We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Place to stay for Central London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #383 of 1,053 Hotels in London
aberdeen
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ideal Place to stay for Central London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A plush and modern style hotel of the Radisson Group, the hotel is right on Albert Embankment and a short walk from the South Bank, London Eye, Houses of Parliament. Easy to get around being close to Vauxhall Station and to taxis.but suggest you try for a deal as the place is a bit expensive. I prefer to do without breakfast and eat later and the hotel was well suited to this. Staff could not be more helpful and pleasant but with the dignity expected of a four star hotel. we had one meal there and the food was first class although drinks are a bit pricey but reflect a four star in central London. Reception was efficient with a delightful young lady who couldn't do enough for us. I am a little hard of hearing and did find the background music in the reception ,mad it hard to hear the young lady's very soft voice but otherwise a great stay.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a riverview room . We were off to one side and could see the river and thankf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear AberdeenBraveheart,

Thank you for your experienced review. It is a delight to read about your experience.

I trust we will be welcoming you back in the near future and we look forward to it!

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,099
    446
    188
    89
See reviews for
414
1,138
149
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved or stay here. Excellent location, we walked all around London and up to Covent gardens. The breakfast in the morning was lovely. Staff were very helpful behind the front desk. We were upgraded to a river view room. we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear jenna2407,

It is great to hear about your enjoyable stay with us and thank you for sharing it with other travelers.

We hope you will visit us again soon!

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Only stayed for one night as we had a wedding nearby. As a chain I rather like Park Plaza hotels and this experience served to confirm that opinion. Large, clean, modern rooms, helpful staff and good in-room facilities. We paid for breakfast at reception but at the restaurant found that it was a tad disorganised - we just walked in and served ourselves and it would have been easy to have avoided paying at all (however, it was a weekend and very busy). Food choice was varied and things like lovely Glamorgan sausages and having actual 'crispy' bacon (rather than that almost boiled looking stuff you often get) was appreciated.

Check in and check out were simple and quick and overall the hotel was good value for London. Had nearly booked a Park Plaza in a nearby location in London which cost more and I'm glad we didn't as this would have been wasted money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Dougdog,

We very much appreciate your kind words and we are delighted that you made us your preferred hotel.

We look forward to a very long relationship with you!

All the best,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here with work in March and it is a nice hotel. Average room, nice food, centrally located. Lovely view of the Thames. Nice hotel, helpful staff. Would stay here again. Not too far from Euston station in a cab. Great location for Westminster, London Bridge, Downing Street etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Lindsey_singleton,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel only for one night so a limited experience on this occasion. We had booked three rooms as part of a package with friends but one party had to drop out at short notice so only two rooms were occupied, one of which was ready on arrival at 12.00 noon so earlier than expected. Both were in the executive rooms area on the 11th floor. No river view, we were told by staff the hotel was full but would have cost an extra £50 each room to upgrade if they had any. The staff were very keen to point out on arrival there could be no refund as the other party was not turning up and three rooms were booked as a package. We knew that a refund was not possible but the impression given was that this seemed more important to them than greeting and making us welcome. Both rooms had views across London skyline but we had to contend with the Waterloo to Vauxhall trains running past every few minutes below the window, although noise subdued by double glazing if window shut. Our room was quite reasonable in terms of cleanliness and facilities as advertised and bed quite comfortable, although no morning paper offered. Breakfast was not included in the package so added that option at check-in for another £12.00 per head. Breakfast was not the best value for money, reception from staff on arrival in the restaurant was luke warm as was some of the food at 9am, so not a late breakfast for a Saturday morning and food was being re-stocked but not all kept as warm as it should be. Overall not a great stay and not likely to return in a hurry. A pity as the hotel is well located for London sight-seeing and seems good on the web site.

Room Tip: If you want a river view, ensure you request on booking, there may possibly be an extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear mandm78,

We are very disappointed that the welcome experience at Reception and during your Breakfast did not live up to your expectations. This is certainly not the kind of service we aim to provide and we will discuss your observations within the management. We thank you for sharing your feedback and we apologize for any possible inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcome you back and if you decide to do so, please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I will be happy to look after your booking.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013


We arrived to be welcomed by the doorman. ..check in was easy and very helpful. ..room was modern contemporary design and good space for central London. ..spotless with lovely big bathroom with separate shower and bath...only had breakfast which was good deal at £12 (book at check in otherwise its more expensive). What set this hotel apart is exceptional customer service. ..friendly easy not forced. ..just made us feel very welcome and special. ...will go back again. ...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Lindsey M,

It is a delight to learn that all our efforts to create a welcoming and warm experience are successful.

We very much appreciate your review and we will be looking forward to your next holiday with us.

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASINGSTOKE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stay quite regularly with Park plaza in London, they are well located hotels with great service, good facilities, amazing restaurants and all easy access from Waterloo.
The Riverbank is a short bus ride from outside Waterloo station and drops off right in front of the hotel, an even shorter taxi ride I guess if you're that way inclined.............I've grown to love London buses over the last 4-5 years though and seldome both with tubes or cabs if i have the time.
The hotel is well appointed on Albert Embankment and if you get a room with a Thames view, it is truely amazing looking out over the Thames towards the houses of parliament, especially lit up at night.
I also have another reason for staying here, just round the corner is a great pub called The Zeitgeist (at the Jolly Gardeners), it is a german bar with many German beers on draft and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay the small upgrade and get a front facing room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear guydunphy,

We are pleased to read about your great experience with us and we appreciate your time to post it online.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#215 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,650 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Novotel London Waterloo
#311 of 1,053 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
#274 Romantic Hotel in London
#287 Business Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.