We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A buzzy place in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Charlotte Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,073 hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A buzzy place in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed two nights as mix of business and pleasure. Room was large and light and newly decorated. Bar is fun and temptation is too many cocktails. Food and wine good in restaurant. Also it's near some other good places to each such as Roka. Staff are efficient and very helpful. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    59
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
128
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

First time I've stated in this Firmdale Group hotel, but it won't be the last.

As with all their hotels, their are timelessly and beautifully styled. I know of no other decor that I enjoy so much and makes you feel so at home

Staff friendly, room 407 (which was an upgrade) was perfect - Quiet, light and airy and reasonably sized for central London

The bar and restaurant area were again so wonderfully easy on the eye. Achieving that degree of casual elegance takes hard work and real skill, but it really works

Food was good and reasonably priced, as was the wine, and the service.

BUT (There's always a but.....) the slice of Wensleydale cheese I had was as hard as rock. Sort it guys! When you do the hard stuff well, it's pretty rubbish and very disappointing from a customers point of view to drop it on the detail.....I'll be back to check!

All in all brilliant. And the rest of Charlotte street was buzzing too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fabulous stay in The Charlotte Street Hotel at the end of May. From the minute we arrived at Reception to checking out we couldn't fault a thing. The staff are lovely, very welcoming and the Bar is one of the best bars I have visited in London, jumping every night with a great crowd. We had ordered breakfast and it didn''t disappoint. Have stayed in The Covent Garden Hotel which is another Firmdale Hotel and it was also fantastic - they aren't cheap but are worth every penny and we will be back, only problem is which one!!! Covent Garden Hotel is a five minute walk from Covent Garden and The Charlotte Street is 5 minutes from Oxford Street and Regent Street. You can't go wrong with a Firmdale Hotel if you want a bit of luxury and be near all the tourist spots

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not your traditional tearoom, but we loved the atmosphere and the dining area. Very open and friendly, it would be a great area to stay in and the hotel looked very nice.

As for the tea ... teapots, tiny sandwiches, little pastries, more than we could consume. For our teen and tween daughters, this was heaven. Champagne was a lovely addition for the majors. Not too busy, not too expensive, not too stuffy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great duplex room with eclectic library and well stocked mini bar.
Staff were attentive in a relaxed and friendly manner.
Since we were celebrating my wife's birthday with friends they were kind enough to provide a private room for after hours celebrations.
Would definitely stay again since location, staff and facilities are all great.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'loft room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A terrific place for a relaxing, luxury break in London. Located in easy walking distance of West End, Covent Garden, Soho and Chinatown, this is a great spot to base yourself for a weekend!

We had a luxury double on the second floor (#206) and were treated to a deep, big double bed, efficient (and quiet!!) air conditioning and a room that was spotlessly clean and quiet. Breakfast in bed a huge treat!

This is not a cheap hotel but the staff and service are excellent - it has been a while since we have been made to feel so welcome and treated as valued guests. The concierge even offered to collect our luggage from our car in a nearby car park! A glass of complementary champagne to help us celebrate a late birthday sealed the deal!

We were on a whistle stop visit, attending a matinee at the theatre, dinner at Roka (just up the road) and then taking a trip up the Thames on the Sunday so we didn't take advantage of all the other facilities on offer e.g. gym, spa treatments, restaurant etc but if they are anywhere near as good as the room and the staff, this hotel would be hard to beat!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was very impressed with service, decor, food and extras like arranging courier for me. Bar was very busy but rooms lovely and a TV in the bathroom was a real find!

The room was exceptionally well appointed and the food was delightful, so we ate all our meals in, and room service was superb

Room Tip: Try and get the ones below the suite range asthey are full of character and antiques
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Family Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#22 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.