We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Riverbank London to your Saves list
Park Plaza Riverbank London
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #306 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Poor!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having travelled extensively both for personal and business never have we been ignored by the front of house/duty/reception manager than when we arrived at 12.30pm on Saturday 11th August having specifically asked to speak with her. All we wanted to speak to them about was a promotion (which they didn't honour) on their website which we had missed being also club carlson members! She walked past us several times and did something at the counter in front of us and never acknowledged us once, not a good advert for the hotel or their brand. The poor person who checked us in was the go between and who relayed back the message that 'nothing' will be done.

We haved stayed at the other Park Plaza Westminster just a few minutes up the road (nearer the London Eye) and decided we would give this hotel a try.....wished we hadn't! Not only the ignorance of already mentioned but the constant noise of the trains passing beneath and it seems the staff are trained to be miserable....and it's not exactly cheap to stay there either.

Not going to harp on anymore about this, the Park Plaza Westminster is a million times better and the front of house manager knows nothing about customer service!

Room Tip: Avoid the back rooms as the trains run beneath despite the double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns up to our attention. I read your comments with great concern and on behalf of the whole Park Plaza Riverbank team I sincerely apologize for any possible inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. The feedback from our guests is of paramount importance to us and is a great tool to constantly improve our product and service throughout.

At this stage I would be really grateful should you have the time to write me a personal email on the address below with further details of the situation. That would greatly help me to address and remedy this issue to ensure we provide the service standards we pride ourselves for at all times. Regardless of your response I wanted to make sure that you feel your comments were heard and we try our best to meet everyone’s expectations.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kindest regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    833
    297
    126
    56
See reviews for
291
839
121
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was the hotel of choice for the company I worked for and I stayed every Tuesday and Wednesday for 2 years. The hotel is frequented by TV's rich and famous so don't be surprised to see familiar faces at the bar. The rooms are spacious and modern and beds are comfortable. The hotel backs onto the train lines but the double glazing seems to keep out the noise. Ask for a room with a river view (you won't get one at the front of the hotel on the river as this is a differently branded hotel (Plaza on The River) but occassionally you may get a room with enough of a view of the river to see the Houses of Parliament. Great food in Chino Latino and a great location for the Southbank.

Room Tip: As for an outside room on the side of the hotel towards the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Your review is very much appreciated and we are glad to read that we have met your expectations during the last couple of years.

In addition to that, we were glad to read that you enjoy the rooms, the location and our Chino Latino Restaurant.

We thank you for your continued business and I trust we will be welcoming you back many times in the future.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Expensive but suppose ok for London.Really close to London eye,visible from hotel entrance.nice location.walking distance to vaux hall tube station and other sites in London.The junior suite had separate shower cubicle which is very handy if in rush,one can make use of shower and separate bath for second person.there are few cheap restaurant nearby for evening meals.kids loved the pizza and bill was reasonable.
Staff in the hotel was very nice and helpful.it was a very busy time yet good service.

Room Tip: Junior suites are really nice,spacious with separate tv.bathroom very clean and big for London .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback after your recent stay with us.

We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with your family and you found your room to your needs and our staff met the service standards we aim to provide.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent four nights at the Park Plaza Riverbank whilst visiting the Olympics in August. We really enjoyed a fantastic stay and, despite paying more for our room due to London 2012, we felt we still received excellent value. We were allocated a quiet room on the 7th floor which had a side view of the Thames and didn't get any noise from the railway line to the rear of the property.

Service - throughout our stay we felt that the service we received was excellent, and the staff made us feel welcome.

Atmosphere - the hotel has a modern feel to it's public areas. All fixtures and fittings were of high quality and nothing looked dated or overused. The hotel has a bar area behind the main reception but (unusally) we were not tempted in to sample the food & drink.

Value - We paid over £200 per room per night and felt this to be good value considering the prices that were being quoted by many equivalent properties during the Olympic Games. The rate was room only and we did not eat in the hotel.

Rooms - we were happy to receive a room on the 7th floor with a view of a modern apartment block and (partially) the River Thames. The bed, furniture and bathroom were all high quality and the little touches included the normal flatscreen TV, minibar, safe, wireless internet connection, and hairdryer.

Location - Outstanding. 10 minutes walk from Vauxhall Tube station (Victoria Line) and just across the road from the Thames (Southbank). It's a 10/15 minute walk along the river to Westminster Bridge, with the London Eye and everything else close by after that. The hotel enjoys a quiet, relaxed and safe location across the river from Millbank Tower and offers a quiet time within very easy reach of the city attractions. The local pubs, bars and restaurants of Vauxhall are located within 5 mins walk of the hotel.

Overall - we think this is a smart, modern, four star hotel in an ideal location. Others will be more luxurious and may have the city outside the front door, but PP Riverbank has everything going for it. The city is just a few minutes walk away and here you don't get the ridiculous crowds that can spoil many of the main tourist areas.

Special mention must go to a real ale and craft beer heaven. The Cask Pub & Kitchen in nearby Pimlico. A top class pub with an outstanding range of beers from every corner of the UK & across the World.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prabhav G, Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Park Plaza Riverbank regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and would like to thank you for your fantastic comments about the hotel. We are thrilled to read that you found our services and products impeccable and you enjoyed your stay overall.I am pleased that our location met your requirements and you enjoyed the views from your room.

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,

Prabhav Gupta
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We only stayed for one night but the experience was a good one. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, letting us check in even though we arrived quite early in the afternoon. The room itself was very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was a really good size with a bath and seperate shower cubicle. The view over the train line wasn't the best ever (compared to some of the views this hotel has to offer from what I assume are the more expensive rooms) but the soundproofing was good enough that the train noise wasn't disturbing. In fact we didn't heard anything from the corridor or other rooms during the time we spent in the room and we got a really good nights sleep.
We did get a last minute deal on the price so the room was amazing value for London, especially as it was during the Olympics.
From my perspective the only downside is location. The nearest Tube station is Vauxhall. If you need places on or connecting to the Victoria line then this is marvellous but we made the choice to walk to/from Westminster to get to the places we needed to be and it felt like a long walk back at the end of a full day out. It also seemed a quiet area with not many options for eating out locally.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prabhav G, Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Park Plaza Riverbank on your recent visit with us.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and I would like to thank you for your fantastic comments about the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable night’s rest and particularly enjoyed the layout of the room.

We value your positive feedback on our high levels of service and look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit to London

Kind Regards,

Prabhav Gupta
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have stay here 2-3 times a year for a weekend break. We try and get a Riverview Suite which has great views up the Thames of Houses of Parliment and London Eye.
Room service is good value, and reception staff generally remember us each visit.
My only negative this trip was that the hotel no longer have a car park, so I had to drive to their Westminster Bridge hotel and leave the car there £35 per day.

But the hotel did pay for the taxi bringing me back, as they had not stated no car park when we booked which I thought was good of them.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review after your recent stay with us.

In regards to the car parking and as you stated we have unfortunately lost this service very recently. We are nevertheless trying to find alternatives in the vicinity for the comfort of our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your next stay and our Concierge team will update you with the latest parking options.

I am pleased to read that the Room Service value met your expectations during your visit, and that you are becoming a very regular guest with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

So, it's a fine hotel, particularly if you need to be in both South London and Central London, or plan to go out in Vauxhall.

If you're not getting a good rate, the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge or County Hall are a better bet.

If you're up for spending, the Plaza on the River is in the same building, but a *major* step up.

PROS:
- Price is typically a good value

CONS:
- Rooms feel a little smaller and beat up (for a new hotel)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and comments following your last stay in the hotel.

We are glad to learn that you find our location up to your needs and our sister hotels are an option for you.

In regards to the rooms I am happy to inform you that we are currently refurbishing the entire hotel and we will hopefully exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#238 Family Hotel in London
#251 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Riverbank London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.