We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New fav” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Charlotte Street Hotel to your Saves list
Charlotte Street Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,066 Hotels in London
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New fav”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We cannot give enough accolades to the staff at this boutique hotel. They truly want to please and are most helpful. We received a note in our room from one of the waitresses giving us suggestions for our upcoming visit to Prague. The room was beautifully decorated and the sheets devine. It is quite the hot spot for the young local executives after work. There is hardly a seat available outside. We are already planning our next visit here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    65
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
143
12
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Charlotte Street Hotel does everything right: rooms, beds, public spaces, unique and warm decor, cheerful and helpful,staff, great food and bar, an energetic and youthful karma to the establishment. -- like it's sister hotels, The Knightsbridge Hotel in London and the Crosby Street Hotel in Soho, NYC. All cut from the same exquisite and unusual cloth.

LL, Bermuda

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Brilliant place for tea, tradidtional with a twist of trendy. Go for the full tea with a glass of champagne (very good price). Great selection of speciality teas.

When you book (and be sure to book) see if they can put you in one of the sitting rooms.

Attentive and discrete service, topping up the tea and taking it away when it becomes cold, scone and sandwich top up but, not usually needed as they bring enough food - seriously good quality all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My stay at the Charlotte Street Hotel was simply lovely and much too short! Beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, the rooms and the social areas are incredibly comfortable as well as sophisticated. The afternoon teas were incredibly tasty as well as a feast for the eyes. The best thing about the hotel, however, was the subtle thoughtfulness of the staff. I was graduating nearby and the staff endeavored to make sure that the stay itself was as much a part of the celebrations and memories as the ceremony itself! Fantastic location for discovering London or simply sitting out the front enjoying a cocktail or tea and soaking up the buzzing Bloomsbury atmosphere. Absolutely wonderful service with a smile and a laugh, making you feel completely relaxed and pampered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I went as a party of four for afternoon tea on Sunday to say bon voyage to my niece. Everything was spot on - from the welcome, to the food and the service throughout. We opted for their Bloomsbury afternoon tea which included some creative and delicious savoury bites along with fruit tarts, macaroons, jelly, lemon tart and of course the traditional scones, cream and jam. All was superb. We were offered more sandwiches and then given a doggie bag to take away the cakes we just couldn't get through. Not only was this a very reasonable £25 per head, a special offer meant we were also given a bottle of champagne. This is a fantastic deal. We've had tea at the Ritz and other London hotels but this was probably the best we've tasted and at half the price. I'm sure we'll be back! We love the Firmdale group of hotels, they seem to get everything just right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent from start to finish.
I arrived and was shown to a very small room and when I mentioned my disappointed the Hotel responded immediately though I well understood that was the room class I had booked. They moved me to a better appointed room and were very attentive in an understated way.
Yes this is a busy and buzzy area but inside the hotel there is a lovely blend of art/design and business/luxury comfort.
The bathroom was excellent supported by well thought out and presented amenities.
A standout was the breakfast inclusion - hot and well made with real tea in a tea pot!
You can walk out to interesting restaurants and very well known ones eg Roka and Pied a Terre (recommend the latter if you want Michelin star eating) - or stay in and enjoy the original Bloomsbury set paintings, the spacious public rooms, and the flowers!
It's a feast for the senses.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones looking into the void! Request a room overlooking Charlotte Street. There's doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I have just returned from a wonderful 5 days at this hotel. I can't even begin to express how excellent this hotel is - the service, the rooms, the restaurant, the staff - the list goes on and on. I have stayed at this hotel on 3 other occasions and each experience gets better and better. We were upgraded to a junior suite and everything about it was fantastic. I am an interior designer so I was very impressed with the furnishings and decoration of the room as well as the hotel in general. Each staff member always had a smile on their face. One in particular, Csaba, at the front desk remembered me from my last visit and was always happy to lend a helping hand or to make a suggestion on how to improve my visit.
I have stayed in a number of other hotels in London but this is by far the best. Don't even think of going anywhere else - in my opinion, this is THE hotel in London.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 202 on our last visit and Room 200 most recently - both rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in London
#14 Business Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#22 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Tingo so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.