We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #324 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Hartford CT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at the Park Plaza Riverbank in April for 1st visit to London. Definitely choose upgraded Riverview room - worth every penny. The staff was amazing, every request was taken care of efficiently and with a smile. They even emptied out the honor bar so we could use it for drinks we purchased. I did find the walk to Vauxhill tube a little much since we were making it a few times a day so if you are not an experienced walker forget it. We took a taxi to the tube the last day since we had our luggage and the driver could not have been ruder - they don't want those quick fares I guess (no tip for him!) It was however a very easy walk across the bridge and you were right in the Westminster area so that was nice. The hotel was also a little too modern for my taste. We had the misfortune of leaving behind our cell phone in our room when we checked out. The hotel was very accommodating in getting it back to us. I am grateful for the honest staff member who retrieved it. However, for what I paid for the room, I felt it was a bit extreme to charge me 8 pounds to send it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recommendation.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the upgraded Executive Riverview room - the views over London and the Thames are indeed amazing.

Again, your feedback is much appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    876
    316
    142
    60
See reviews for
306
887
125
544
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is located on the South Bank of the Thames, across from Westminster, and a several minute walk from the Vauxhall tube station. There are also several bus lines running though stops adjacent to the hotel.
The area is quiet, but a bit far from the action of the city center, and there’s little to do or visit close to the hotel. The room was spacious, and the bathroom featured both a shower and a bath – a rare combination. The room had power outlets matching European and American plugs, a very useful feature for travelers. The reading lamps were poorly designed – these were two spotlights, shining from the top of the headboard, directly into my eyes, instead of lighting the book. This is very silly design, and could be easily rectified by the addition of proper reading lamps, on the nightstands.
The included Wi-Fi was very slow – capped at 256 kbps.
Overall, we had a nice stay, and the less-than-ideal location was offset by the cost savings compared to more central hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the effort to publish your review.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay here at Park Plaza Riverbank.

Please rest assured that all your constructive comments will be heard.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was my second business stay at the Riverbank. Very polite and helpful staff. Always ready with a 'hello.' Great business centre and free internet! Bedrooms very comfortable. Bathroom very nice with separate bath and shower and nice amenities. Great location - less than ten minute walk to Vauxhall Underground Station one way and Westminster Bridge the other. Right on the embankment for walks. Had room service one evening. Very good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your effort to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor, thank you. I should hope to see you back at Park Plaza Riverbank soon!

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, Somerset
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I use PP hotels in London when I can as they are universally well laid out, modern and comfortable. The rooms are nicely fitted out(with all the extras needed, bath robes/flip flops,iron, board, hairdryer etc) and the bathrooms very comfortable and efficient, with both a good bath and a very nice shower. Wi-fi a little weak (we were on the top floor though) and the breakfast was the normal disappointing city 'buffet style' fare.

The reception staff at check in (Diana - trainee(?)) and check out (Laura) were that unusual combination of delightful, welcoming,and efficient; both deserve a very well done!

Hotel location is OK, with good public transport links, and it really isn't too far to walk into the Waterloo area if you want to. The Sunday morning stroll to the South Bank was pleasant and not over taxing.

Overall, a very nice hotel in a very good location. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending us online.

It was with great pleasure that I read your review, please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the team here at Park Plaza Riverbank.

I look forward to seeing you back some time in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Within walking distance of anything you want to see in London. Bus stop right outside the door and Vauxhall station right up the street. Rooms are very clean, the staff is helpful and room service is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Lesa,

Thank you for such a great recommendation and I hope you will choose to stay at Park Plaza Riverbank next time you are in the area!

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of May and had a good experience. Booked through an opaque booking site, so I didn't pick this hotel. Having previously stayed at the Park Plaza Westminster, just down the river, I had high expectations. This Park Plaza while nice, is not as great as Park Plaza Westminster. It's still very clean and modern with decent sized rooms, but the location was not wonderful. The closest tube stations were Vauxhall or Westminster, which were both about a 10 minute walk, and our room overlooked rail lines and a construction site. Service was excellent, but next time I'll spring for something closer to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Jo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online.

I am glad that you had a good time here. Indeed, the nearest tube station is Vauxhall, located about 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel, and you will find most of the major London's attractions within commutable distance.

I hope you will choose to stay at one of our hotels on your next visit to London.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were welcomed by polite staff who all throught out our stay could not do enough for us.
Our room was clean & tidy will lovely decor.
We enjoyed some room service whilst here and found the food to be lovely.
We also requested something not on the menu and we were catered for!
Overall a lovely stay was had, we will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Shaza,

Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor.

I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at Park Plaza Riverbank, please rest assured that your good words will be passed on to the team.

I shall be looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#238 Romantic Hotel in London
#273 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.