We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but be carefull of bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #346 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kilmarnock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel but be carefull of bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great location,clean and basically a good hotel. Went to bar on first evening,was very disappointed to see on our receipt we had a "optional service charge" which was not optional as it was already taken off me. I only purchased a cola,so I got charged for waiter to take cap off. After looking around everybody sitting on the settees was getting bar snacks,where as, we were sat at bar and did not receive anything. Was kind of let down by this.

Room Tip: Try ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please rest assured that your comments will be passed on to the bar manager.

We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will choose to stay at Park Plaza Riverbank again some time soon.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    995
    387
    165
    69
See reviews for
353
1,027
142
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

went sight seeing with my son in London good place to stay but breakfast was £17 a head felt this was to expensive for us so eat else ware, was very up set with view we stayed on the 9th floor but could not see the ground or the sky as we over looked other windows

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mary N

Thank you for your review online.

I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations in regards to the view from your room. We have different room categories in the Hotel and unfortunately not all of them have the same views. For a future visit please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival and we will be glad to offer you a room with one of our fantastic views over the River Thames and Big Ben.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascocita, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms are relatively spacious and quite clean. Staff is friendly and efficient. Stayed in February and despite the fact that is was very cold outside, the room was warm enough that I resorted to opening a window to lower the inside temperature. Fortunately I was not on the side of the hotel near the train tracks. There are some rooms that have a breathtaking view of the river and Parliament but be prepared to pay an upgrade. Food at the Chino Latino Lounge was aweful...try the local restaurants near the hotel. Internet WI-FI was slow and connection dropped frequently. Notified management and got no help.

Room Tip: Ask if your room faces the river or is located over the train track. It can get very loud if the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Charles N,

Please accept our apologies for the shortfalls described in your review. We appreciate your feedback and would be grateful should you could send me a personal email with further details of your stay. That way I will be able to look into areas that might require attention and avoid experiences like yours.

Nevertheless, I was very happy to read that you had a nice stay overall and you enjoyed the views.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Dont be taken in by the photos, our three rooms overlooked train tracks. The rooms themselves were modern and clean. Tube stations could have been closer but would stay again. The breakfast was over subscribed so got sent somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear jakerushy,

It is our pleasure to read the title of your review and we very much appreciate the time taken to post it.

We are also glad to read you will be returning and we hope will be in the near future!

Best regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for one night, and although the bar and restaurant were very pleasant, the hotel room itself was ridiculously hot, so much so that it was difficult to sleep.
The room stat was turned down to 10c but it still kept on heating.
Strangely our friends had the opposite problem and had to be moved at 2am as their room was so cold!
Very strange! Think the hotel needs to get their air con people in to have a look!!
The breakfast was very reasonable although it was taken in a basement room rather than the more pleasant main restaurant.
Although the hotel is slightly out of the way, taxis are always available outside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear martin1England

We are very sorry to read about the shortfalls experience upon the room temperature. We do appreciate your feedback and our Engineering team has been advised of this issues for review and action.

In the hope we can welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance so that I may ensure a wonderful stay.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel for my daughters birthday , the service was excellent , the rooms were spotless and we were very satisfied. when we discovered the heating was not working in our room, we were upgraded to a suite very quickly .And the sausages for breakfast were a treat on their own , delicious.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

It was with great pleasure that I read how much you enjoyed your stay on this special occasion.

I appreciate all the good words and I shall look forward to welcoming you back at Park Plaza Riverbank in the future!

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Park Plaza Riverbank on February 2 and 3, 2012. My husband had a business meeting that week and we decided to take a brief London break beforehand.

We were lodged in the suites part of the building (not their most expensive type of room, though), and maybe this is where the difference lies. Other reviewers seem had a less stellar experience but for us, it was outstanding. Everything was sensational: the bed was super comfy, the bathroom was new, very modern & clean, great toiletries!
We had a sitting area with an ample assortment of TV channels and he was able to watch the Super Bowl which was being directly shown by the BBC!

Their staff was very helpful and kind: they even came in on 2/2 at around 6 PM (when we returned from our sightseeing) to make our bed and clean up the room because we forgot to turn the door light (from red to green) to let them know the room could be entered for housekeeping!Compare THAT to our experience at the Milan hotel! Concierge was knowledgeable and always available for tips on dining and places to go. Definitely a "go back to" place for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#248 Business Hotel in London
#254 Romantic Hotel in London
#262 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.