We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #323 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Hotel with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Parc Plaza. We had a beautiful view of parliment. The room was clean and modern and the staff was outstanding. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. London is an amazing place and this hotel made it even better.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a river view to obtain ther full experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review after your recent visit and your kind recommendations.

We read with absolute pleasure about your superb experience and we look forward to welcoming you any time soon.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    876
    316
    142
    60
See reviews for
306
887
125
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was staying here for an event so got a cheap rate, and looking at the reviews I was quite looking forward to staying here. And at first sight it does look good, with a quality welcome and service at reception.

It went downhill from there. I arrived as it was snowing outside, the room was freezing cold and to cap it all, the aircon didn't work. It was fixed quickly enough but by then I had to change in ten minutes so not a good start.

The room size is good, and bathroom very good sized, but then the fittings are a conquest of style over substance, the carpets are thin and the bed was easily the most uncomfortable I have had the pleasure of trying to sleep on in many years. Added to that the (by then working) aircon was emulating the noise of a roadsweeper it made for a very poor sleep. While I'm moaning, the reading lights in the bad room were really badly positioned, so you had bright lights right into your eyes, or no lights at all......

I'd read some comments about breakfast, well I got a table without waiting, but only just, and the food was mediocre to be honest.

If I'd paid the full rack rate I'd have asked for a refund and gone to a Premier Inn or the like. So all round disappointing and I'd only go back if I really really had to - and that's rarely the case in London where there are far better hotels for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciated the time you have taken to raise your concerns and bring them to our attention via Tripadvisor.

The described is certainly not in line with the high standards we aim to provide and we sincerely apologize for any possible inconvenicne. I was glad however to read that our staff was welcoming and the issue with the A/C was fixed in a timely manner.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to meet and maybe exceed your expectations.

With kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have, since my first review of this hotel, re-visited many times and are still finding the hotel excellent. We always take advantage of the Club Carlson option to upgrade, if available, at a much lower rate. So far, so good. The rooms we have had on recent visits have had refurbishment and are always immaculate. The beds are very comfortable with robes and slippers provided. Very nice amenities in the bathroom. The staff are always friendly and helpful and when we had a problem with a dvd player on our last visit the engineer was there within 5 minutes. We will most certainly re-visit.

Room Tip: River view rooms on a higher floor give a breathtaking view. The Club Carlson scheme worth joining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Kirsty,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is with great pleasure that I read your comments - it's good to hear that you find our service satisfactory on each and every visit.

We should only hope to see you more often!

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything is bad. The room was stinky. The shower was dirty. The air conditioner was extremely noisy. Very slow wifi. Not comfortable bed. Bad bad bad. I was in 3 star hotels in Ukraine which were better than this place. Will never come back again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is with great concern that I read that you did not experience the standards we aim to provide and I would like to put remedy to these matters. Should you have a minute I would appreciate if you could send me a personal email with some further details of your visit. This would greatly increase my ability to review and act upon areas that might require attention.

Regardless of your response I wanted to ensure that you felt your comments are heard and we take the feedback from our guests as a valuable tool to constantly improve our service and product.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Room: good size, well decorated and clean
Bathroom: massive with a shower stall and separate bath tub.
Soundproofing: good, no issues despite my room being quite close to main road, no noise from corridor or other rooms.
Check in/out: good
Service in bar: bit slow
Breakfast: food was excellent, good selection and very fresh. However there are not enough tables and they do not clear them very quickly so there was large queue (20+ people) waiting for tables.
Location: 10 mins walk from Vauxhall tube and 30 to Covent Garden (nice walk along river).

Would return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here at Park Plaza Riverbank London with other travelers online.

We are glad to learn that you found our facilities and service to your satisfaction overall. I was however concerned to read about your breakfast experience and I have personally transmitted these comments to our Food and Beverage Management for review and action.

We appreciate the feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corringham, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Book this hotel as a "Top Secret Hotel" deal on Lastminute.com and managed to obtain a really good deal.
Hotel is ideally suited on the South bank - 10 mins walk from Vauxhall station and about 15-20 mins from the London Eye.
Hotel is very modern - room was lovely with a great bathroom (separate shower and bath) and high quality fittings. Staff were very friendly on check-in and offered us our room early as it was ready.
We didn't eat in the restaurant - thought £17.50 for breakfast was too expensive but there are places to eat about 10 mins away and a little grocery store literally 50 yards from the hotel - so there is choice.
Despite being in central London, the area is very quiet so no problem. The only issue that we had was that our room was next to the lift so we could constantly hear the lifts. Although not loud - and this didn't disrupt us - a point to bear in mind if you are sensitive to noise.
Apart from that would thoroughly recommend the hotel for a break but look around for deals

Room Tip: Don't opt for 522 as this is next to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your online review after your recent visit to Park Plaza Riverbank London.

We were glad to read you found the hotel and our services up to the high standards we aim to provide and the location was convenient and suitable for your needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you back any time soon.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my husband for our annual weekend without the kids (fantastic) It is a lovely hotel however more suitable for business than romance. The initial room we were offered was far too small and so we upgraded and although the room was excellent and the cleanliness is impreccable, we were not given a river view for our extra £20 per night, but a full view of the Vauxhall railway line which is not very nice a little noisey. We ordered room service on a couple of occassions and this was very good value for money and the service was excellent. Breakfast was ok, your typical hotel buffet breakfast though the scrambled eggs were stone cold along with the baked beans although there was a large selection to choose from including all the pasteries on offer. We had a lovely weekend in a good, clean hotel with excellen service, however feel that the rooms are overpriced when compared to previous hotels we have stayed in whilst in London.

Room Tip: unless you are a trainspotter, or enjoy listening to trains go past your room during the night, as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback following your stay with us.

It is with pleasure that I read you enjoyed your stay overall however I was terribly sorry to learn that we could not meet your expectations in some areas. We generally pride ourselves for not only delivering pleasant service during weekdays for our corporate clientele, but also for enhancing the special occasions of our visitors during the weekends.

I trust you will give us a future opportunity to meet and hopefully exceed your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on the address listed below should you decide to do so and we will ensure you do have a delightful stay.

With kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
#225 Business Hotel in London
#238 Romantic Hotel in London
#273 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.