We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #323 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I liked the hotel except the construction beside it. Near by Vauxhall station (underground, rail & bus), mini shop & you can walk to London eye, London Bridge, Big Ben & etc but not so near. But I was not given good view room and king bed as requested when i did earlier booking. I think their gave to walk-in guess & those who came for a function held in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    873
    315
    140
    60
See reviews for
305
881
125
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Minimalist hotel with minimal amenities. We had a large two room suite. Not much furniture in the rooms and small bed. Overall the stay was a disaster. While others complained that hotel rooms were very hot, management must have gotten the message and decided to turn off the heat altogether. It was a very cold weekend and there was absolutely no heat at all. After complaining and being told that there is problem with the heating, staff volunteered to bring us space heaters. Little consolation. Could have been a little more apologetic.

Location leaves a lot to be desired- on the South Bank across Lambeth Bridge. A building site next door with construction beginning at 7am.

Never again.

Room Tip: Are there any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham, Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very welcoming hotel with a relaxing and classy atmosphere particularly around Christmas time. It feels like a treat. The rooms are a good size and cleverly decorated to so that if the view is not particularly great you would never now. I attended a Christmas party at this hotel aswell and it was lovely, nice setting, food was good and staff were all lovely.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne M, Executive Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Sarah S
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a fantastic time at your Christmas Party!
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you to Park Plaza Riverbank again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should there be anything I can assist with.
Kindest Regards
Marianne Mc Grath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This may be a fve star hotel, but no hotel this swanky and expensive should have rooms like ours. We were told there was no river view. Disappointing, but that's life. But the room we got looked out onto the center of the building. Not a courtyard, just all windows, roofed over at the top. So there was no view of the outside world at all! Spotlights came on at some point in the night to simulate daylight. It was depressing. The room itself was fine, but I could not get past this. We had no idea if it was pouring or brilliant sunshine until we got to the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne M, Executive Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Eve S

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your room. We will take your feedback on board, and try to find a way to improve the internal view. I do hope that the rest of your experience was positive, and that you enjoyed your stay in London. I would welcome any further feedback that you may have, and can be contacted directly at mmcgrath@pphe.com.

Kind Regards

Marianne Mc Grath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Another great stay, clean comfortable room, great elemis toiletries. Warm welcome at reception and room service food was delicious and piping hot. Service was excellent from front desk to room. The only issue is the railway line behind into waterloo and the building works adjacent. Still very handy for sights and central London.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne M, Executive Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear northernkate
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your stay. It is wonderful to read that you had such a good stay with us, thank you for your lovely comments.
In relation to the adjacent building works, we work very closely with the contractors to ensure minimal disruption for our guests, and I do hope that you were not badly affected by the works.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. If there is anything you need prior to making a reservation, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Kindest Regards
Marianne Mc Grath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfect weekend stay - great for couples and the restaurant is great! The views from the room were perfect and the bathroom is a perfect size and very clean. Would defiantly stay again in the near future and they allowed us to keep our bags there late into the evening though we checked out at 12

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne M, Executive Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Tom J
Thank you for your lovely feedback following your stay with us, I am delighted you had a good stay. I hope to welcome you back to Park Plaza Riverbank very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you require any assistance with reservations.
Kindest Regards
Marianne Mc Grath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you like the sound of trains passing every 30 seconds as you drift off to sleep - this place is for you. Don't get me wrong, its not a complete racket, it didn't really stop us from sleeping, but I can understate how close it is. The room was looking tired, the carpet certainly was! The service was good and the breakfasts were OK. Avoid the cocktails, not the best. A nice location on the river though. And the views from our room were GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne M, Executive Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear DanHes
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Thank you for your positive comments about our location, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the view! I am however very sorry to read that you were disturbed by the trainline.
We are currently in a process of improvement works and will be replacing carpets and furnishings throughout the hotel, so I do hope that you visit again, and see the improvements that we are making to the hotel. Also in relation to the cocktails, I will certainly pass this feedback to the Bar Manager, thank you for your comments.
Should you wish to stay with us again, which I do hope that you do, please contact me directly and I will personally look after your reservation, and ensure that you are allocated a room away from the trainline so as to enjoy a peaceful stay.
Kindest Regards
Marianne Mc Grath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#237 Romantic Hotel in London
#275 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.