We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the private screening room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Charlotte Street Hotel to your Saves list
Charlotte Street Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Try the private screening room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Awesome hotel - part of the Firmdale group, check 'em out. I personally love the screening room. They run a film club - complete with dinner and a movie - on Sundays. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    65
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
143
12
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel, it was spotlessly clean, a truly stylish hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The room was spacious, with lots of goodies matched by a really nice turndown service. Comfortable bed and plenty of wardrobe space, slightly dated bathroom but all in all, I would recommend this hotel.

However... I have one major gripe.

As I have said, this is a stylish, modern, leading city hotel in a great location. It looks fantastic and we were well cared for. So in this day in age, how can a hotel of this nature possibly charge so much for internet access? It's ridiculous. I've stayed at leading hotels across the globe - including some locations in the most remote parts of the world as well as in other cities without charge. New York, LA, Paris, Sydney etc... always in similar boutique style establishments and never would daily internet access be the same price as a meal in the restaurant. This would stop me [and I'm sure other guests on business] from staying there again.

It's a shame because other than this, it was great. If internet access isn't important then fine, but if not, then i'm sure you be better staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Most hotels in London are profoundly over rated. I've always thought that the reason for this was the fact that due to the overwhelming weight of tourists, the hotels just didn't need to try. Finally i have found the exception, the Charlotte Street Hotel. This hotel is in an excellent location, surrounded by lovely restaurants, and characterised by beautiful rooms and excellent staff. Unlike so many London hotels, we found crisp white sheets, plentiful towels and spic and span bathrooms. If you love London, you will love it even more when you stay here. A final tip, drop into Oscar bar and restaurant - fantastic food and atmosphere right there in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I stayed here for the first time over the weekend and absolutely love every minute of it. I found a nice deal on the web so I wasn't surprised that my room was not huge. It was comfortable and well stocked. The bed is super comfortable and the bathroom is great. They provide the best amenities and a hot towel warmer is a nice touch.

I was so exhausted that I had room service for dinner and the food was amazing. It was healthy and delicious. I also had breakfast included in the price, which you can have in your room or at the restaurant, which was fantastic.

There is a lounge with 2 roaring fire places and an honour bar. Simply lovely.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This hotel is a perfect, character oasis in London. Its a perfect alternative if you are looking for a quality hotel instead of some of the big hotel chains.
We also received an upgrade because our original room had scaffolding outside the window, in addition, because it was our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday, we received a complementary glass of champagne and a bag of luxuries which was a very nice touch, the bag even included special spa treatments for pregnant woman as they noticed my wife is pregnant.
The rooms are tastefully decorated with quality materials and despite the fact it is in a busy street with bars and restaurants, we didn't hear any noise from outside.
The staff are very attentive and helpful.
Location is excellent, 10 min walk from the Oxford street shopping area. In addition, there is plenty of choice in terms of restaurants ranging from a Michelin star restaurant opposite the hotel, to a good Thai and Chinese restaurant in the same street.
We had an excellent stay and will go again.
Finally it's pricey, but which hotel in London isn't! Regardless of this, in my view its the best price - quality value hotel in London

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel surpasses expectations in every way: we can't say enough about the staff, rooms, and location. Upon arrival the desk clerk voluntarily upgraded us to a loft suite simply because one was available. It was huge, gorgeous, with a large, well-stocked bathroom, comfy bed, and it was kept sparkling clean. The concierges, waiters, and all other staff were warm, charming, and eager to help. Breakfast was delicious, with a buffet of fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts, etc, plus a full menu of cooked dishes. The hotel is within an easy walk to theater, National Gallery, British Museum, and other major sights. The neighborhood is chic, as is the hotel's bar. We will absolutely stay here again and can't recommend it highly enough. A few caveats: if possible, book your reservation directly through the Charlotte St. hotel rather than through the central Firmdale office, where the people were clueless and unaccommodating. The hotel staff, on the other hand, is always obliging and helpful. Also, our room faced the quiet street behind the hotel (Rathbone). Charlotte Street can be lively on weekend nights -- which we very much enjoyed -- but if you go to bed early and need absolute silence, consider requesting a room in the back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We have stayed here on a number of occassions (they never actually remember this fact though)this hotel is right in the heart of London. Very close to Theatre and the West End and great for shopping and sigh seeing.

Kit Kemp who designed the hotel does amazing work, making your feel relaxed and comfortable whilst at the same time challenging your senses.

Love the bathrooms, check-in/out, turn down service, Oscars for food and especially Breakfast.

I challenge you to hate this hotel! Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else if an overnighter in London is a possibility.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#12 Family Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.