the bar. I stressed that if they could send someone to fetch me when the room was ready and was reassured.
50 minutes later, with no one from reception insight I went up again to reception to see if my room was ready. It still wasn't and was told to wait another 10 minutes. The staff were apologetic but made no attempt to rectify the situation or offer me compensation for the wait.

2) The rooms, esp the suites, are outdated and have signs of damage everywhere (marks on the floor, scratches etc). They definitely need to be updated and are not up to the standard of a 4* hotel.

3) As mentioned by several others the air conditioning doesnt work.

Good

1) Polite and friendly staff
2) Location is perfect for people here on business as away from the mass of tourists
3) Cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 741 has great views of Parliament and Big Ben, but is right next to the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Liam1992,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

I would like to apologise for the shortfall in service that you have encountered during your recent stay.

I have passed your feedback on to the relevant departments to improve on these areas.

Should your travels bring you back to the area please can you contact me directly so that I can ensure your next visit is enjoyable and we can make it right for you this time around.

Thank you for the great feedback you left regarding our team I will be sure to share this with them.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to show you the true Park Plaza Riverbank hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Samantha Greenaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

we were really pleased with the friendly atmosphere and excellent service and attention from the staff. Overall the staffing levels were more than adequate and the approach was way above the empty "have a nice day" style of most chain hotels. The restaurant is exceptional with original and wonderfully prepared food.
There is a lot building work and you have to pay extra to avoid it. We were there at the weekend. Noise stopped at 19.00 on the Friday night and started again at 08.00 on Saturday. It stopped lunchtime on Saturday and we did not hear any more until we left on Sunday. A simple note in the rooms affected would be helpful to let customers know the timings. Rooms at the front will be quieter but more expensive.
We were staying as part of a weekend package arranged with another company. We had breakfast included and were a little surprised that guests with this arrangement were sent downstairs to a different eating space which felt a bit like a canteen. The food and service were absolutely fine, but it did make us feel a little like second class customers.
Overall though we would return and the staff are to be commended on the friendly and helpful atmosphere throughout the hotel.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Traveller225,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We were happy to read that you have experienced the individual service that we aim to offer all of our guests.

You are correct about the building work nearby; what can we say London is evolving at a very fast paste and it is rather unfortunate that some of this work has inconvenienced your stay.

We have taken the feedback you have left on board and continue to work very closely with the site to ensure that there is minimal disruption to our guests stay.

I have also noted your feedback regarding the breakfast room and would like to inform you that we are indeed looking into changing the location.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and should your travels bring you back to the area please feel free to contact me and I can arrange an upgrade to one of our front facing rooms.

I wish you a pleasant day.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

High quality hotel on nice location at the river Thames. A bit far from Underground stations and a limited number of restaurants close to the hotel. Currently there is a lot of construction work ongoing, but there was no noise during the night. Works well for a short stay if visiting any of the offices nearby or if willing to spend time walking around.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear TravelingHannu,

Thank you for the lovely feedback regarding your recent stay.

You are correct the hotel is in a nice location to enjoy the river Thames.

We really wished that you had visited the concierge during your stay we do have restaurants in close proximity to the hotel however, I guess it gives you a reason to come back and visit us again soon:)

Once again thank your for your feedback and hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Samantha Greenaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed recently the hotel is in a good location and central this is my second stay at this hotel. Booked a double room through a agency when we checked in which was very smooth and the staff friendly we were allocated a room. When we reached our room we then discovered it was a twin room not the double booked but we were quickly moved rooms an upgraded to a executive room the staff on reception were super helpful. The 2nd room was lovely and spacious and a great standard. The hotel was clean and tidy and staff friendly through out overall a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Skimpyjane,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I would like to apologise that you were given a twin room instead of a double room on arrival. I am pleased to read that that this was quickly rectified to your satisfaction.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our Reception team our staff and the cleanliness of our property. I will be sure to share your feedback with the teams.

I wish you all the best and hope you that you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Samantha Greenaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I visited the Park Plaza Riverbank for a weekend break with my daughter. The staff were very friendly and very professional . We were upgraded to suite on the 7 th floor that had fabulous views down the River to Westminster. We ate in the Chino Latino restaurant and had the most fantastic meal the chef should be commended and I would recommend the Black Cod. Gabriel our waiter was attentive and had a good knowledge of the menu which helped us choose from a wide selection and his South American heritage added authenticity to the evening. I can also highly recommend the cocktails served in the bar. Location of the hotel is ideal with Vauxhall tube station a short walk and a lovely walk along the south bank to the London Eye on the doorstep. A very enjoyable weekend thank you.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large ,sunny and have great views towards Westminster and the Houses of Parliment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGreenaway, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Julietkilo,

Wow! Thank you for giving us a five star rating :) It is always great when our efforts to provide excellent service is recognised by our guests. The team will be delighted to read your feedback.
I totally agree with you about the Black Cod it I simply delicious. The next time you visit us; hopefully soon you should try the Lobster its very tasty. I will pass on your feedback to Gabriel he will be delighted to receive your feedback. We are happy that you had a great weekend. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your return so we can spoil you a bit more :)

Have a pleasant day.

Kind Regards,

Samantha Greenaway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in London
#236 Romantic Hotel in London
#240 Business Hotel in London
#264 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.