We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My all-time favorite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Charlotte Street Hotel to your Saves list
Charlotte Street Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,065 Hotels in London
New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My all-time favorite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel surpasses expectations in every way: we can't say enough about the staff, rooms, and location. Upon arrival the desk clerk voluntarily upgraded us to a loft suite simply because one was available. It was huge, gorgeous, with a large, well-stocked bathroom, comfy bed, and it was kept sparkling clean. The concierges, waiters, and all other staff were warm, charming, and eager to help. Breakfast was delicious, with a buffet of fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts, etc, plus a full menu of cooked dishes. The hotel is within an easy walk to theater, National Gallery, British Museum, and other major sights. The neighborhood is chic, as is the hotel's bar. We will absolutely stay here again and can't recommend it highly enough. A few caveats: if possible, book your reservation directly through the Charlotte St. hotel rather than through the central Firmdale office, where the people were clueless and unaccommodating. The hotel staff, on the other hand, is always obliging and helpful. Also, our room faced the quiet street behind the hotel (Rathbone). Charlotte Street can be lively on weekend nights -- which we very much enjoyed -- but if you go to bed early and need absolute silence, consider requesting a room in the back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    65
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
143
12
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We have stayed here on a number of occassions (they never actually remember this fact though)this hotel is right in the heart of London. Very close to Theatre and the West End and great for shopping and sigh seeing.

Kit Kemp who designed the hotel does amazing work, making your feel relaxed and comfortable whilst at the same time challenging your senses.

Love the bathrooms, check-in/out, turn down service, Oscars for food and especially Breakfast.

I challenge you to hate this hotel! Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else if an overnighter in London is a possibility.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

This small hotel has a lovely feel to it. The staff are friendly and the room we had on the first floor was spacious and comfortable. The location is only average as Tottenham Court Road is not the best place in London to stay but the hotel makes up for this in other ways. We liked the decor, the honesty bar and the shower. There was a small mistake in our bill but this was rectified when we noticed it. The room service menu for evening meal is good and the breakfast was very nice. We would definitely return here for short stays in London. Although our room overlooked the road the double glazing was very effective and the room was quiet at night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Charlotte Street Hotel is located on a small street full of pubs, restaurants and shops. Since this was a last minute trip for us with minimal prior research, the staff were more than helpful with recommending restaurants, arranging transport, and organizing our daily itinerary. The room was large with a nice bathroom full of all the amenities you could want and the bed was extremely comfortable. They did a great job with all the little details: aromotherapy pillow mist, a jogging map of London, a walking guide, mini waters for the road, etc... The gym was small, but had all the options and was nicely air conditioned. The restaurant was a great place to people watch while having a pint or glass of wine. We will definetely be back to the Charlotte Street Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

A great find in a city where you don't necessarily get what you pay for. This hotel is stylish in a unique way, yet maintains its boutique feel and cosy atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and the restaurant and lobby are warm and welcoming. The location is perfect for those that want to stay just outside the hustle and bustle of soho, but still amongst the action, surrounded by good cafes, restaurants and pubs.

The restaurant & bar was always a buzz, the only negative was that the hotel restaurant & bar was often so packed at night with locals that even as a hotel guest you couldn't get a seat for a drink.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

A visit to the Charlotte Street Hotel means elegant, whimsical surroundings, discreet and helpful service, and plentiful amenities. The hotel is fresh and well-maintained.

We loved the double windows which provide a sound barrier but open to let fresh air into the rooms.

Breakfast was included in our rate, including room service. They also provided us with a laptop with free wireless for the duration of our stay.

My only complaint is the extortionist "day rate"-- the hotel charged us half the room's price, but wanted us to leave the room by 6pm. If they needed the room so early, they shouldn't have charged quite so much.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

I travel to London often for business and Charlotte Street is by far my favorite hotel. I would recommend any of the Firmdale Hotels, but I like the location of Charlotte Street best. You're close to tubes, entertainment, shopping and food without being too close. It's become my home away from from, which I really appreciate when in another country for work.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in London
#12 Business Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Tingo so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.