We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #281 of 1,073 hotels in London
Corringham, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Book this hotel as a "Top Secret Hotel" deal on Lastminute.com and managed to obtain a really good deal.
Hotel is ideally suited on the South bank - 10 mins walk from Vauxhall station and about 15-20 mins from the London Eye.
Hotel is very modern - room was lovely with a great bathroom (separate shower and bath) and high quality fittings. Staff were very friendly on check-in and offered us our room early as it was ready.
We didn't eat in the restaurant - thought £17.50 for breakfast was too expensive but there are places to eat about 10 mins away and a little grocery store literally 50 yards from the hotel - so there is choice.
Despite being in central London, the area is very quiet so no problem. The only issue that we had was that our room was next to the lift so we could constantly hear the lifts. Although not loud - and this didn't disrupt us - a point to bear in mind if you are sensitive to noise.
Apart from that would thoroughly recommend the hotel for a break but look around for deals

Room Tip: Don't opt for 522 as this is next to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your online review after your recent visit to Park Plaza Riverbank London.

We were glad to read you found the hotel and our services up to the high standards we aim to provide and the location was convenient and suitable for your needs.

Looking forward to welcoming you back any time soon.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    794
    758
    277
    110
    45
See reviews for
245
753
114
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my husband for our annual weekend without the kids (fantastic) It is a lovely hotel however more suitable for business than romance. The initial room we were offered was far too small and so we upgraded and although the room was excellent and the cleanliness is impreccable, we were not given a river view for our extra £20 per night, but a full view of the Vauxhall railway line which is not very nice a little noisey. We ordered room service on a couple of occassions and this was very good value for money and the service was excellent. Breakfast was ok, your typical hotel buffet breakfast though the scrambled eggs were stone cold along with the baked beans although there was a large selection to choose from including all the pasteries on offer. We had a lovely weekend in a good, clean hotel with excellen service, however feel that the rooms are overpriced when compared to previous hotels we have stayed in whilst in London.

Room Tip: unless you are a trainspotter, or enjoy listening to trains go past your room during the night, as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback following your stay with us.

It is with pleasure that I read you enjoyed your stay overall however I was terribly sorry to learn that we could not meet your expectations in some areas. We generally pride ourselves for not only delivering pleasant service during weekdays for our corporate clientele, but also for enhancing the special occasions of our visitors during the weekends.

I trust you will give us a future opportunity to meet and hopefully exceed your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on the address listed below should you decide to do so and we will ensure you do have a delightful stay.

With kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My fiancé has taken me here twice now in one year, we had an amazing view in an amazing clean modern room, bathroom top notch, shower cubical and separate double ended bath black granite design (sexy) 1 whole wall in the bedroom is a window with spectacular views showing sites like Big Ben London eye Houses of Parliament river Thames. So beautifully lit at night we left the curtains open to sleep! Staff will see to your every need eg. I had an allergic reaction the first time we stayed to the feather pillows so this time they happily within minutes of asking brought me anti allergy pillows. Bed is very comfy shower is very powerful. We had 2 very romantic nights here. The bar in the lobby is lovely. Pricey though... £25 for a cocktail and southern comfort and coke. We chose to go out of the hotel for meals as its the big city and we are from a small village in kent so we took full advantage of getting a classical black cab over the bridge to see some restaurants and sites. Couldn't fault it. AMAZING !!! :D

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read about your great experience with us here at Park Plaza Riverbank London and we very much appreciate your time to share it with others online.

It is also a pleasure to learn that we met every need and we look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked the Park Plaza riverbank for the weekend following our silver wedding anniversary, in an executive river-view room. I let staff know it was a special occassion when I booked and asked for a really nice view. On checking in the staff were really pleasant, and everything went smoothly. We arrived in our room on the seventh floor to be greeted of the most fantastic view of the houses of parliament across the river and the london eye just opposite it, a really lovely view as requested. Not only this but there was a bunch of balloons on the bed and a bottle of wine along with cards congratulating us on our anniversary. The hotel went out of the way to make us feel special. The room itself was lovely, very spacious and well appointed. The bathroom had both a bath and a seperate shower, with a range of toiletries and robes and slippers. There were just 2 minor problems with the room. 1) the TV had a small problem and the sound kept going - but we didn't spend much time watching TV and 2) there was no extractor in the bathroom - or if it was then it was broken (room 745 if the hotel management read this review)
On our first night we ordered room service, and thoroughly enjoyed a lovely meal, cooked well. Our stay included breakfast, and there was plenty to choose from. We made sure we stocked up for the day ahead! The only downsides were that things like the beans were slightly cold, but I always find that to be the case at buffet breakfasts. Apart from the cooked breakfast buffet, there was a selection of cold meats and fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices, cereals, porridge, toast and pastries on offer. It was quite hectic on Sunday morning. with long queues and the staff looking very harassed, however as most people seemed to be in big groups, being only 2 of us we had a table really quickly.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay in a luxurious hotel with a fantastic view, and it didnt cost the earth. I would definately stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the extra for a river view room, the rooms at the back look out onto a majo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and the detailed feedback contained in it. We indeed revise every comment from our guests and use it as a valuable tool to constantly improve our services and product throughout.

In regards to your experience I was particularly glad to read that we managed to help making the most of an occasion and we very much appreciate your recommendations.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, latest next year for the next anniversary!

With kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here last week.

Room was much bigger thn similarly priced rooms in the area, and had a very high qulaity finish. Bed was comfy, and the room was bright. Didjn't have a river view room, so had the exceptional view of the main railway line into Vauxhall station.. It was a bit noisy if you wanted the window open, but not terrible.

Bathroom was a very high quality, with both a wetroom (with powerful shower) and a bath. All the little extras were good too.

Didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on that.

Overall, very good, and great for business meeting just across the river. Will be staying again..
cheers

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and the time to post them online.

We gladly read you enjoyed your time with us and you found the room and facilities up to your needs and in line with the high standards we strive for.

Also, we are happy to see you will be thinking of us in the future and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just back from a short break in London staying in the Park Plaza Riverbank! Would highly recommend this hotel it is in walking distance of the London Eye, Westminister, Big Ben. The staff were excellent got an early checkin and a courtesy late check out! Even got a room with a partial view of the Thames. Hotel room was spotless and clean and very comfortable couldn't fault anything..... If you fancy a trip to London check out this hotel I wouldn't stay anywhere else now that I'm found this one!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your positive feedback after your recent stay with us.

It is fantastic to learn that you very much enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your recommendations.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

With kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is very nice,very clean.Beautifull room and bathroom. High quality bed and linen.Perfect service.
We had a bigger room with a beautifull river view (which i would recommend)
Everything would be perfect except:
-the hotel has a bad "sound proofing":you can hear people loudly walking and talking above your room.(not what they say but voices)
-most of the tv channels are english( not many international)
-the walk to the underground is a bit seedy (especially on sunday morning)
-Breakfast room is a bit dull.

So if you don't care about TV (or if you're english),if you don't stay in your room except to sleep,if you only take cabs,and if you have a quick breakfast in the morning,this hotel will be absolutely perfect for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Pierre,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed one of our Executive Riverview rooms. Please note that we are now in process of upgrading our TV system, hence I hope you will enjoy a wider variety of channels upon your next visit!

Your feedback is much appreciated, I hope to see you again some time soon.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#238 Business Hotel in London
#249 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.