We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Concern for the Customer Here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winchester Hotel
Save
You added Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
17 Belgrave Road, London SW1 1RB, England (Victoria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #810 of 1,065 Hotels in London
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No Concern for the Customer Here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We checked into the Winchester on May 11, 2009 after making a reservation several months in advance and requesting the ground floor due to problems with stair climbing. Friends were with us so we had two rooms. One room was on the first floor (2nd in US) and the other in the basement (#2), The room on the first floor was nice although small but the basement room was so small you couldn't get the closet door open all the way. But the main problem was the manager on duty. When we ask for a better room she said none were available and then proceeded to check later arrivals into better rooms. We ask for a restaurant recommendation but when we didn't let her make a reservation for us she became rude. After that almost anything I asked about I was told that she couldn't help me. Our room was very cold so we asked for heat but she told us if they gave us heat then the upstairs would get too hot. After much complaining the next day she finally turned on the heat for about an hour then shut it off again because people upstairs complained. The first night we had to take cold showers because the night clerk couldn't tell us how to operate the water temperature control. We had booked three nights but left after two because we couldn't take the cold cramped room or the lack of good service any more. They advertised free Wi Fi it didn't work. I have waited 5 months to write this review to make sure I hadn't changed my feelings about the Winchester. To be fair my daughter stayed at the Winchester a few weeks later without any negative incidents.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
16
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

My husband and two adult children stayed at the Winchester for three nights. We picked this place due to the website. We thought it would be charming to "eat on Royal Dalton china" and eat with "Kristophe silverware". Jimmy and Juanita would serve us. None of the above was certainly true. The rooms were very tight like all London rooms...little space to put four people and their bags. We stayed in the basement. Although the weather outside was a nice 55-70degrees, we were very hot and stiffling with little way to open up the room to get a cool breeze. We did have a fan supplied to us that took hours to cool the room a bit. A small door to the outside patio and a flimsy lock supplied the ventilation. To be fair, two good things were: the location of the hotel and the very large bathroom with an excellent shower. The staff was very nice. I would recomment this hotel for its' value if you book ahead, but do not get the basement and do not depend upon the website.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

After reading some of the reviews prior to our trip we were a little worried. We need not have, even though the room was quite small, it was clean and well serviced. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was cooked freshly for us. The location was perfect, 5 mins walk to Victoria where we picked up the tube system. We were also able to walk to lots of restaurants and attractions. For the reasonable cost we thought we had our monies worth (for Central London).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Spent four nights here. The main good point is the location. Very close to restaurants, a market, the Victoria station, and walking distance to Buckingham Palace. The bad point was the room. We had a room with two single beds. VERY very small, even for European standards. The room also had dirty carpet and worn furniture. On arrival the first day we found dried "snot" "bogeys" or "boogers" on the walls. The staff did clean that for us. Some of the staff was helpful others not so. The breakfast staff was courteous but the food was not very good. As other reviewers have said there are no outlets in the bathroom, and only one of three in the main room worked. Had to unplug the TV to use that one. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The Staff - The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome, the two girls who appear to clean and serve breakfast were especially helpful and attentative.
The Room - The bedroom was quite small (to be expected in location?) and filled with furniture which looked like it came from a house clearance. It was very clea though. The bathroom had a good shower and was modern but very cramped.
Breakfast - We had to que for breakfast as the hotel did not have enough tables, food was not too bad. Waitresses were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin cities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed here for 10 days in July 2009 - myself and 2 teenagers. Had room #4 - family room with 1 double bed and 2 single beds. Little bit crowded but we didn't go to London to spend lots of time in the hotel. Had enough space to move around and store all the luggage. Very clean and daily maid service kept it that way. No A/C but hadn't expected it. Left windows open a bit all day, and with the fan running we were perfectly comfortable. Excellent location - few blocks from Victoria Station. I enjoyed breakfast every morning but my teens preferred to sleep in and we picked up some breakfast at Sainsbury market in Victoria Station on our way to the Tube. There was a computer with internet available for guests and wireless in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended by Rick Steves. We always use his books and advice when we travel. This time, I am sorry to say he was off the mark. The rooms are very dated, shabby and VERY SMALL. The hotel was also under contruction and this was not revealed on their website. There are pleanty of nicer places to stay for the same price and neighborhood. Go to one of them!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Hotel

Address: 17 Belgrave Road, London SW1 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #810 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Winchester Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.