We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel of good points and bad points” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winchester Hotel
Save Saved
You added Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
17 Belgrave Road, London SW1 1RB, England (Victoria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #800 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Leicester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A hotel of good points and bad points”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The Staff - The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome, the two girls who appear to clean and serve breakfast were especially helpful and attentative.
The Room - The bedroom was quite small (to be expected in location?) and filled with furniture which looked like it came from a house clearance. It was very clea though. The bathroom had a good shower and was modern but very cramped.
Breakfast - We had to que for breakfast as the hotel did not have enough tables, food was not too bad. Waitresses were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
16
34
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
twin cities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed here for 10 days in July 2009 - myself and 2 teenagers. Had room #4 - family room with 1 double bed and 2 single beds. Little bit crowded but we didn't go to London to spend lots of time in the hotel. Had enough space to move around and store all the luggage. Very clean and daily maid service kept it that way. No A/C but hadn't expected it. Left windows open a bit all day, and with the fan running we were perfectly comfortable. Excellent location - few blocks from Victoria Station. I enjoyed breakfast every morning but my teens preferred to sleep in and we picked up some breakfast at Sainsbury market in Victoria Station on our way to the Tube. There was a computer with internet available for guests and wireless in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended by Rick Steves. We always use his books and advice when we travel. This time, I am sorry to say he was off the mark. The rooms are very dated, shabby and VERY SMALL. The hotel was also under contruction and this was not revealed on their website. There are pleanty of nicer places to stay for the same price and neighborhood. Go to one of them!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended in a guide book and boy, were we sorry. Don't be deceived by the pictures on the internet of the hotel unless they are from travellers. They hotel is further away from Victoria Station than their website makes it sound. The main problem we had with the hotel is that the interior is very old and dated. The carpet looks horrible and there is no lift. We were given a tiny room for a "triple" and because it also had two worn and old looking chairs in there, we hardly had room to walk between the beds. The extra mattress that they put on the floor partially blocked the doorway to the bathroom. There was no a/c and we had to ask for a fan which (thank goodness) they had. We had rooms on the front and it was kind of noisy. We did have an interesting view out our window...of a "lady of the evening" who either had an apartment on the upper floor of the hotel across the street or was using the hotel as a base. She undressed in front of the open window, came out on her balcony in her bra and panties and strutted her stuff up and down the street every evening. Not exactly what you want your 3 teenagers to see. The prices were very, very high for the quality of the rooms. It is rated a 3 star hotel, but there is no way...I'd say a low 2 and that's being generous. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed here for four nights. We had requested a room at the back so stayed in Room 19. It wasn't overly large but itt had two chairs, tea and coffee facilities, a built in wardrobe and a large bathroom. The only criticism was that they don't have hand towels but give you face washers to dry your hands. Fantastic location close to a main tube station (Victoria) and close to Lizzie's house (Buckingham Palace). Free internet too. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was large. It could do with air conditioning in the warmer weather as our first night it was warm so slept with the windows open (we were on first floor). Couldn't ask for a more comfortable hotel in a great location close to trains, buses, lots of restaurants and pubs and shops. Breakfasts were good (full service) although fresh fruit would have been nice rather than canned fruit salad. Keep up the good work. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Close to the hop on hop off bus starting bus stop too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed at the Winchester a total of 7 nights. The first stay was in the family room number one. (I read all the comments prior to booking.) We needed a family room which is sometimes hard to find.
Room 1 has a double with two singles. The room was large but hard to move in due to all the beds. The bathroom is good size. The room we stayed in the last two nights was small. This was room 5 on the second floor. A double with one single bed. For two nights we were fine. The bathroom was small. The hot water continued to be a problem while we stayed. We did find out that there is a safety button on the handle and was sometimes the cause of no hot water. Other times it was the number of guests taking showers at one time. We took showers at different times to have hot water. We did eat the full English Breakfast many mornings. You can make changes to the breakfast menu of only the foods offered. You can order eggs and not the full breakfast. The internet worked through our first visit and did not our second visit but was being repaired. The TV in room 1 needed a new cable but did not get one. Room 65the TV works well. It is in a great location just a few blocks from Victoria Station which made taking the buses around the city easier. Trains also connect to Gatewick Airport. There are grocerys and places to eat in walking distance. The staff is friendly and someone is always at the front desk. Ice and drinks are also available.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I was really looking forward to our visit to the Winchester and its location on the quiet side of Victoria Station. We (four of us in two rooms) were at the Winchester for two nights. I wasn't expecting a grand hotel but it still fell short. I have now learned the property is under new management.....new from my original reservation through my travel agent. At one time we were staying three nights but canceled within the correct time frame. We arrived to learn we had been charged for our missed night. This issue is still being working out with the third party Unirez who no longer represent the hotel....ie new management. Strike one. The rooms were fine, small but I knew that going in. The full English breakfask as not full.....missing the mushrooms and beans. Strike two. Overall the staff were adequate but not overly friendly or helpful. Strike three.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Hotel

Address: 17 Belgrave Road, London SW1 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #800 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Winchester Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.