We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, quieter than the other two Park Plaza's but a little bit out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #298 of 1,063 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, quieter than the other two Park Plaza's but a little bit out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked a room via Lastminute and got a really good rate for an Executive Room.

The room was more than we expected with lovely bathroom, plenty of wardrobe space, very comfy bed, flat screen TV and a lot of space generally.

We've stayed at both of the other Park Plaza's (which are about 20 mins walk away), and prefer this hotel although you are therefore 20 mins further away from the London Eye for example.

Breakfast was busy but supplied a good selection of food all served in a basement room with no windows which is kind of strange; mostly English breakfast choices but a wide selection of pastries also.

Our room was sideways on to the river so we could just about see the Thames but there are riverfront rooms if you want them.

Reception staff were excellent: very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and offered an efficient check out service.

We would recommend this hotel but be aware you are a little way out of central London and it will involve either walking or tube travel to get to the centre. Not a big deal but it's not very near to the tube.

We really enjoyed our stay and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Timgin,

It’s great to read about your pleasant experience and we thank you for taking the time to share it. We are also glad to read you have made us yoru preferred hotel in the area and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    827
    295
    123
    55
See reviews for
285
833
119
497
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed on the 9th floor with a direct view of Vauxhall Station. Great if you are a train buff not so good if you want a long night of undisturbed sleep. Personally, I love transport so it didn't bother me but beware they run till 11:30 and start again at 5. So if they give you 905 or 903 unless like me you don't mind looking at 6 lanes of the London Transport Network, ask for a front facing room of the Houses of Parliament. What was not good was the thickness of the walls. Ok, Hotel can't do much about it now, but I heard chapter and verse of a couples discussion and they weren't shouting. But it needs soundproofing - all of a sudden the trains didn't seem that bad. Bathroom was nice with a separate shower. Room is quite well appointed and quite chic. Gym is functional but acceptable. Breakfast likewise and Staff are pleasant. Without the noise it would be 4 rated or even maybe a 5 but if you can't sleep what's the point of staying at a hotel?

Room Tip: Ask for a River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear spongesdad,

Thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry to read about the noise coming into your room and we apologize for any possible disturbance. Rest assured we have put a lot of effort in preventing this with different noise isolations and I will pass this on to our Engineering team to ensure the measures are in place.

It was great however to read you enjoyed the rest of the facilities and we hope you will be back soon.

Kind regards
Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Hotel is nice and clean and has a modern air about it, certainly in the public areas, our room (which was a disabled room) was adequate for the time we spent in it, although overlooked the rail tracks the double glazing kept the noise out.
The bathroom featured a walk in shower which shed water everywhere, so had to use towels all over the floor to mop up, it was apparent that, had we been disabled that the two hooks provided for the towels while showering would be beyond our reach, which would seem a poor design.
The room was booked as a superior deluxe and as this is down as a four star hotel, i wouldnt have classed it as a superior deluxe..

It is in a good location, near to westminster and the city

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write about your experience.

I do understand your concerns and I apologize for any inconvenience caused. In order to clarify the details of the booking I would appreciate should you send me an email to the address listed below. This way I will be happy to look into the case personally and resolve any possible miscommunication during the reservation process.

This notwithstanding I was glad to learn you had a pleasant stay overall and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Back in August I wrote a less than complimentary review of this hotel and vowed never to return. I was contacted by Mario Garcia-Vao, Guest relations manager, who apologised and wanted to hear my concerns and put right a stay that I should have enjoyed in the first place. We decided to give the hotel another go, it was also my wife's birthday celebration and so see what if anything had been done at the hotel. It seems the staff had changed, no sign of the dreadful reception manager from our first visit with a couple of trainees on reception, both very courteous and professional. The concierge staff were friendly and helpful. Our executive room was on the 10th floor, far away from the trains, overlooking the river, Houses of Parliament and Big Ben, a lovely view. Balloons, a card and a bottle of wine awaited us in the room for my wife, wishing her a Happy Birthday. We were returning guests and they did make an effort for us, but also we noticed a complete change in the attitude of the staff compared to our first visit, and I have to give credit to Mario as most managers reading negative reviews will simply ignore them but that he responded and wanted to put right which is a credit to his profession and to the Park Plaza brand. There were a couple of hiccups but nothing worth mentioning and no where near the scale as before but we did have a lovely stay and will now consider future stays at the Riverbank - our faith so far has been restored.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better particularly facing the river side. Rooms ending 47, 45, 43, 41, 39 will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed just the one night, B&B in this Park Plaza. Had good expectations as my colleagues had stayed there regularly & recommended it.

The room had a thermostat that did nothing, seemingly keeping the room at about 25+ degrees. This led to one of the worst night's sleep I've had. Went down to breakfast, given a table but not offered a hot drink by the waiting staff.

Also found that the lifts are ethier insufficient for a hotel of this size, or just badly setup. Waited minutes for lifts in the morning.

Mentioned all of this upon check out, front of house didn't know what to make of poor feedback so simply said sorry & sent me on my way.

There are better hotels in the area for roughly the same amount of money, I'd recommend finding one of them!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the valued feedback contained in it.

I read your comments with concern and I can assure you that the described is out of the standards we pride ourselves for. I do apologize for the shortfalls experience and I would greatly appreciate should you provide me with further details of your booking on the email address below. This will enable me to investigate and react upon these issues, ensuring they are looked into by the different head of departments.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a good quality hotel.

There is a small gym which is more for aerobic exercise as the weights are limited and tends to get busy around 6ish.

I stayed for 2 nights during which I ate in the hotel and the food was of a very good standard.

I had breakfast included in my room price and was seated in the basement breakfast area....the breakfast selection was a little lacking but was ok.

I understand that there are some executive suites on the top floors which I would imagine are very nice as I had a standard room which was very comfy, clean and had everything i needed (plenty of towels, iron, kettle etc...). I had also asked for a quiet room which I was provided with and so had a good nights sleep.

The views from the hotel were amazing and the staff were very attentive although they werent as friendly as staff at other hotels ive stayed in (which makes a big difference when working away from home)

Overall a good quality hotel with good access to London via the tube (or even by foot on a nice day). I will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that I read you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your positive feedback.

In regards to your comments we indeed have different room types and I would suggest you opt for one of our rooms with River view, offering you a different and enhanced experience.

We hope we can welcome you back any time soon.

Sincerely,
Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel after staying in London last year, last year we stayed in the one up the road from this one, Park Plaza Westminster. Personally we both found that the Westminster hotel was much plusher than what this one seemed to look like online, as we looked at pictures before we booked. Also other things disappointed us, such as having no kettle in our room, it's pety i know, but we had one in the room we had in Westminster, it was just nice to have one. The room was also not as nice, we chose the same type of room to be sure it was the same experience as last time, but the decoration wasn't as nice as what we had at Westminster unfortunately.

Sadly another bad point about this hotel was the thin walls. I was surprised at how thin they were to be honest, and it just so happened that we had incredibly selfish neighbors next door to us. We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and for the first 2 they were also there, i know it's not the hotel's fault but the couple that were next door was really rowdy, they played music at all hours, waking me and my boyfriend up several times at around 4am (both mornings), this was either because they were arguing, dancing & drinking, smoking ( i smelt smoke through the vents) or.. "getting close" to each other, or all of the above. One way to avoid being bothered by the last one would be to avoid having the huge headboards on the wall in the same place the room next door has theirs, we were able to feel every time they moved on their bed, annoying is not even the word for that. But again, the way these people acted weren't Park Plaza's fault, it was just a shame, it spoilt it for us really.

But anyway the hotel was great other than this, the breakfast variety was great! We didn't chose a bed and breakfast option last year but we're glad we did this time because there was such a range and it was all really nice, fresh and it was frequently being replaced, nice and fresh is always a good thing to see! The staff at reception were always friendly, the staff in the restaurants could have been more polite but they weren't massively rude. The staff in the bars were also nice too. The snacks they serve with the cocktails though! So spicy!!! Haha.

All in all, we had a really good time, the neighbors spoilt it for us, but that's just unlucky for us really! I feel sorry for everyone else who was on our floor too because we heard commotion from others at the early hours of the morning asking them to be quiet, but oh well! Thank god for ear plugs!!

I recommend this hotel, but personally i'd probably stay at the Westminster one if i was to go again and stick with their branch of hotels, mainly because it's more conveniently closer the things me and my boyfriend need when we're there.

Hope this helps anyone looking into going to this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your review online.

Firstly apologize for the possible disturbance caused by the noise coming from the room next door. As you commented some issues are out of the hotel hands however we encourage our guests to report any misbehavior so that we may act upon and ensure the comfort of our customers.

This issue aside I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall including the breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Romantic Hotel in London
#228 Business Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.