We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winchester Hotel
Save
You added Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
17 Belgrave Road, London SW1 1RB, England (Victoria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #805 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

After reading some of the reviews prior to our trip we were a little worried. We need not have, even though the room was quite small, it was clean and well serviced. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was cooked freshly for us. The location was perfect, 5 mins walk to Victoria where we picked up the tube system. We were also able to walk to lots of restaurants and attractions. For the reasonable cost we thought we had our monies worth (for Central London).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
16
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Spent four nights here. The main good point is the location. Very close to restaurants, a market, the Victoria station, and walking distance to Buckingham Palace. The bad point was the room. We had a room with two single beds. VERY very small, even for European standards. The room also had dirty carpet and worn furniture. On arrival the first day we found dried "snot" "bogeys" or "boogers" on the walls. The staff did clean that for us. Some of the staff was helpful others not so. The breakfast staff was courteous but the food was not very good. As other reviewers have said there are no outlets in the bathroom, and only one of three in the main room worked. Had to unplug the TV to use that one. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The Staff - The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome, the two girls who appear to clean and serve breakfast were especially helpful and attentative.
The Room - The bedroom was quite small (to be expected in location?) and filled with furniture which looked like it came from a house clearance. It was very clea though. The bathroom had a good shower and was modern but very cramped.
Breakfast - We had to que for breakfast as the hotel did not have enough tables, food was not too bad. Waitresses were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin cities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed here for 10 days in July 2009 - myself and 2 teenagers. Had room #4 - family room with 1 double bed and 2 single beds. Little bit crowded but we didn't go to London to spend lots of time in the hotel. Had enough space to move around and store all the luggage. Very clean and daily maid service kept it that way. No A/C but hadn't expected it. Left windows open a bit all day, and with the fan running we were perfectly comfortable. Excellent location - few blocks from Victoria Station. I enjoyed breakfast every morning but my teens preferred to sleep in and we picked up some breakfast at Sainsbury market in Victoria Station on our way to the Tube. There was a computer with internet available for guests and wireless in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended by Rick Steves. We always use his books and advice when we travel. This time, I am sorry to say he was off the mark. The rooms are very dated, shabby and VERY SMALL. The hotel was also under contruction and this was not revealed on their website. There are pleanty of nicer places to stay for the same price and neighborhood. Go to one of them!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended in a guide book and boy, were we sorry. Don't be deceived by the pictures on the internet of the hotel unless they are from travellers. They hotel is further away from Victoria Station than their website makes it sound. The main problem we had with the hotel is that the interior is very old and dated. The carpet looks horrible and there is no lift. We were given a tiny room for a "triple" and because it also had two worn and old looking chairs in there, we hardly had room to walk between the beds. The extra mattress that they put on the floor partially blocked the doorway to the bathroom. There was no a/c and we had to ask for a fan which (thank goodness) they had. We had rooms on the front and it was kind of noisy. We did have an interesting view out our window...of a "lady of the evening" who either had an apartment on the upper floor of the hotel across the street or was using the hotel as a base. She undressed in front of the open window, came out on her balcony in her bra and panties and strutted her stuff up and down the street every evening. Not exactly what you want your 3 teenagers to see. The prices were very, very high for the quality of the rooms. It is rated a 3 star hotel, but there is no way...I'd say a low 2 and that's being generous. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed here for four nights. We had requested a room at the back so stayed in Room 19. It wasn't overly large but itt had two chairs, tea and coffee facilities, a built in wardrobe and a large bathroom. The only criticism was that they don't have hand towels but give you face washers to dry your hands. Fantastic location close to a main tube station (Victoria) and close to Lizzie's house (Buckingham Palace). Free internet too. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was large. It could do with air conditioning in the warmer weather as our first night it was warm so slept with the windows open (we were on first floor). Couldn't ask for a more comfortable hotel in a great location close to trains, buses, lots of restaurants and pubs and shops. Breakfasts were good (full service) although fresh fruit would have been nice rather than canned fruit salad. Keep up the good work. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Close to the hop on hop off bus starting bus stop too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Hotel

Address: 17 Belgrave Road, London SW1 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Winchester Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.